starters

27 February 2017

How to file a loan application... And receive a “yes!”

Forget the idea that banks stop lending in times of crisis. More than 200 new businesses are set up every day in Belgium, and a considerable number of these receive support from banks in the form of loans. How can you make sure that doors open for you too?

Is it a good idea to take on debt?

Firstly you need to ask: is it a good idea to take on debt? Yes. Borrowing funds may have a positive leverage effect for the business, provided the loan costs less than the profit generated by the business. In other words, if the return on the business activity is higher than the cost of the loan, the more the business borrows, the greater the return on equity. However, if it is less than the cost of the loan, the opposite will be true: this is referred to as the scissor effect. Wanting to finance everything from your own funds is a bad idea. Hoping to finance everything with bank loans is unrealistic. It is all a question of balance.

A sound dossier to back your application

Many start-ups with sound plans may seek help from the bank. A word of advice before you set up your meeting: prepare a sound dossier. Obtaining a loan is partly a question of trust, and trust must be earned! You will not always meet those who will decide whether or not to grant the loan requested. Generally your branch manager or personal advisor may not decide on their own. Their job is rather to champion your project. Help them! Despite their support, your loan might still be refused by your bank's credit unit, but without them it certainly will be.

What your bank needs to know

Your bank will ask itself several key questions:

  • Is the customer known to the bank and trustworthy?
  • Does the loan application meet a valid need?
  • Does the dossier show real potential in both the short and long term?
  • Can the customer cover the loan charges?
  • Is the loan amount in line with the customer's financial situation and assets?
  • Does the bank have sufficient collateral?
  • Is the relationship with the customer likely to be profitable for both parties?

Before meeting with your bank, you can test the feasibility of your project using the Business Idea Calculator. This will give you an initial financial estimate and tell you whether your idea is worth developing.

Some tips for a good presentation

What should a good dossier contain? Volumes have been written on this topic. Here are a few tips from the world of business.

Firstly present yourself as a cautious manager rather than a bold salesman.

Take care over your presentation and over the documents you submit to the person you are talking to. First impressions are often right! Also take the time to explain your plan in detail. Prove to your bank that you know the business and the sector, and highlight your skills.

Furthermore, be pragmatic and present three different budgets, each in line with market realities: one optimistic, one pessimistic and one middle-of-the-road. Do not try to inflate your forecasts: it will not do you any favours.

Besides the financial elements, do not forget to point out the company's skills and advantages. The (high-end or loyal) client base, the (exclusive, etc.) range of products, the active network of distributors, the team of advisors, etc. are all factors which will increase the trust of the person you are talking to. It may also be a good idea to show the order book, underline positive developments in recent seasons, point out your good relationship with the bank and that you have honoured previous commitments.

Want to know more about how to present yourself and your project? Read our article about this subject.

Your loan amount: be realistic

When you estimate the amount to apply for, bear in mind that every business has a maximum level of debt. It depends on its equity, the business activity (profitability, etc.), the sector in question and the ability to repay. However, do not underestimate the amount of your loan application through fear of the loan being refused. Statistics show that refusals are not linked to the amounts requested.

While over-estimating your requirements is not an option, you should however bear in mind that:

  • An investment often costs more than planned
  • Revenues generally do not come in as quickly as you had hoped
  • A budget set aside for overlooked or unexpected costs may prove useful.

If you have failed to take such contingencies into account, you might soon be faced with a cash shortfall. Furthermore bear in mind that a negative forecast result is not necessarily catastrophic. Your bank will also look at other criteria, such as the cash flow (self-financing capacity) and the break-even point.

Equity and collateral

Do not forget about the equity and collateral you might be in a position to provide. Be prepared to answer direct and sometimes searching questions. For example, "Why are you going to succeed? And if it does not go as you expect, what guarantees can you give?" The collateral can be negotiated, depending on the soundness of your plan and its presentation. Do not overlook regional structures which can help you to provide the collateral needed. Too few entrepreneurs are aware of the existence of these institutions designed to help them.

