Starters

27 February 2017

How to present your business effectively

Want to spread the word about your business quickly and well? There are techniques to ensure that people remember you, such as the elevator pitch. This article provides tips and tricks for a successful presentation.

What is an elevator pitch?

Imagine you are in a lift with the CEO of a large company who would be your dream customer. You have the time it takes to travel 15 floors to present yourself. But how to go about it?

Introduce yourself at record speed

"The purpose of an elevator pitch is not to persuade or to sell a product or service."An elevator pitch exercise is about being able to present yourself (or your business) efficiently in record time. An elevator pitch is a condensed presentation which should arouse the curiosity of the person you are talking to and encourage them to take action. This exercise can be used at conferences, networking evenings or when canvassing for new business. It can also be important when seeking funding from your bank and investors.

Tickle their curiosity

An elevator pitch should be short (45 to 60 seconds and no more than 250 words) and focused on the person you are talking to. What you say should be clear, concise and especially appealing. It should arouse the curiosity of the person you are talking to, who should want to find out more. The purpose of an elevator pitch is therefore not to persuade or to sell a product or service.

What is a pitch?

A pitch lasts approximately a maximum of 10 minutes. Sometimes, depending on the situation, even a little less. In all cases, the basic rule is simple: less is more! Your presentation should be understood by a novice (your children or parents).

No pointless chatter or endless background; no lengthy references or technical descriptions. Instead highlight the advantages and added value for your target. Your pitch should be organised according to the audience for your products or services, how useful these will be to them and the competitive advantage to be emphasised. Finally it will conclude with a call to action.

Pitch structure

The structure of a pitch consists of three stages:

  • Create interest. Use an impressive fact appealing to the imagination, ask a question, tell a story, give an amazing example, an image which strikes a chord
  • Present the added value. Clearly explain the solution offered to the market.
  • Conclude. Specify what you expect from the person you are talking to.
Pitch stages

When speaking to a banker or investor, these stages may be broken down as follows:

  • Introduce yourself briefly in one sentence
  • Focus on the objective of the presentation
  • Catch the attention of the person you are talking to, summarise the problem you are solving
  • Specify the audience for your value proposition, showing that there is a real market
  • Describe the solution in simple terms and how you are intending to monetise it for customers
  • Specify your competitive advantages and what sets you apart from your rivals; why you are better than the others
  • Point out the support of your (internal or external) team
  • Conclude: what are you hoping for?
Pay attention to form

"When it comes to making a good presentation, form is just as important as content."When it comes to making a good presentation, remember too that form is just as important as content. Dress comfortably and appropriately for your audience. Use visual aids when and if necessary (slides, diagrams, etc.). Create a calm listening environment which reinforces the quality of the exchange.



What else?

Some more tips to ensure that people remember you: make them laugh, mention somebody with whom the person or the audience you are talking to is familiar (and not an academic nobody's heard of) or tell a really engaging anecdote.

While some people kick off their pitch with a question, others opt to dramatise the context first before offering the solution. Each to their own. However, the exercise is not as easy may seem.

Avoid mistakes
  • Speaking too fast
  • Wanting to include everything
  • Being too complicated
  • Being too conventional or… too original
  • Overselling the project
  • Being focused on your business rather than on the person you are talking to or your customers.
To conclude

It is all in the careful preparation of your (elevator) pitch. Know what you want to attain or to take away from it. For a short presentation (elevator pitch), choose the feature you particularly want to emphasise (price, innovation etc.); the one that the person you are talking to absolutely must remember. Finally, practise reciting it and win over the person you are talking to.
From theory to practice: Just contact your ING advisor to discuss it or visit our website for starters. There you will find practical tips and tools for a good start.



Source: ing.be/business

Starters

8 février 2017

Comment présenter son entreprise efficacement ?

Vous voulez faire connaître votre entreprise vite et bien ? Il existe des techniques pour que l’on se souvienne de vous, comme l’elevator pitch. Dans cet article, découvrez des trucs et astuces pour une présentation réussie.

Qu’est-ce que l’elevator pitch ?

Imaginez que vous vous trouviez dans un ascenseur avec le CEO d’une grande entreprise que vous rêvez d’avoir comme cliente. Vous avez le temps de 15 étages pour vous présenter. Comment allez-vous vous y prendre ?

Présentez-vous en un temps record

"Le but de l’elevator pitch n’est pas de convaincre ni de vendre un produit ou un service."Par l’exercice de l’elevator pitch : il s’agit de pouvoir se présenter (ou son entreprise) de manière efficace en un temps record. L’elevator pitch est une présentation condensée qui doit attiser la curiosité de votre interlocuteur et l’inciter à passer à l’action. Cet exercice peut servir dans le cadre de conférences, de soirées de networking ou de prospection de clientèle. Il peut aussi être important lors de la recherche de financements auprès du banquier et d’investisseurs.

