Growth

14 December 2016

Yes, we can! How Barco became world leader thanks to a positive attitude and a clear action plan.

At Barco’s, nothing is impossible, that is obvious. On the same market as giants like Sony and Panasonic, the technology company from Kuurne developed to become a world leader in digital imaging. Eric Van Zele, former CEO of Barco: “In Belgium we tend to compromise too quickly. We dare not believe that it is it possible to become a world leader. Yet Barco’s story over the past seven years shows the opposite.” But how did Barco achieve this position? Find out how in this article.

5 focal points

Success does not drop out of the sky“Success does not drop out of the sky” as Eric Van Zele likes to repeat when he describes the major transformations the company has undergone since he was appointed CEO in 2009. “First and foremost you must believe it is possible.”

When Eric Van Zele arrived, Barco was struggling. The market share and external investments in the company were declining and both market and shareholder confidence were at rock bottom. A thorough analysis showed that it was time to make fundamental changes. The problem was not the market or the customers. Barco was the problem! “We are our own enemy!” asserted Eric Van Zele at the time. Finally, five focus points were defined:

  1. Portfolio analysis
  2. Customer orientation
  3. Operational excellence
  4. Leadership and corporate culture
  5. Leadership and technology
Portfolio analysis

Barco started by analysing its product portfolio. Based on a thorough analysis of its portfolio and new markets to explore, the company then defined a new strategy. The conclusion? The technology company now focuses on the medical world, digital movies, control centres, Defence and aeronautics. It is no accident that Barco is currently the world leader on the health care, control centre and digital movies markets.

Customer orientated

To return to success the company was obliged to focus on customers. Barco managed to regain the confidence of its customers by emphasising on its main customers, investing in strategic marketing processes and managing its distribution channels more professionally.

Operational excellence

The various departments of Barco operated separately, with their own reporting systems and reporting methods. This delayed the marketing of products and the speed of response to customer demands (in terms of after-sales service, spare part supply, etc.). A detailed analysis made it possible to replace the reporting systems and methods with more efficient solutions. The results speak for themselves: operational quality and efficiency are now core to all processes.

Leadership and corporate culture

From the beginning of the transformation it became clear that corporate culture and leadership had to be Barco’s new cornerstones. Openness, cooperation, trust, positivism and a ‘Yes, we can” mindset had to become the driving forces behind the technology company. “An in-house survey showed that many intelligent people worked for Barco, but that they lacked true leadership”, Eric Van Zele recalls.

Consequently all the directors went on a course to stimulate them to become true leaders. “The role of directors is to help their organisation and team to implement difficult but necessary changes which do not occur naturally”, the former CEO says.

Technology leadership

Barco’s ambition was the become the number 1 on the technological front. Its aim: to market the best possible projectors, with outstanding technological performances which are extremely reliable. Integrated multi-media systems, with user-friendly interfaces and management systems became the standard. That is how Barco became the undisputed leader in terms of image quality, performances and technological innovation.

The new Barco

One Campus, the brand-new head office of Barco in Courtrai which covers an area of 230,000 m², incorporates the company’s new thinking.

The main building is a glass spherical construction, surrounded by water and greenery. Barco’s 1,250 staff work at this new site which is a space open to customers and partners. The interior of the building also has a well thought out architecture: a large open space lets in much light thanks to a glass rood and walls, a waterfall conferring calm, many seats available for eating at lunchtime and as open meeting rooms or flexible work places the rest of the time.

The Barco Experience Center is very sophisticated and in the centre of the building. It is equipped with the most advanced visualisation technologies of Barco, such as a state-of-the-art cinema room with the latest technological innovations in the field of digital cinema. In other words, all reflects the new Barco: a well thought out company, which is both ambitious and determined to be the best on every front.

Would you like to know more?

Looking for financing adapted to your needs? To learn more about our financing solutions, contact your ING banker or make an appointment at one of our branches.

Grandir

8 mars 2017

Yes we can! Comment Barco est devenu leader mondial 

Chez Barco, rien n’est impossible, c’est manifeste. Active dans un marché où l’on retrouve des géants comme Sony et Panasonic, l’entreprise technologique de Kuurne s’est développée au point de devenir leader mondial en termes de traitement numérique des images. Eric Van Zele, ancien CEO de Barco : "En Belgique, nous avons tendance à accepter trop vite des compromis. Nous n’osons pas croire qu'il est possible de devenir leader mondial. Le parcours réalisé par Barco ces sept dernières années nous montre pourtant le contraire". Mais comment Barco s’y est-il pris ? Découvrez-le dans cet article.

