Online security

10 September 2018

Recognize your last search in those unsolicited ads?

“Private browsing” now is a standard browser capability. Do you think it allows you to remain completely anonymous? There is more grey area than you might hope for. Here’s some pointers of what it helps you with, and what it is useless for.

What does it do for you?
Gone are most of the personalized ads
  • It prevents storing your browsing history or sensitive/personal information
  • Your plugins will get loaded to get a normal browsing experience
  • You can do secret shopping
  • Your social media or other websites are unable to trace your every step. So gone are most of the personalized ads
  • It protects against certain common attacks, so can be useful the security of the site you want to visit is shifty
What doesn’t it do?

The main take-away is that even when browsing privately, you are still venturing on the Internet. You remain susceptible to viruses and malware infections.

 

If you think using private browsing can make you go stealth, you are mistaken. Your service provider will still know which websites you visit.

What to do?
  • Use private browsing as much as you need it
  • If you are unsure of the security of the website, go private
  • If you prefer browsing normally, change your settings to have your cookies deleted each time you close your browser