Growth

7 October 2016

An obstacle is there to be overcome

The Ghent-based IT start-up Intuo has already benefited from an interesting mix of financing channels. After the initial business angels, it was the bankers' turn to be actively involved in its deliberations on the next financing projects.
"We are not made to work in a company other than ours," jokes Tim Clauwaert. However, that is certainly not the case of the software developed by this company he founded in 2013 with two partners. Intuo is all the rage with its cloud applications that allow companies to coach and motivate their employees. Today, these applications are already used by more than 100,000 people.

Intuo, a lightning development

"The starter must have complete confidence in himself, in his products and his team," explains the CEO. "We also want a bank that comes along on the journey and that is not only interested in a figure on a piece of paper at a certain point in time. During our fundraising pitch in front of the bank representatives, we took note of those who were asking the right questions. The coaching is never far away. We wanted someone who understands us and becomes involved in our deliberations. ING was the bank that impressed us most with that attitude."

Multiple sources of financing

In the beginning, the founders financed Intuo with their own savings. They went on to receive a 25,000 euro capital injection from the accelerator Telenet Idealabs, while the Institute of Digital Research iMinds also put money on the table. This was followed by a bigger financing operation with a win-win loan from the Société flamande de participation, an ING loan and an investment by three business angels. "Alex Segers Marc Boone and Anthony Brenninkmeijer approached us in different ways," says Tim Clauwaert. "The common denominator was that they had been keeping tabs on us for a while and were convinced that we were not the type to give up. We don’t see a problem as an obstacle but as something that we just have to overcome."

"These business angels were a real godsend," he points out. "Their help was an asset when we discussed financing with a bank. Our pitch had already been validated by experts. Marc Boone, for example, screened our business model from the outset. We came out of the interview confident in our performance and, a year later, he acquired a stake in the company. We also received many tips from these business angels. They know what will be important for the company in three months’ time, while it may not have crossed our minds yet."

"ING is keeping a close eye on the evolution of Intuo," continues Tim Clauwaert. "They help us manage our working capital. When necessary, we can, for example, easily obtain a loan of 50,000 euros."

The company is thriving, with fourteen employees and a turnover estimated at 450,000 euros. This also changes the financing challenges. "Five years ago, for example, the rule was that technology companies financed their growth as much as possible through debt," said Tim Clauwaert. "We no longer do that. Our growth must be profitable and therefore generate profits as quickly as possible. In this way, we can show investors what we are worth and not what we think we will be worth in ten years’ time."

The bank, much more than a lender

"It’s not because starters do not yet come into consideration for bank financing that banks cannot do anything for them," explains Lodewijk De Meester, Head of Lending & Professional Banking ING. "Banks have their own network, that start-ups can leverage. We put them in touch with business angels and venture capitalists. We also have wealthy clients who are or were entrepreneurs and who are willing to provide capital. Finally, ING can take active stakes in start-ups via special funds." In fact, it's not just about money. "Often we can also provide expertise, connections and coaching to starters," points out Lodewijk De Meester. "When we hand over the contact details of a business angel to a starter, saying: 'Send him our regards', it facilitates contacts."
"Today, a bank shouldn’t be approached only when you need your first financing," says Lodewijk De Meester. "We do not only grant loans, but also offer financing options. These include 'external' solutions, such as win-win loans or the intervention of a guarantee fund. What, finally, is his best advice for budding entrepreneurs? "Go to the bank with a solid business plan, that you have preferably already discussed with an accountant or another contractor. If you know what you want to do, where and for what customers it is much easier to move up a gear in terms of funding."

Would you like to know more?

Looking for financing adapted to your needs? To learn more about our financing solutions, contact your ING banker or make an appointment at one of our branches.

Grandir

9 mars 2016

« Un obstacle est surmontable »

La start-up informatique gantoise Intuo s’est déjà constitué un mix de financements intéressant. Après les business angels initiaux, c’est au tour des banquiers de s’impliquer activement dans ses réflexions sur la suite du financement.
"Nous ne sommes pas faits pour travailler dans une autre entreprise que la nôtre", plaisante Tim Clauwaert. Mais ce n’est certainement pas le cas du logiciel de l’entreprise qu’il a créée en 2013 avec deux compagnons. Car Intuo fait fureur avec ses applications dans le cloud qui permettent aux entreprises de coacher et de motiver leurs collaborateurs. Aujourd’hui, elles sont déjà utilisées par plus de 100.000 personnes.