3 TIPS TO REMEMBER
  • Prepare a strong and reliable dossier for the bank.
  • Consider several scenarios: optimistic, middle-of-the-road and pessimistic.
  • Be realistic and think about allowing a margin. You will need a minimum level of equity to successfully complete your project.
Consider timing

Timing is important. Make your application in good time. It may take several days or weeks to decide or to pay out the money if further information is requested.

However, you can be reassured on one point: a credit centre exists for loyal and trustworthy customers A loan can be granted over the phone in 48 hours. To that end, prepare the following documents:

As a self-employed individual

  • Most recent tax assessment in your possession. This document is sent to you by the FPS Finance after you have filed your tax return.
  • Your most recent operating account (related to the most recent tax assessment) including your income from self-employment, your turnover, your depreciation and details of any financial expenses.
  • Estimates and/or purchase orders already signed.
  • Any other document that you consider relevant in the context of your loan application (other income, other expenses, etc.).

As a manager/director of your company

  • The most recent balance sheet published.
  • Provisional figures for a minimum of six months of operation, including the following parts: Assets, Liabilities, and Profit and Loss Account.
Check the figures for your loan with a professional

To give yourself the very best chance, you are advised to arrange for an accountant to check and examine your loan application beforehand. Together with the bank, they will be able to offer you the best option. There are also several infrastructures for business owners which will offer advice and information. They will be able to look at the financial balance of your plan with you in advance, verify that you will be able to repay the amounts requested, etc. And don't forget that there are a range of solutions depending on your short-term, medium-term or long-term needs.

The 10 items you should include in your loan application
  • Summary page in diagram form showing the four key features: who, what, how and how much.
  • Your CV: experience, motivation, strengths.
  • Dynamic presentation of the concept/plan.
  • Launch AND development strategy, taking into account the market and competition.
  • Commercial approach: advertising, communication, public relations, etc.
  • Organisational aspects.
  • "Broader" budgets (optimistic, pessimistic and middle-of-the-road situation), indicating the forecast profitability, the optimum allocation of resources taking into account investments and other requirements as well as cash flow projections.
  • Envisaged legal structure (SPRL, SA, etc.).
  • Precise wording of the application.
  • References/useful contacts

Ensure that your dossier is clear, comprehensive and, above all, easy to read. Illustrate your plan with specific arguments backed up with figures. Take care over both content and form.

Need to fund your project?

New funding solutions are emerging, for example crowdfunding, business angels and private equity. Who are they aimed at and why use them? Find out more about these types of funding by watching our webinar.

Gérer au quotidien

02 juin 2017

Comment introduire une demande de crédit… et obtenir un "Oui !"

Oubliez l’idée que le banquier ne prête plus en période de crise. Chaque jour en Belgique, plus de 200 nouvelles entreprises sont créées. Et un nombre considérable d’entre elles bénéficient de l’appui des banques sous la forme de crédits. Comment obtenir ce précieux sésame ?

S’endetter, une bonne idée ?

Tout d’abord, la question doit être posée : est-ce une bonne idée de s’endetter ? Oui. Le recours à l’emprunt peut entraîner un effet de levier positif pour l’entreprise. À condition que le coût de l’emprunt soit inférieur à la rentabilité dégagée par l’entreprise. En d’autres termes, si la rentabilité de l’activité est supérieure au coût du crédit, plus l’entreprise emprunte, plus la rentabilité des capitaux propres augmente. En revanche, si elle est inférieure au coût du prêt, l’effet sera inverse : on parle d’effet de ciseau. Vouloir tout financer par ses fonds propres est une mauvaise idée. Espérer tout financer par des prêts bancaires est utopique. Tout est question d’équilibre.

