Retail Payments DirectDebits
International

Documentary collections and documentary credit

International trade with tailor-made risk mitigation.

Companies who build relationships of trade abroad often look for ways to mitigate the risks of international transactions. And that is precisely where ING Trade Finance Services can help.

  • Documentary credit and documentary collections minimise your risks

    You want to be sure you will get paid or that goods and services you have ordered will actually be delivered. There are different ways to build that certainty into the agreement. Documentary credit is the safest. However, it is slower and typically more expensive. Documentary collections are cheaper and faster but offer less certainty.

  • Which method is right for you?

    You should base your choice on the extent of your relationship with your trading partner while also taking the political situation of the country in which your business partner is based into account.

  • Documentary credit: maximum certainty

    In the case of documentary credit, the importer pays upon production of certain clearly defined documents that have been checked by the bank. As a supplier/exporter, you are certain of being paid once the goods are shipped.

  • Documentary collection: faster and cheaper settlement

    Documentary collection is no guarantee of payment. But it can ensure that the importer/customer cannot take delivery of the goods without having paid or having signed a bill of exchange. The bank acts as an intermediary in this case, passing on certain shipping documents and collecting payment.

  • Limitations with documentary collections

    Since the shipping documents typically accompany the goods themselves in the case of road transport, documentary collections are only suitable for maritime shipments where the ship's bill of lading is sent separately. Please note: the bank only checks the actual content of the bill of lading in the case of documentary credit.

  • Prior to delivery:
    Once the goods have been sent, and depending from the type of transaction, ING can advance the amount of the documentary credit (against conform documents) or collection (in the form of a discount transaction). The advance is subject to a certain term, e.g. 60 days after dispatch of the goods.
  • After delivery:
    In the event you allow your foreign customer to defer payment, ING can advance you the amount after deduction of fees and interest (in the form of a discount transaction). In most cases, you do not even need any additional form of credit (example: confirmed documentary credit or documentary collection with bank aval).

ING launched the fully revamped InsideBusiness Trade 2.0 platform in late 2017. This online platform combines the latest in digital technology with new features and convenient functionalities.

Interested?
Get in touch with your ING international trade contact who will tell you everything you need to know about InsideBusiness Trade 2.0.

Position your business as a dependable trading partner by insuring your payment. ING helps you offer your business partner additional financial security while boosting your liquidity for other projects at the same time.

ING can help you with other services such as the advance checking of documents in the case of documentary credit for exports.

  • Get in touch with your ING banker for more information.

Download our online leaflets for a comprehensive description of documentary credit and documentary collections.

Retail Payments DirectDebits
International

Encaissement documentaire et crédit documentaire

Commerce international avec une réduction des risques sur mesure.

Les entreprises qui construisent des relations avec l’étranger souhaitent limiter les risques en matière de transactions internationales. C'est précisément sur ce point que les ING Trade Finance Services leur viennent en aide.

  • Le crédit et l’encaissement documentaires limitent vos risques

    Vous voulez être certain d’être payé ou que les marchandises ou services commandés vous soient effectivement livrés ? Vous pouvez vous en assurer de différentes manières. Le crédit documentaire est la manière la plus sûre de faire du commerce à l’échelle internationale, mais il est plus lent et plus cher. L’encaissement documentaire est meilleur marché et plus rapide. Toutefois, il est moins sûr.

  • Comment savoir quelle méthode vous convient le mieux ?

    Vous devez faire votre choix en fonction de la relation que vous avez construite avec votre interlocuteur commercial. Et pensez également à contrôler la situation politique du pays avec lequel vous travaillez.

  • Crédit documentaire pour une sécurité maximale

    Dans le cadre du crédit documentaire, l'importateur paiera après présentation de certains documents contrôlés par la banque. En tant que fournisseur/exportateur, vous êtes assuré d’être payé après l’envoi des marchandises.

  • Encaissement documentaire : le plus rapide et le plus économe

    L’encaissement documentaire ne garantit pas le paiement. Mais il veille à ce que l’importateur/client ne puisse pas réceptionner de marchandises avant d’avoir payé ou d’avoir signé une lettre de change. La banque joue le rôle d’intermédiaire, transmet certains documents de transport et encaisse le paiement.

  • Limites de l’encaissement documentaire

    Étant donné que dans le cadre du transport routier, les documents de transport voyagent avec les marchandises, l’encaissement documentaire est réservé au transport maritime. Dans ce cas-ci, cependant, la banque ne vérifie pas les documents. Mais elle le fait dans le cadre du crédit documentaire.

  • Avant la livraison :
    Lorsque les marchandises ont été expédiées, et selon le type de transaction, ING peut vous avancer le montant du crédit (contre documents conformes) ou de l’encaissement documentaire (opération d’escompte). Un délai est alors fixé pour le paiement : 60 jours après l’expédition, par exemple.
  • Après la livraison :
    Vous accordez un report de paiement à votre client étranger ? ING vous verse le montant après déduction des frais et des intérêts (opération d’escompte). Souvent, vous n’avez pas besoin de crédit supplémentaire (exemple : crédit documentaire confirmé ou encaissement documentaire avec aval bancaire).

À l’automne 2017, ING lançait la version entièrement mise à jour d’InsideBusiness Trade 2.0. Cette plateforme est un bel exemple d’évolution. Elle offre de nombreuses nouvelles possibilités et de fonctions pratiques.

Intéressé(e) ?
N’hésitez pas à prendre contact avec votre conseiller ING commerce international pour en savoir plus sur cet outil

En garantissant votre paiement, vous vous positionnez comme un partenaire commercial fiable. ING reste à vos côtés pour apporter à vos interlocuteurs d’affaires une sécurité financière supplémentaire tout en augmentant vos liquidités pour d’autres projets.

ING peut vous aider avec d'autres services tels que la vérification préalable de copies de documents dans le cadre d’un crédit documentaire à l'exportation.

Téléchargez nos dépliants en ligne pour une description étendue du crédit documentaire et de l’encaissement documentaire.