Intuo, un développement fulgurant

"Le starter doit avoir une confiance totale en lui-même, en ses produits et en son équipe", explique le CEO. "Nous voulons également une banque qui nous accompagne dans notre histoire et qui ne s’intéresse pas uniquement à ce qui est sur papier à un instant T. Pendant notre pitch de levée de fonds devant les représentants des banques, nous avons observé ceux qui posaient les bonnes questions. Le coaching commence déjà là. Nous voulions quelqu’un qui nous comprend et qui participe à nos réflexions. Ce sentiment, c’est ING qui nous l’a le plus donné."

Un financement multiple

Au tout début, les fondateurs ont financé Intuo avec leurs propres économies. Ensuite, ils ont reçu une injection de 25.000 euros de capital de l’accélérateur Telenet Idealabs, alors que l’institut de recherche numérique iMinds a également mis de l’argent sur la table. Une opération de financement plus importante a suivi avec un prêt gagnant-gagnant de la Société flamande de participation, un prêt d’ING et un investissement de trois business angels. "Alex Segers, Marc Boone et Anthony Brenninkmeijer se sont adressés à nous de différentes manières", explique Tim Clauwaert. "Ils avaient en commun qu’ils nous suivaient depuis un temps et qu’ils étaient convaincus que nous n’étions pas du genre à abandonner. Nous ne voyons pas un problème comme un obstacle, mais comme quelque chose que nous devons simplement surmonter."

Ces business angels ont apporté des avantages importants, remarque-t-il. "Leur aide était un atout quand on a discuté financement avec une banque. Notre discours avait été validé par des experts. Ainsi Marc Boone avait-il mis notre modèle d’affaires sur le gril à nos tout débuts. Nous étions sortis très confiants de l’entretien et, un an plus tard, il entrait dans notre capital. Nous avons également reçu de nombreux conseils de ces business angels. Ils savent ce qui sera important pour l’entreprise dans trois mois, même si nous n’y pensons pas encore."

ING suit de près l’évolution d’Intuo, poursuit Tim Clauwaert. "Ils nous aident à gérer notre fonds de roulement. Quand c’est nécessaire, nous pouvons par exemple aisément obtenir un prêt de 50.000 euros."

L’entreprise est en plein essor, avec quatorze salariés et un chiffre d’affaires estimé à 450.000 euros. Ce qui modifie également les défis en matière de financement. "Il y a cinq ans, par exemple, la règle voulait que les entreprises technologiques financent leur croissance autant que possible par des dettes", explique Tim Clauwaert. "Nous ne le faisons plus. Notre croissance doit être rentable, et donc produire des bénéfices le plus vite possible. De cette manière, nous pouvons montrer aux investisseurs ce que nous valons, et pas ce que nous pensons que nous vaudrons dans dix ans."

Découvrez l’histoire d’Intuo

La banque, bien plus qu’un fournisseur de crédit

Ce n’est pas parce que des starters n’entrent pas encore en considération pour un financement bancaire que les banques ne peuvent rien faire pour eux, explique Lodewijk De Meester, Head of Lending & Professional Banking ING. "Les banques ont leur propre réseau, que les start-ups peuvent mettre à profit. Nous les mettons en contact avec des business angels et des fournisseurs de capital-risque. Nous avons également des clients fortunés qui sont ou étaient entrepreneurs et qui sont prêts à apporter des capitaux. Enfin, ING peut prendre des participations actives dans des start-ups via des fonds spéciaux." En fait, ce n’est pas qu’une question d’argent. "Souvent, nous pouvons également apporter de l’expertise, des connexions et du coaching aux starters", pointe Lodewijk De Meester. "Quand on transmet les coordonnées d’un business angel à un starter en lui disant : 'Saluez-le de notre part', cela favorise le contact."
Aujourd’hui, il ne faut pas uniquement envisager une banque au moment de la première demande de financement bancaire, souligne Lodewijk De Meester. "Nous fournissons non seulement des crédits, mais aussi des options de financement. Dont des solutions 'externes' comme des prêts gagnant-gagnant ou une intervention du fonds de garantie."Quel est enfin son principal conseil pour les entrepreneurs débutants ? "Passez à la banque avec un business plan solide, dont vous avez de préférence déjà discuté avec un comptable ou un autre entrepreneur. Si vous savez ce que vous voulez faire, où et pour quels clients, il est beaucoup plus facile de passer à la vitesse supérieure en matière de financement."

Besoin de financer votre projet ?

Vous cherchez le financement adapté à vos besoins ? Pour en savoir plus sur nos solutions de financement, contactez votre banquier ING, prenez rendez-vous dans l’une de nos agences, ou visionnez notre webinar.