5 points d'attention

Le succès ne tombe pas du ciel"Le succès ne tombe pas du ciel", se plaît à répéter Eric Van Zele lorsqu'il décrit l’important processus de transformation par lequel l’entreprise est passée depuis qu'il a été désigné CEO en 2009. "Vous devez avant tout croire que c’est possible." À l'arrivée d’Eric Van Zele, Barco était en difficulté. La part de marché et les investissements externes dans l’entreprise étaient en perte de vitesse et la confiance sur les marchés et auprès des actionnaires, au plus bas. Une analyse approfondie a révélé qu’il était temps d’opérer un changement fondamental. Le problème n’était pas à trouver dans le marché ou les clients. Le problème, c’était Barco ! "Nous sommes notre propre ennemi !", avait lancé à l’époque Eric Van Zele.

Au final, cinq points d'attention ont été définis :

Pour commencer, Barco a analysé son portefeuille de produits. S’appuyant sur une analyse approfondie de son portefeuille et des nouveaux marchés à exploiter, l’entreprise a ensuite défini une nouvelle stratégie. La conclusion ? L’entreprise technologique se concentrerait désormais sur le monde médical, le cinéma numérique, les salles de contrôle, la Défense et l’aéronautique. Ce n’est donc pas un hasard si Barco est actuellement leader mondial sur les marchés des soins de santé, des salles de contrôle et du cinéma numérique.

Pour renouer avec le succès, l’entreprise devait vraiment mettre le client au centre de ses préoccupations. Barco est parvenu à regagner la confiance des clients en mettant l'accent sur ses principaux clients, en investissant dans des processus de marketing stratégiques et en gérant ses canaux de distribution de manière plus professionnelle.

Les différents départements de Barco fonctionnaient séparément, avec leur propre système et leur mode de reporting. Cela retardait la commercialisation des produits et la vitesse de réaction aux demandes des clients (en termes de service après-vente, de fourniture des pièces de rechange, etc). Une analyse détaillée a permis de remplacer les systèmes et méthodes de reporting par des solutions plus performantes. Et les résultats sont là : la qualité et l’efficacité opérationnelle sont désormais la clé de tous les processus.

Dès le début de la transformation, il est apparu clairement que la culture d’entreprise et le leadership devaient être les nouvelles pierres angulaires de Barco. Il fallait que l'ouverture, la collaboration, la confiance, le positivisme et un esprit "yes, we can !" soient le moteur de l’entreprise technologique. "Une enquête en interne a montré que Barco comptait de nombreuses personnes intelligentes, mais elle a également montré qu'il leur manquait un vrai leadership", se souvient Eric Van Zele.

Tous les responsables ont dès lors suivi un programme les stimulant à devenir de véritables leaders. "Le rôle des responsables est d'aider leur organisation et leur équipe à opérer des changements difficiles mais nécessaires, qui ne se produisent pas naturellement", précise l'ancien CEO.

Barco avait pour ambition de devenir le numéro 1 sur le plan technologique. Son objectif : commercialiser les meilleurs projecteurs possibles, affichant d'excellentes performances technologiques et extrêmement fiables. Les systèmes multimédias intégrés, dotés d’interfaces et de systèmes de gestion conviviaux seraient désormais la norme. Voilà comment Barco est devenu le leader incontesté en termes de qualité d'image, de performances et d'innovation technologique.

Le nouveau Barco

One Campus, le siège flambant neuf de Barco à Courtrai s'étendant sur 230.000 m², incarne la nouvelle philosophie de l’entreprise.

Le bâtiment central est une construction sphérique en verre, entourée d’eau et de verdure. Ce nouveau site accueille 1.250 collaborateurs de Barco, mais se veut un lieu ouvert aux clients et aux partenaires. À l’intérieur, le bâtiment témoigne aussi d'une architecture mûrement réfléchie : un grand espace ouvert laissant pénétrer beaucoup de lumière grâce aux parois et au toit en verre, une chute d'eau conférant une impression de calme, et beaucoup de places pour s'asseoir, utilisées pour manger sur le temps de midi et comme salle de réunion ouverte ou comme endroits de travail flexibles le reste du temps.

Le Barco Experience Center, très sophistiqué, occupe le cœur du bâtiment. Il est équipé des technologies de visualisation les plus avancées de Barco, comme une salle de cinéma de pointe, dotée des dernières innovations technologiques en matière de cinéma numérique. Bref, tout est à l’image du nouveau Barco : une entreprise réfléchie, ambitieuse et déterminée à être la meilleure sur tous les plans.

Barco
Des conseils pour votre entreprise ?

Regardez la vidéo et découvrez les conseils d’Eric Van Zele.