Piquez la curiosité

L’elevator pitch doit être court (45 à 60 secondes et 250 mots au maximum) et centré sur votre interlocuteur. Votre discours doit être clair, concis et surtout attrayant. Il doit piquer la curiosité de votre interlocuteur qui doit vouloir en savoir plus. Le but de l’elevator pitch n’est donc pas de convaincre ni de vendre un produit ou un service.

Adapter son message au client ? Découvrez comment dans cette vidéo.

Qu’est-ce que le pitch ?

Le pitch, lui, dure environ 10 minutes au maximum. Parfois même un peu moins, dépendant de la situation. En toutes circonstances, la règle de base est simple : peu de mots mais bien formulés ! Et votre présentation doit être compréhensible par un néophyte (vos enfants, vos parents).

Pas de bavardages inutiles ni d’historique trop long ; pas de références kilométriques ni de descriptifs techniques. Mais plutôt la mise en avant des avantages et de la valeur ajoutée apportée à votre cible.
Votre pitch devra être organisé en fonction des destinataires de vos produits ou de vos services, de l’utilité que ceux-ci leur apporteront, de l’avantage concurrentiel qui mérite d’être souligné.
Enfin, il sera conclu par un appel à l’action.

La structure du pitch

La structure du pitch comprend 3 phases :

  1. Susciter l’intérêt. Servez-vous d’un fait frappant, parlant à l’imagination, posez une question, racontez une histoire, donnez un exemple-choc, une image qui parle.

  2. Présenter la valeur apportée. Expliquez clairement la solution offerte au marché.

  3. Conclure. Précisez ce que vous attendez de votre interlocuteur.

Les étapes du pitch

Face au banquier ou à l’investisseur, ces étapes peuvent se décliner comme suit :

  • Présentez-vous brièvement en une phrase ;
  • Cadrez l’objectif de la présentation ;
  • Accrochez l’attention de votre interlocuteur, résumez le problème que vous résolvez ;
  • Précisez à qui s’adresse votre proposition de valeur en montrant qu’il y a un véritable marché ;
  • Décrivez simplement la solution apportée et comment vous comptez la monétiser auprès des clients ;
  • Précisez vos avantages compétitifs et ce qui vous distingue de la concurrence ; pourquoi vous êtes meilleur que les autres ;
  • Rappelez le soutien de l’équipe (interne ou externe) qui vous entoure ;
  • Concluez : que souhaitez-vous ?
Faites attention à la forme

"Pour réaliser une bonne présentation, la forme est tout aussi importante que le fond et son contenu."Pour réaliser une bonne présentation, retenez aussi que la forme est tout aussi importante que le fond et son contenu. Portez une tenue vestimentaire dans laquelle vous vous sentez à l’aise et adaptée à votre public. Appuyez-vous d’un support visuel quand et si cela est nécessaire (slides, schémas…). Créez un cadre serein d’écoute qui renforce la qualité de l’échange.

Mais encore ?

D’autres conseils peuvent être formulés pour que l’on vous retienne : faites rire, citez un personnage connu de l’interlocuteur ou de l’auditoire (et non un savant dont personne n’a jamais entendu parler) ou racontez une anecdote réellement interpellante.

Si certains enclenchent le pitch à partir d’une question, d’autres choisiront de d’abord dramatiser le contexte avant d’apporter la solution. À chacun sa méthode. Mais attention, l’exercice est moins facile qu’il n’y paraît.

Évitez les erreurs
  • Parler trop vite ;
  • Vouloir tout dire ;
  • Être trop compliqué ;
  • Être trop classique ou… trop original ;
  • Survendre le projet ;
  • Être centré sur son entreprise plutôt que sur son interlocuteur ou ses clients.
En conclusion

Tout est dans la préparation soigneuse de votre (elevator) pitch. Sachez ce que vous souhaitez en obtenir ou en retirer. Au niveau d’une présentation express (elevator pitch), choisissez la caractéristique que vous souhaitez mettre particulièrement en avant (prix, innovation…) ; celle qui doit absolument être retenue par l’interlocuteur. Enfin, entraînez-vous à le réciter et conquérez votre interlocuteur.

Vous souhaitez passer de la théorie à la pratique ? N’hésitez pas à contacter votre conseiller ING pour en parler ou à consulter notre site dédié aux starters. Vous y trouverez des conseils et outils pratiques pour prendre un bon départ.