Innovation

14 March 2017

Agfa-Gevaert: sees disruptive innovation as a balancing act

How would you have reacted if one of your colleagues had come and told you, in 1975, that he had invented the digital camera? That is what Steven Sasson did at Kodak. The managers did not believe his invention would be successful and the project stopped there. Or at least that was what Kodak thought. In fact, Agfa-Gevaert found an answer to the digital revolution. Thanks to the diversification of their market and products, maintaining a long-term vision and innovation and focusing on the real needs of the market, this major company, active in the chemical industry, has expanded to become an IT-oriented player.

Change or lose

Christian Reinaudo, CEO of Agfa-Gevaert: “Thanks to globalisation, digitisation and the internet of things, knowledge is now being applied at lightning speed. Anyone who slows down is signing their own death warrant. Agfa did not want to curb the revolution. That is why, in 2004, it sold its photography subsidiary to free up resources with a view to investing in healthcare and the graphics industry. We even went further by connecting “globalisation” with “environmental sustainability”. Ultimately in just 10 years Agfa-Gevaert has transformed from a business active in the chemical industry to an IT-oriented player. The knowledge and culture have been obtained mainly through acquisition. “This change has saved us, because anything that has not yet been digitalised, will be very soon.”

Agfa Christian reinaudo Base - Intro
Disruptive innovation, a balancing act

How did Agfa-Gevaert deal with this disruptive innovation in 2016? “Disruptive innovation is primarily a balancing act: firstly, it is about progressive innovation within our mature market segments and, secondly, we are leaving our comfort zone in markets where we do not have any conventional competitors”, explains Mr Reinaudo. “"Geographic diversification can reduce the impact of disruption.”

“In mature markets where a plethora of conventional players are active, we innovate relentlessly in terms of product quality, service and profitability. Equally we cannot overlook the fact that some traditional activities are booming in the emerging economies. As long as these traditional activities remain profitable, we shall not reject them. The reason is obvious: the profits they generate can be invested in a new market.” To sum up, geographic diversification can reduce the impact of disruption.

In sectors with less traditional activities, growth is progressing at a frantic pace. “Consequently disruptive innovation goes hand-in-hand with quick decisions, execution and strategy. The fastest way to break into new markets is to invest in the players in the disruptive technologies: start-ups. By becoming shareholders, we keep control over strategy.”

Customer’s needs, a guiding principle

Disruptive innovation is adapted according to customers' behaviour. "That is why we adapt our innovation to market needs. We do not innovate for the sake of innovation. It takes more attention and discipline than that. For example: we allocate our R&D resources in a way that targets applications which are relevant for larger target groups. Instead of having nine different software protocols or codes, we still use just two codes, even today. This provides a dual advantage: our own efficiency in terms of research and development increases (R&D efficiency) and the customer has the new versions faster”. “To turn disruptive innovation into an opportunity, you need to change your own behaviour as well as that of your customers.”

The customer also needs to be convinced about this win-win situation. In Belgium, within the fragmented hospitals market, many hospitals want “specific” software solutions. “The fact that an application can be used more widely does not harm its effectiveness. On the contrary, as it is more compatible and it increases the level of service which is an advantage to the patient even outside the hospital.” In other words, Agfa-Gevaert supports and encourages its customers to opt for better and more innovative ways of working.

Cultural revolution

According to Mr Reinaudo, the technological transformation is equally causing a cultural revolution. “Retail sales are effectively becoming obsolete. In future, manufacturers will be selling and supplying their solutions directly to the end user. In turn, this model needs to be transformed in terms of management.”

“I am young enough at heart to understand new developments, but I need to surround myself with young talent to be able to predict what will happen.” To do this, it is essential to have a wide range of profiles. “It is impossible to do business “globally” if you do not think “globally” or if you are not “global” yourself. You have to adapt to trends. That goes much further than the mere fact of being “multinational”. Creative minds must have the opportunity to be creative. “Quarterly results really do not keep me awake at night.”

