Starters

22 August 2017

Setting up a business in Belgium: The first steps to go it alone

Why start a business in Belgium? Some people are motivated by the desire to escape a stifling workplace, others by the drive to be their own boss and reap the benefits of increased job satisfaction and freedom, while for others it may be by necessity rather than choice. Yet self-employment does not have to be a bureaucratic hurdle and the number of people launching their own business continues to rise.

Take the leap

According to former federal minister for the middle class, SMEs, self-employed and agriculture Willy Borsus (now Minister-President of the Walloon Government), in 2016 the number of self-employed people in Belgium rose by 23,000 to reach a record of 1,058.522. For 714,412 of them, self-employment was registered as their main activity and 245,035 their secondary activity, while 99,075 retirees also remained active.

What steps must you take to leap into the world of business?

Whether the activity is full or part-time, various options are available. They range from:

  • registering as self-employed,
  • having a supplementary activity in addition to a salaried one
  • and setting up a company.

If you choose the latter, a good accountant may seem an expensive outlay in the beginning, but will smooth life in the long run. An accountant can also help you choose the specific legal status of your business.

Choose the right type of business

There are many different forms your business can take, from having a freelance complementary activity to setting up a public limited company. In addition, there are company branches and subsidiaries. A branch is a commercial activity of a foreign company set up in Belgium, managed by a legal representative of the parent company. A subsidiary is a Belgian company with its own legal personality. For a one-person business (sole trader), there are fewer legal obligations with regard to decision-making, profit distribution and administration. But a company has certain tax advantages. There is a huge variety of corporate types and the mandatory capital depends on the type.

To set up a private limited company, a minimum capital of €18,550 is required, while shareholders establishing a public limited company must present a total capital of at least €61,500. If you establish a private limited liability company or public limited company, the financial plan must be filed with a notary. A notary is also necessary for deeds of incorporation, making any future amendment to the articles of association and possibly closing the company.

Open Bank accounts

When starting a business, you should open a bank account which is separate from your private account. This account must be used exclusively for transactions relating to your professional activity. The account number must feature on all commercial documents such as invoices.

Obtain the professional card

The next step is applying for a professional card to become your own boss. The application has to be submitted through a business counter (Guichet d’Entreprise/Ondernemingsloket). If the Federal Public Service Economy approves your application, you will receive a card which is valid for up to five years. The business counter will help you to register in the national database of businesses, known as the Crossroads Bank for Enterprises (Banque Carrefour des Entreprises/Kruispuntbank van Ondernemingen).

If you want to set up a commercial activity, the business counter will check your knowledge of business management and professional expertise. Any Belgian diploma of higher education is valid and a diploma or experience acquired abroad may be equivalent. You can also substantiate your professional experience through employment contracts. In some cases, you will have to pass a government exam or call on a business associate who can prove the required skills and will take care of the day-to-day management of the company. If one business counter refuses your application, you can always try another.

Once registered, you will receive your unique enterprise number, consisting of a 0 or 1 followed by nine digits. You need this number in all communication with the authorities and have to include it on your documents, website and showroom window. If you set up a corporation with legal personality, you have to file the basic documents with the registry of the Commercial Court, which will publish a summary in the Belgian Official Gazette.

And now ?

If you are looking for advice at any stage of the process, contact our expat service desk and speak to one of our advisors, or consult our website dedicated to starters. You will find plenty of advice and practical information for a good start.

Starters

22 août 2017

Lancer son activité en Belgique : premiers pas

Pourquoi lancer son business en Belgique ? Certains sont motivés par le désir d’échapper à un environnement professionnel étouffant, d’autres par le besoin d’être leur propre patron, de profiter d’une satisfaction professionnelle accrue, d’une forme de liberté, et d’autres encore par nécessité plutôt que par choix. Découvrez ce à quoi vous devez penser avant de vous lancer.

