AED Group
Growth

14 December 2016

Building a multinational: the background of AED

Over the last thirty years, AED Group has become a key player in the audiovisual industry. With the help of external financial partners, the company now wants to transform into a fully-fledged multinational.

The story of Glen Roggeman, CEO of AED Group, is captivating stuff. Glen Roggeman started out at a very young age renting audiovisual equipment to local DJs. That was back in 1985. Today, his company has 300 employees and, every year, AED supplies audiovisual equipment for 60,000 events worldwide. From corporate events and large general meetings to Rock Werchter and Tomorrowland, from the Eurovision Song Contest to the opening ceremony of the Rio Olympics. AED supplies sound equipment, cameras, lighting and huge screens. "We are the banker of the television industry. We gauge the needs of each client and look for the best way of meeting them,” explains Glen Roggeman.

Financing to support its growth

AED has warehouses and operational sites in Belgium, France, Germany, the Netherlands and the UK. "The company has already successfully scaled several stages in its growth. And each phase brings new challenges in areas such as property management, operational structure and internal organisation. The needs and financing solutions are also different each time,” continues Glen Roggeman. He still remembers his early days, when he had to inject most of his own assets into his business and when the bank demanded significant guarantees for any loan.

As AED grew and recruited new employees, Glen Roggeman also began to make use of overdrafts and leasing arrangements to finance the company’s daily operations. Bullet and revolving loans also came into the picture. "A banker has a knack for coming up with financing opportunities," he smiles. "And each time, it’s an opportunity to subject your company to an external audit. Because a banker is also a partner that helps you become more professional in your approach. If he refuses a financing solution or makes a negative comment, he has his reasons. They shouldn’t be ignored. Your company will emerge stronger if you put your banker’s advice into practice."

Arrival of external capital

AED first made use of venture capital or private equity a decade ago when the PE Group acquired a 10 million euro stake in the capital. Other players soon followed, including ING. With the arrival of external risk capital, AED further gained in maturity. "The arrival of increasingly important players injecting more and more funds forced us to make our operation even more professional," says Glen Roggeman. "You have to be well prepared. When AED celebrated its tenth anniversary, I was already looking for external capital. But I very quickly realised that the company wasn’t ready. Private equity investors don’t simply wait around for periodic financial reports, they also want a fully developed internal management structure. And in 1995, my company was still a one-man-show. It was only ten years later that we were really ready to bring on board external venture capital."

Meanwhile, AED is banking on a new private equity transaction of over 100 million euros. "With this extra fuel, we will be able to drive a buy and build strategy over the coming years. There are several companies in the sector who copy us and the time has come to buy a few. We can then turn AED into a large multinational company,” concludes Glen Roggeman.

The mix of financing channels is a plus

"For a large company, it isn’t necessarily easy to finance heavy investments or acquisitions. Though they have many more opportunities, the complexity of financing transactions also increases with the size of a company,” explains the Febelfin spokesperson Isabelle Marchand. Large companies can turn to the market, but a bond issue or a stock market flotation are very complex operations. They come with certain obligations, conditions and specific costs.

Traditional financing also plays an important role in large companies. "There is an ideal form of funding for each project. It is probably preferable to finance an investment in a machine fleet with a long-term bank loan via the bank or a leasing formula, while for the financing of current assets, it is often cheaper to take out a credit line. There are also specific loans for companies that export a lot. There is a different solution for each challenge,” says Isabelle Marchand.

The mix of financing channels is an important asset for large companies. "It is always safer to rely on multiple financing channels. Companies that make too much use of short-term debts could experience long-term difficulties,” concludes Isabelle Marchand. "Companies are constantly seeking the right balance between equity and debt. This implies an in-depth analysis of its financing portfolio that is continuously optimised."

Would you like to know more?

Looking for financing adapted to your needs? To learn more about our financing solutions, contact your ING banker or make an appointment at one of our branches..

AED Group
Grandir

8 mars 2017

Construire une multinationale : l’histoire d’AED

Ces trente dernières années, AED Group est devenu un acteur important dans l’industrie audiovisuelle. Avec l’aide de partenaires financiers externes, l’entreprise veut désormais se métamorphoser en véritable multinationale.

L’histoire de Glen Roggeman, CEO d’AED Group, est captivante. Glen Roggeman a commencé très jeune à louer du matériel audiovisuel à des DJ locaux. C’était en 1985. Aujourd’hui, son entreprise compte 300 collaborateurs et AED fournit chaque année du matériel audiovisuel pour 60.000 événements dans le monde entier. D’événements d’entreprises et grandes assemblées générales à Rock Werchter et Tomorrowland, en passant par l’Eurovision de la chanson et la cérémonie d’ouverture des Jeux Olympiques de Rio. AED fournit de l’équipement sono, des caméras, de l’éclairage et d’immenses écrans. "Nous sommes le banquier de l’industrie télévisuelle. Nous sondons les besoins de chaque client et nous cherchons la meilleure manière de les satisfaire", explique Glen Roggeman.