For Agfa-Gevaert, this cultural turnaround is one of the main challenges. “And the quest for new ideas”, confirms Mr Reinaudo. “Start-ups are besieging us with innovative concepts. But you have to pick out what might really prove valuable. This type of approach requires extremely thorough business knowledge. Furthermore, a long-term vision and strategy is required to enable the company to undergo a complete transformation which constitutes a prerequisite for survival. In all honesty, quarterly results do not keep me awake at night. The main issues which stop me from sleeping are the following: what will happen with raw materials, the dollar, the euro, the new product we are launching tomorrow...?”

The future of Agfa-Gevaert

“A market which adapts slowly also has its advantages". For Agfa-Gevaert, D-day has arrived, i.e. the day on which the company must choose to take the healthcare path or that of the graphics industry. Camera film was our warhorse for decades. Nonetheless, over time this direction became less and less important. “In 10 years, Agfa will either be excelling in healthcare IT or the industrial ink-jet market. By that time, camera film will have disappeared almost entirely.” Christian Reinaudo thinks that by 2030, it is more likely that Agfa will have been transformed into an international player in the field of Healthcare IT.

Agfa Graphics Inkjet business


It is true that healthcare is not classed as the most innovative sector in terms of adoption speed. And this aspect offers some advantages. Doctors do not change their habits on a whim. Anyone who manages to introduce a new technology is therefore safe for a certain amount of time. Moreover, this is a very complicated and highly regulated sector. It makes sense to have to wait even longer for a patient file which is integrated and exceeds the expectations of the discipline to be accepted. “It would not be a sinecure to introduce that kind of integrated solution into a market which is considerably fragmented. An all-in-one solution impacts on the very crux of a hospital establishment's IT architecture. Obviously medical institutions are not very keen on this change.”

“Bearing in mind that our B2B clients will have to forego some autonomy.” Patients are becoming demanding customers and healthcare is personalised and customised. “The new world exceeds hospital perimeters and is developing into an integrated care model in which all of the players (from patients to clinicians, and from the carers to physiotherapists and pharmacists) are sharing data and knowledge live, online and from worldwide.”

Traps, Tips and Tricks
  1. Do not focus solely on the needs of your customers, but also on those of the end-users.

  2. Surround yourself with a range of different profiles.

  3. Everyone in a company must understand the technology behind its own products to be able to predict changes as quickly as possible.

  4. The fastest way to have the opportunity to penetrate new markets is to invest in start-ups. Become a shareholder to keep control over strategy.

  5. Anyone working with young, skilled people will be more equipped to predict what will happen. Do not try to slow down certain inevitable development.

What now?

Find inspiration at one of the many events we are organising or supporting! More info on ing.be/businessevents

Innovation

14 Mars 2017

Agfa-Gevaert : la disruption en tant qu'exercice d'équilibre

Comment auriez-vous réagi si un collaborateur était venu vous raconter, en 1975, qu'il avait découvert la caméra numérique ? C'est ce qu'a fait Steven Sasson chez Kodak. La direction ne croyait pas que sa découverte aurait du succès et ce projet en est resté là. C'était du moins la conclusion de Kodak. En revanche, Agfa-Gevaert a trouvé une réponse à la révolution numérique. Grâce à la diversification du marché et des produits, à une vision à long terme maintenue et à une innovation mettant l'accent sur les réels besoins du marché, la grande entreprise active dans le domaine de la chimie s'est développée pour devenir un acteur orienté IT.

Changer ou perdre

Christian Reinaudo, CEO d’Agfa-Gevaert : "Grâce à la globalisation, à la numérisation et à l'internet des objets, les connaissances s'appliquent à une vitesse fulgurante. Quiconque ralentit, signe son propre arrêt de mort. Agfa ne désirait pas freiner l'évolution. C'est la raison pour laquelle elle vendit, en 2004, sa filiale photo afin de pouvoir libérer des moyens en vue d'investir dans les soins de santé et dans l'industrie graphique. Nous sommes même allés plus loin en alliant la "globalisation" à la "durabilité pour l'environnement." En fin de compte, Agfa-Gevaert est passée, en 10 ans, d'une entreprise active dans le domaine de la chimie à un acteur orienté IT. Les connaissances et la culture ont été obtenues, en majeure partie, par le biais de l'acquisition. "Ce changement a constitué notre délivrance, car tout ce qui n'est pas encore IT aujourd'hui le deviendra prochainement."