Sauter le pas

À en croire Willy Borsus, le précédent ministre fédéral des classes moyennes, PME, indépendants et de l’agriculture (désormais ministre-président du gouvernement wallon), le nombre de travailleurs indépendants en Belgique a augmenté en 2016 de 23.000 unités pour atteindre un record de 1.058.522. Il s’agit, pour 714.412 d’entre eux, d’une activité d’indépendant à titre principal, alors qu’il s’agit d’une activité à titre complémentaire pour 245.035 autres, tandis que 99.075 retraités ont choisi de rester actifs.

Quelles étapes devez-vous franchir pour vous lancer ?

Différentes options sont possibles, que l’activité soit à temps plein ou partiel :

  • inscription comme indépendant à titre principal,
  • comme activité complémentaire en plus d’une activité d’employé
  • ou création d’une société.

Si vous choisissez cette dernière option, un comptable efficace, même s’il semble représenter une dépense importante au début, sera un bienfait loin d’être superflu à long terme. Un comptable est également en mesure de vous aider à choisir le bon statut juridique pour votre activité professionnelle.

Choisir le bon statut

Votre activité professionnelle peut prendre différentes formes, du statut d’indépendant complémentaire à celui de société anonyme. Sans oublier les notions de succursales et de filiales. Une succursale supporte l’activité commerciale d’une société étrangère installée en Belgique. Elle est gérée par un représentant légal de la maison-mère. Une filiale est une société belge possédant sa propre personnalité légale. Pour une entreprise individuelle (solo trader), certaines obligations légales interviennent en matière de pouvoir décisionnel, répartition des bénéfices et administration. Toutefois, une société présente quelques avantages fiscaux. Il existe plusieurs types de sociétés et le capital exigé à la création dépend de ce type.

Pour créer une société à responsabilité limitée (SARL ou SPRL), un capital minimum de 18.550 € sera exigé alors que les actionnaires mettant en place une société anonyme devront garantir un capital d’au moins 61.500 €.
Lors de la création d’une SPRL ou d’une SA, un plan financier doit être déposé auprès d’un notaire. Un notaire sera également indispensable à l’établissement des actes constitutifs, aux modifications futures et à l’éventuelle fermeture de l’entreprise.

Ouvrir un compte bancaire

Lors du lancement de votre activité professionnelle, vous devez ouvrir un compte bancaire totalement indépendant de vos comptes privés. Ce compte doit être exclusivement utilisé pour des transactions liées à votre activité professionnelle. En outre, le numéro de compte bancaire doit figurer sur tous vos documents commerciaux, en premier lieu vos factures.

Obtenir sa carte professionnelle

L’étape suivante est d’obtenir votre carte professionnelle afin de devenir officiellement votre propre patron. Cette demande doit être introduite auprès d’un guichet d’entreprise. Si le SPF Économie approuve votre demande, vous recevrez une carte valable pour cinq ans. Le responsable du guichet d’entreprise vous aidera à vous inscrire dans une base de données nationale des activités professionnelles connue sous le nom de Banque Carrefour des Entreprises.

Si vous souhaitez lancer une activité commerciale, le guichet d’entreprise doit vérifier vos connaissances en gestion commerciale ainsi que vos compétences professionnelles. Tout diplôme belge de l’enseignement supérieur est valable et un diplôme ou une expérience acquise à l’étranger peut servir d’équivalent. Vous pouvez également justifier de votre expérience professionnelle à l’aide de contrats de travail. Dans certains cas, vous serez tenu de passer des examens reconnus par l’État ou de faire appel à un associé d’affaires qui peut prouver qu’il possède les compétences requises et qu’il prendra en charge la gestion quotidienne de l’entreprise. Si un guichet d’entreprise refuse votre demande, vous pouvez recommencer le processus à un autre guichet.

Une fois inscrit, vous recevez un numéro d’entreprise unique. Celui-ci est composé d’un 0 ou d’un 1 suivi de neuf autres chiffres. Vous aurez besoin de ce numéro dans toutes vos communications avec les autorités et devez le faire figurer sur vos documents, site internet ou vitrine. Si vous constituez une société dotée d’une personnalité juridique, vous devez déposer les documents requis au greffe du tribunal de commerce qui en publiera un résumé au Moniteur, Journal officiel belge.

Et maintenant ?

Vous créez votre entreprise ou vous vous lancez comme indépendant ?