Des financements qui accompagnent la croissance

AED possède des entrepôts et des sites opérationnels en Belgique, en France, en Allemagne, aux Pays-Bas et au Royaume-Uni. "L’entreprise a déjà parcouru plusieurs phases dans sa croissance. Et chaque phase pose de nouveaux défis en matière de gestion immobilière, de structure opérationnelle et d’organisation interne. Les besoins et solutions de financement sont également différents à chaque fois", poursuit Glen Roggeman. Il se rappelle encore ses débuts, quand il avait dû apporter la plus grande partie de son patrimoine dans son entreprise et quand la banque exigeait d’importantes garanties pour le moindre prêt.

À mesure qu’AED grandissait et recrutait de nouveaux collaborateurs, Glen Roggeman a également commencé à faire appel à du crédit de caisse et à des formules de leasing pour financer son fonctionnement quotidien. Des crédits bullet et revolving ont également fait leur apparition. "Un banquier est génial pour imaginer des possibilités de financement", sourit-il. "Et c’est chaque fois l’occasion de soumettre son entreprise à un audit externe. Car un banquier est aussi un partenaire qui vous aide à vous professionnaliser. S’il refuse une solution de financement ou laisse un commentaire négatif, il a ses raisons. Il ne faut pas les ignorer. Votre entreprise en sortira plus forte si vous mettez en pratique les conseils de votre banquier."

Arrivée de capital externe

AED a fait appel pour la première fois au capital-risque ou private equity il y a dix ans, avec l’entrée de PE Group dans le capital pour 10 millions d’euros. D’autres acteurs ont rapidement suivi, dont ING. Avec l’arrivée de capital-risque externe, AED a encore gagné en maturité. "L’arrivée d’acteurs de plus en plus importants qui injectaient davantage de fonds nous a obligés à nous professionnaliser encore plus", explique Glen Roggeman. "Il faut y être bien préparé. Quand AED fêtait son dixième anniversaire, je cherchais déjà du capital externe. Mais j’ai rapidement dû constater que l’entreprise n’était pas prête. Les investisseurs en private equity ne se contentent pas d’attendre des rapports financiers périodiques, ils veulent également une structure managériale interne parfaitement développée. Et en 1995, mon entreprise était encore un one-man-show. Nous n’avons vraiment été prêts à accueillir du capital-risque externe que dix ans plus tard".

Entre-temps, AED table sur une nouvelle opération de private equity de plus de 100 millions d’euros. "Avec ce carburant supplémentaire, nous pourrons nous engager dans une stratégie buy and build au cours des années à venir. Il y a plusieurs entreprises dans le secteur qui nous copient et le temps est venu d’en racheter quelques-unes. Nous pourrons ainsi transformer AED en une grande multinationale", conclut Glen Roggeman.

Le mix de canaux de financement est un atout

"Pour une grande entreprise, il n’est pas nécessairement simple de financer de lourds investissements ou des acquisitions. Même si elles ont beaucoup plus de possibilités, la complexité des opérations de financement augmente aussi avec la taille d’une entreprise", explique la porte-parole de Febelfin Isabelle Marchand. Les grandes entreprises peuvent faire appel au marché, mais l’émission d’obligations ou une entrée en Bourse sont des opérations très complexes. Elles s’accompagnent également d’obligations, de conditions et de frais spécifiques.

Le financement traditionnel joue aussi un rôle important dans les grandes entreprises. "Il existe une forme de financement idéale pour chaque projet. Il est sans doute préférable de financer un investissement dans un parc de machines avec un prêt bancaire à long terme via la banque ou une formule de leasing, alors que pour le financement d’actifs circulants, il est souvent plus avantageux de souscrire une ligne de crédit. Il existe également des crédits spécifiques pour les entreprises qui exportent beaucoup. Il y a une solution différente pour chaque défi", souligne Isabelle Marchand.

Le mix de canaux de financement est un atout important pour les grandes entreprises. "Il est toujours plus sûr de pouvoir se fonder sur plusieurs canaux de financement. L’entreprise qui ferait trop appel à des dettes à court terme pourrait connaître des difficultés à long terme", conclut Isabelle Marchand. "Les entreprises recherchent constamment un bon équilibre entre fonds propres et dettes. Cela suppose qu’on analyse en profondeur son portefeuille de financement et qu’on l’optimise en permanence."

Besoin de financer votre projet ?

Vous cherchez le financement adapté à vos besoins ? Pour en savoir plus sur nos solutions de financement, contactez votre banquier ING, prenez rendez-vous dans l’une de nos agences, ou visionnez notre webinar.