What is FATCA?

The United States of America has put a new legislation in place to prevent tax evasion by those subject to U.S. taxes. This legislation is called the Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA). FATCA requires financial institutions world-wide to report on U.S. taxpayers, so-called “U.S. persons”.

Who is in scope of FATCA?

This legislation applies to all “U.S. persons”. This can be private individuals and some legal entities. This page elaborates on legal entities.

What is required by FATCA for legal entities?

FATCA requires financial Institutions to:

  1. Identify legal entities that are or are becoming a customer and for which one of the following U.S. indicia are found:
    • the registered office or place of business is in the United States of America or
    • the current (operating, mailing, post office box or c/o) address is in the United States of America.
  2. Document customers with U.S. indicia. This means customers have to sign a form imposed by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS, the United States tax agency) to confirm or disprove their U.S. tax liability.

  3. Report on:
    • the identity of the U.S. entity, of any of its U.S. owners and of any U.S. person able to influence or take decisions on behalf of this entity
    • their accounts and account balances
    • the financial income on these accounts.

    The first reporting will occur in 2015 and will cover the year 2014.

The first reporting will occur in 2015 and will cover the year 2014.

Is FATCA applicable in Belgium?

Belgium, like most European nations, has decided to enter into an Intergovernmental Agreement (IGA) with the U.S. and to render FATCA applicable in its domestic legislation. As a consequence Belgian Financial Institutions must report the information to the Belgian Federal Public Service (FPS) Finance. FPS Finance will supply this information to the IRS.

What does FATCA mean for ING customers?

ING will contact all customers who show one or more U.S. indicia. Customers are required to confirm and evidence their status:

  • If the company is a U.S. person (created or organized in the United States or under the laws of the United States, or a U.S.-based branch of a non-U.S. company), a W-9 form (Request for Taxpayer Identification Number and Certification) has to be filled in. See the website of the IRS for more information.
  • If the company wants to attest that it is not a U.S. person, a W-8BEN-E form (Certificate of Status of Beneficial Owner for United States Tax Withholding and Reporting) has to be filled in. In this document, the company itself declares what her status is under FATCA. See the website of the IRS for more information.
    Please note that some companies, although not tax liable in the United States, may still be subject to reporting to the IRS! As an example, there are special rules for financial institutions and for passive entities with U.S. UBOs.

ING continues to service U.S. corporations for accounts and savings as long as they are willing to deliver the required FATCA documentation.

New clients, for whom U.S. indicia are found, will have to be documented before ING will start servicing them.

Without the required documentation within a very specific timeframe, ING Belgium will have to consider clients with U.S. indicia as U.S. persons (private individual or legal entity). As a consequence, these clients’ data and accounts must be reported to the IRS (via the Belgian tax authorities).

For more detailed information on these new measures and their implications, please consult:

Qu'est-ce que la loi FATCA ?

Les États-Unis ont mis en place une nouvelle législation pour prévenir l’évasion fiscale par leurs assujettis fiscaux. Cette législation, appelée "Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act" (FATCA), exige des institutions financières du monde entier qu'elles déclarent les assujettis au fisc américain, dénommés "U.S. persons".

Qui est concerné par la loi FATCA ?

Cette législation s'applique aux "U.S. persons", terme qui désigne à la fois des personnes physiques et morales. Cette page détaille l’impact sur les personnes morales.

Qu’impose la loi FATCA pour les personnes morales ?
  1. Identifient les clients (personnes morales) qui présentent au minimum l'un des indices suivants de lien avec les États-Unis :
    • le siège social (société de droit US) ou le lieu d’établissement (succursale d’une société de droit non-US) est aux États-Unis d'Amérique ;
    • une adresse (d’exploitation, postale, poste restante ou intermédiaire) est aux États-Unis d’Amérique.
  2. Collectent des renseignements sur les clients pour lesquels il existe des indices de lien avec les États-Unis. Concrètement, le client doit signer un formulaire imposé par l’IRS ("Internal Revenue Service", l'agence fiscale américaine) pour confirmer ou réfuter son assujettissement au fisc américain.

  3. Fassent rapport sur :
    • l'identité des personnes morales US et de chaque personne physique US détenant une part substantielle dans le capital de l’entité ou en mesure d’influencer ou de prendre des décisions au nom de l’entité ;
    • leurs comptes et le solde de ces comptes ;
    • les revenus financiers sur ces comptes.

    Les premiers rapports sont attendus en 2015 et porteront sur l'année 2014.

Les premiers rapports sont attendus en 2015 et porteront sur l'année 2014.

La loi FATCA s'applique-t-elle en Belgique ?

La Belgique, comme la plupart des pays européens, a décidé de conclure un accord intergouvernemental (IGA) avec les États-Unis pour que les dispositions de la loi FATCA soient d’application dans la législation nationale belge. Il en résulte que les institutions financières belges doivent rapporter les informations au Service Public Fédéral (SPF) Finances. Celui-ci les transmettra à son tour à l'IRS.

Quelles sont les implications de la loi FATCA pour les clients ING ?

ING contactera tout client pour lequel il existe un ou plusieurs indice(s) de lien avec les États-Unis. Le client est tenu de confirmer et de prouver son statut :

  • si la société est une "U.S. person", créée ou organisée aux États-Unis ou suivant la législation américaine, ou une succursale d’une société non américaine établie aux États-Unis, un formulaire W-9 ("Request for Taxpayer Identification Number and Certification") doit être complété. Consultez le site internet de l’IRS pour des infos plus détaillées ;
  • si la société souhaite attester qu'il/elle n'est pas une "U.S. person", un formulaire W-8BEN-E ("Certificate of Status of Beneficial Owner for United States Tax Withholding and Reporting ") doit être complété.  Dans ce document, la société atteste son statut FATCA. Consultez le site internet de l’IRS pour des infos plus détaillées
    Notez que certaines entreprises, bien que non assujetties au fisc américain, doivent néanmoins être rapportées à l’IRS. Par exemple, il y a des règles spécifiques pour les institutions financières et pour les entités passives détenues par des Américains.

ING continuera à proposer aux sociétés US tous ses services en lien avec des comptes à vue et des comptes épargne, pour autant qu’elles acceptent de fournir les informations exigées par la loi FATCA.

Les informations requises par FATCA devront être fournies préalablement à l’établissement d’une relation commerciale avec de nouveaux clients pour lesquels il existe des indices de lien avec les États-Unis.

Si les documents requis ne sont pas fournis dans un délai très précis, ING Belgique devra considérer les clients pour lesquels il existe des indices de lien avec les États-Unis comme des "U.S. persons" (personnes physiques et personnes morales). Par conséquent, les informations sur les données et comptes de ces clients devront être fournies à l'IRS (par l'intermédiaire des autorités fiscales belges).

Pour en savoir plus sur ces nouvelles mesures et leurs implications, veuillez consulter :