Agfa Christian reinaudo Base - Intro
La disruption, un exercice d'équilibre

Comment Agfa-Gevaert aborde-t-elle la disruption en 2016 ? "La disruption consiste principalement en un exercice d'équilibre : d'un côté, il s'agit d'innovation incrémentielle au sein de nos segments de marché matures et d'un autre côté, nous quittons notre zone de confort sur les marchés où n'avons pas de concurrents classiques", explique M.Reinaudo. "La diversification géographique peut réduire l'impact de la disruption."

"Dans les marchés matures, où une pléthore d'acteurs classiques sont actifs, nous innovons sans cesse en matière de qualité de produits, de service et de rentabilité. Nous ne pouvons notamment pas omettre que certaines activités traditionnelles sont en plein boom dans les économies émergentes. Tant que ces activités classiques restent rentables, nous ne les rejetons pas. La raison est claire : les bénéfices qu'elles génèrent peuvent être investis dans un nouveau marché." En résumé, la diversification géographique peut donc réduire l'impact de la disruption.

Dans des secteurs d'activités moins traditionnels, l'évolution suit un rythme effréné. "La disruption va dès lors de pair avec la vitesse de décision, d'exécution et la stratégie. La façon la plus rapide d'avoir des chances de percer au sein des nouveaux marchés est d'investir dans des acteurs aux technologies disruptives ; les start-ups. En devenant actionnaires, nous gardons d'ailleurs le contrôle sur la stratégie."

Les besoins du client comme fil conducteur

La disruption est adaptée en fonction du comportement du client. "C'est pourquoi nous adaptons notre innovation aux besoins du marché. Nous n'innovons pas pour innover. Cela exige plus d'attention et de discipline. Un exemple : nous affectons nos moyens R&D de manière plus ciblée sur les applications pertinentes pour les groupes cibles plus larges. Au lieu de neuf protocoles ou codes logiciels différents, nous disposons aujourd'hui encore de deux codes. Cela génère un double gain : notre propre efficacité liée à la recherche et au développement (efficacité R&D) augmente et le client obtient plus rapidement les nouvelles versions.""Afin de faire de la disruption une opportunité, il convient de changer aussi bien votre propre comportement que celui de vos clients."

Le client doit également être persuadé de cette situation gagnant-gagnant. En Belgique, au sein du marché morcelé des hôpitaux, bon nombre d'établissements hospitaliers demandent d'ailleurs des solutions logicielles "spécifiques". "Une application pouvant être utilisée de façon plus large ne nuit pas à son efficacité. Au contraire, car elle est plus compatible et elle augmente le niveau de service au profit du patient au-delà des frontières de l'hôpital." En d'autres termes, Agfa-Gevaert soutient et encourage ses clients à opter pour des méthodes de travail meilleures et novatrices.

Révolution culturelle

D'après M.Reinaudo, la transformation technologique induit également une révolution culturelle. "En effet, le niveau de la vente au détail tombe en désuétude. Ce sera de manière directe que le fabricant vendra et fournira ses solutions à l'utilisateur final. Ce modèle exige, à son tour, une transformation sur le plan de la direction."

"Je suis assez jeune d'esprit pour comprendre les nouvelles évolutions, mais je dois m'entourer de talents peu avancés en âge pour pouvoir anticiper ce qui va arriver." Pour ce faire, la diversité des profils constitue un aspect essentiel. "Il est impossible de faire des affaires de façon "globale" si vous ne pensez pas ou n'êtes vous-même pas "global". Il convient de s'adapter à l'évolution des choses. Cela va beaucoup plus loin que le simple fait d'être "multinational". Les esprits créatifs doivent avoir la possibilité d'être créatifs."Les résultats trimestriels ne m'empêchent franchement pas de dormir."