Un dossier solide pour soutenir votre demande

Porteuses de projets solides, nombre de starters pourront solliciter l’intervention du banquier. Un mot d’ordre avant d’organiser votre entretien : préparez un dossier bien ficelé. Obtenir un crédit est en effet aussi une question de confiance. Et la confiance, ça se mérite ! Vous ne rencontrerez pas toujours ceux qui décideront de vous octroyer ou non le prêt sollicité. Votre responsable d’agence ou votre conseiller personnel ne peut généralement pas décider seul. Il a plutôt pour mission de défendre votre projet. Aidez-le ! Malgré son soutien, votre crédit pourrait toujours être refusé par la cellule de crédit de votre banque. Mais sans lui, il le sera certainement.

Ce que votre banquier voudra savoir

Votre banquier se posera quelques questions essentielles :

  • Le client est-il connu de la banque et digne de confiance ?
  • La demande de crédit répond-elle à un besoin justifié ?
  • Le dossier révèle-t-il un vrai potentiel à court et long termes ?
  • Le client peut-il supporter les charges du crédit ?
  • Le montant du crédit est-il en ligne avec la situation financière et patrimoniale du client ?
  • La banque dispose-t-elle de suffisamment de garanties ?
  • La relation avec le client est-elle susceptible de dégager une rentabilité pour les deux parties ?

Avant de rencontrer votre banquier, vous pouvez déjà tester la faisabilité de votre projet grâce au Business Idea Calculator. Celui-ci vous donnera une première estimation financière et vous indiquera si votre idée mérite d’être développée.

Quelques conseils pour une bonne présentation

Mais que contiendra un bon dossier ? La littérature est abondante sur le sujet. Relevons donc quelques conseils issus de la pratique entrepreneuriale.

Tout d’abord, présentez-vous en tant que gestionnaire prudent plutôt que commercial audacieux. Soignez votre présentation ainsi que celle des documents que vous remettrez à votre interlocuteur. La première impression est souvent la bonne ! Prenez aussi le temps d’expliquer votre projet dans le détail. Prouvez à votre banquier que vous connaissez le métier, le secteur et soulignez vos compétences.

Par ailleurs, soyez pragmatique et présentez-lui trois budgets différents, tous en ligne avec les réalités du marché : un optimiste, un pessimiste et un intermédiaire. N’essayez pas de gonfler vos prévisions : cela ne vous rendra pas service.

Outre les éléments financiers, n’oubliez pas de rappeler les compétences et les atouts de l’entreprise. La clientèle (haut de gamme ou fidèle), la gamme de produits (exclusive…), le réseau actif de distributeurs, l’équipe de conseillers… sont autant d’éléments qui favoriseront la confiance de votre interlocuteur. Il peut aussi être opportun de faire part du carnet de commandes, de souligner une évolution positive des dernières saisons, de rappeler les bonnes relations passées avec la banque et le respect d’engagements antérieurs.

Envie d’en savoir plus sur la façon de vous présenter et de présenter votre projet ?

Lisez notre article dédié à ce sujet.

Montant de votre crédit : restez réaliste

Lorsque vous estimez le montant de votre demande, rappelez-vous que toute entreprise a un seuil maximum d’endettement. Il dépend de ses fonds propres, de l’activité (rentabilité…), du secteur concerné et de la capacité de remboursement. Toutefois, ne sous-estimez pas l’ampleur de votre demande de crédit par crainte de vous voir refuser le prêt. Les statistiques le démontrent : les refus ne sont pas liés aux montants sollicités.

Si surestimer vos besoins n’est pas une alternative, vous devez cependant garder à l’esprit que :

  • un investissement coûte souvent plus cher que prévu ;
  • les recettes rentrent généralement moins vite qu’espéré ;
  • une enveloppe de réserve pour les coûts oubliés ou imprévus peut s’avérer utile.

Faute d’avoir tenu compte de ces impondérables, vous pourriez être confronté à un manque de trésorerie à brève échéance. Rappelez-vous par ailleurs qu’un résultat prévisionnel négatif n’est pas nécessairement catastrophique. Votre banquier analysera aussi d’autres critères : le « cash-flow » (la capacité d’autofinancement) et le seuil de rentabilité par exemple.