Pour Agfa-Gevaert, ce revirement culturel forme l'un des principaux défis. "Et la quête de nouvelles idées", affirme M.Reinaudo. "Les start-ups nous assiègent de concepts novateurs. Toutefois, il faut en retirer celui qui peut réellement s'avérer précieux. Une telle approche exige des connaissances extrêmement minutieuses du business. En outre, une vision et une stratégie à long terme sont nécessaires pour permettre à l'entreprise de subir une transformation complète constituant une condition sine qua non pour survivre. En toute honnêteté, les résultats trimestriels ne m'empêchent pas de dormir. Les questions importantes qui entravent bel et bien mon sommeil sont les suivantes : que va-t-il advenir des matières premières, du dollar, de l'euro, du nouveau produit que nous lancerons demain...?"

L'avenir d’Agfa-Gevaert

"Un marché à vitesse d'adoption lente englobe aussi des avantages" Pour Agfa-Gevaert, le jour J est arrivé ; à savoir le jour où l'entreprise doit choisir d'emprunter la voie des soins de santé ou celle de l'industrie graphique. Pendant des décennies, la pellicule formait notre cheval de bataille. Néanmoins, cette orientation prenait de moins en moins d'ampleur au fil des mois. "Dans 10 ans, Agfa excellera soit en soins de santé IT ou au sein du marché industriel du jet d'encre. La pellicule aura d'ici là quasiment disparu." Christian Reinaudo estime qu'il y a plus de chances que Agfa se convertisse, en 2030, en un acteur international dans le monde des soins de santé IT.

Agfa Graphics Inkjet business


Il est vrai que les soins de santé ne se classent pas dans le secteur le plus novateur en termes de vitesse d'adoption. Et cet aspect offre des avantages. Un médecin n'entre pas dans le cadre des personnes qui changent leurs habitudes à tout bout de champ. Quiconque parvient à introduire une nouvelle technologie est à l'abri pendant un certain laps de temps. De plus, il s'agit là d'un secteur très compliqué et très régulé. Il est dès lors normal qu'il faille attendre encore longtemps avant qu'un dossier de patients qui soit intégré et qui dépasse les limites de la discipline ne voie le jour. "Il ne sera pas une sinécure d'introduire une telle solution intégrée dans un marché fortement morcelé. Une solution tout-en-un agit sur le noyau de l'architecture IT d'un établissement hospitalier. Il va dès lors de soi que des institutions médicales ne soient pas vraiment friandes de ce changement."

"Sans oublier que nos clients B2B devront céder une part d'autonomie." Les patients deviennent des clients exigeants et les soins de santé sont personnalisés et sur mesure. "Le nouveau monde dépasse les limites de l'hôpital et se développe pour devenir un modèle de soins intégrés dans lequel tous les acteurs (du patient aux cliniciens, et du personnel soignant au kinésithérapeute et au pharmacien) partagent des données et des connaissances en ligne et en direct, partout dans le monde."

Pièges, trucs et astuces
  1. Ne vous penchez pas uniquement sur les besoins de vos clients, mais également sur ceux des utilisateurs finaux.

  2. Entourez-vous de profils variés.

  3. Tout le monde dans l'entreprise doit comprendre la technologie de ses propres produits pour pouvoir anticiper le changement aussi vite que possible.

  4. La façon la plus rapide d'avoir des chances de percer au sein des nouveaux marchés est d'investir dans des start-ups. Devenez actionnaire afin de garder le contrôle sur la stratégie.

  5. Quiconque travaille avec de jeunes talents pourra mieux anticiper sur ce qui va arriver. Ne soyez pas un frein à certaines évolutions inévitables.

En savoir plus ?

La disruption est-elle une menace invisible ?
Découvrez les réponses de Christian Reinaudo, CEO Agfa-Gevaert

Et maintenant ?

Trouvez de l’inspiration lors d’un des nombreux événements que nous organisons ou soutenons ! Plus d’info sur ing.be/businessevents.