Fonds propres et garanties

N’oubliez pas la question des fonds propres et des garanties que vous seriez en mesure d’apporter. Soyez préparé à répondre à des questions directes et parfois déstabilisantes. Un exemple ? "Pourquoi allez-vous réussir ? Et si cela ne devait pas se passer comme prévu, quelles garanties pourriez-vous donner ?" Les garanties pourront être négociées, selon la solidité de votre projet et de sa présentation. Ne passez pas à côté des structures régionales qui peuvent vous aider à apporter les garanties nécessaires. Trop peu d’entrepreneurs sont informés de l’existence de ces institutions qui ne visent qu’à les aider.

3 conseils à retenir
  • Préparez un dossier solide et digne de confiance pour la banque.
  • Envisagez plusieurs scénarios : optimiste, intermédiaire, pessimiste.
  • Restez réaliste et pensez à prévoir une marge. Vous aurez besoin d’un minimum de fonds propres pour mener à bien votre projet.
Pensez au timing

Le timing est important. Faites votre demande bien à temps. Les délais de décision ou de liquidation des montants peuvent prendre plusieurs jours ou semaines si des compléments d’information sont sollicités.

Cependant, soyez rassuré sur un point : pour les clients fidèles et sérieux, un centre de crédit existe. Vous pouvez obtenir un crédit par téléphone dans les 48 heures. Pour ce faire, préparez les documents suivants :

En tant qu’indépendant personne physique

  • Dernier Avertissement Extrait de Rôle en votre possession. Ce document vous est envoyé par le SPF Finances suite à votre déclaration d’impôts.
  • Votre dernier compte d’exploitation (relié au dernier Avertissement Extrait de Rôle) reprenant votre résultat en tant qu’indépendant, votre chiffre d’affaires, vos amortissements, le détail de vos éventuelles charges financières.
  • Les devis et/ou bons de commande déjà signés.
  • Tout autre document que vous trouvez pertinent dans le cadre de votre demande de crédit (autres revenus, autres charges…).

En tant que gérant, Administrateur de votre société

  • Le dernier bilan publié.
  • Les chiffres provisoires avec un minimum de 6 mois d’exercice, reprenant les parties Actif, Passif et Compte de résultats.
Vérifiez les chiffres de votre prêt avec un professionnel

Afin de mettre toutes les chances de votre côté, il est conseillé de faire vérifier et analyser au préalable votre demande de crédit par un professionnel comptable. Il pourra avec le banquier vous proposer la meilleure formule. Il existe aussi plusieurs infrastructures d’accueil destinées aux chefs d’entreprise, qui vous apportent conseils et informations. Elles pourront, avec vous, pré-étudier le bon équilibre financier de votre projet, s’assurer que vous pourrez rembourser les montants demandés… Et n’oubliez pas que les solutions sont multiples, tant pour vos besoins à court, moyen ou long terme.

Les 10 éléments à inclure dans votre dossier de crédit
  1. Page de synthèse sous forme de schéma reprenant les quatre atouts-clés : qui, quoi, comment, combien.

  2. Votre curriculum vitae : expérience, motivations, forces.

  3. Présentation dynamique du concept/projet.

  4. Stratégie de lancement ET de développement compte tenu du marché et de la concurrence.

  5. Approche commerciale : publicité, communication, relations publiques…

  6. Aspects organisationnels.

  7. Budgets "élargis" (situation optimiste, pessimiste et intermédiaire) indiquant la rentabilité projetée, l’allocation optimale des ressources compte tenu des investissements et autres besoins ainsi que les projections de trésorerie.

  8. Structure juridique visée (SPRL, SA…).

  9. Formulation précise de la demande.

  10. Références/contacts utiles.

Veillez à ce que votre dossier soit clair, complet et surtout… facile à lire. Illustrez votre projet par des arguments concrets et chiffrés. Soignez donc autant le contenu que la forme.

Besoin de financer votre projet ?