Starters

31 March 2016

What will the CEO of the future look like?

Have economic and technological upheavals changed the role of the CEO or the qualities this job demands? Several studies offer mixed responses to this question. But most seem to agree that strategic vision, the capacity to develop new business models and the willingness to diversify will be important traits.

A strategic vision

Of the most recent studies to appear, the de Global CEO Survey by consultancy firm PwC involving 1,302 CEOs in 77 countries appears to restate the obvious. According to this study, the main quality expected of a CEO is in fact the ability to have a strategic vision of their company.

More of the same?

It would be tempting to conclude from this that nothing has changed. However, the study reveals the many concerns facing CEOs in terms of strategy. In fact, 78% of them were concerned about an increasingly restrictive legal and regulatory environment and 72% mentioned geopolitical uncertainty as acting like a brake.

Rethinking the business model?

Many CEOs also underline the increase in competition and the speed of technological change. But many of them too are thinking about diversifying: in fact, again according to the PwC study, 54% of CEOs have invested in a new sector or plan to do so.

A study on this topic conducted by consultants McKinsey & Co. in July 2015 also shows that 60% of CEOs consider that extending their activities outside of their core business will in fact serve to strengthen that business.

Reinventing the business model?

Another McKinsey & Co. study also stresses the need for companies to reinvent their business model and offers them a way of achieving this. An affirmation that echoes the results of the PwC survey, which also indicates the importance today of constantly rethinking the business model. Indeed, one of the CEOs interviewed states that nowadays it is no longer possible to consider that “the future is simply an extension of what the company has done in the past”.

Technological vision and continuous self-critique

Tomorrow’s strategic thinking will therefore rely on two key pillars: an ongoing ability to question the company’s business model and an awareness of how new technologies enable the emergence of new competitors capable of completely changing the rules of the game in terms of their market.



Source: www.ing.be/business

Starters

8 février 2017

À quoi ressemblera le CEO de demain ?

Les bouleversements économiques et technologiques ont-ils changé le rôle du CEO ou les qualités exigées pour cette fonction ? Plusieurs études proposent une réponse contrastée à cette question, entre importance de la vision stratégique, réinvention du business model ou volonté de diversification.

Une vision stratégique

Parmi les études les plus récentes, la Global CEO Survey du consultant PwC menée auprès de 1.302 CEOs dans 77 pays semble réaffirmer l’évidence. Selon cette étude, la qualité principale attendue du CEO est en effet la capacité d’avoir une vision stratégique de son entreprise.

Nouvelles préoccupations

Il serait tentant d’en déduire que rien ne change. L’étude révèle cependant les nombreuses préoccupations des CEO en matière de stratégie. Ainsi, 78 % d’entre eux s’inquiètent d’un environnement légal et réglementaire de plus en plus contraignant, et 72 % citent les incertitudes géopolitiques comme un frein.

Se diversifier ?

Beaucoup de CEO insistent aussi sur l’augmentation de la compétition et la rapidité des changements technologiques. Mais beaucoup pensent aussi à se diversifier : ainsi, toujours selon l’étude de PwC, 54 % des CEO ont investi dans un nouveau secteur ou envisagé de le faire.

Une étude menée par le consultant Mc Kinsey sur ce thème en juillet dernier indique d’ailleurs que 60 % des CEO considèrent qu’étendre leurs activités au-delà de leur core business servira en réalité à renforcer celui-ci.

Repenser le business model ?
"Il est crucial aujourd’hui de repenser en permanence le business model"

Une autre étude de Mc Kinsey insiste d’ailleurs sur la nécessité pour les entreprises de réinventer leur business model, et leur propose une méthode pour y parvenir. Une affirmation qui fait écho aux résultats de l’enquête de PwC, qui indique, elle aussi, qu’il est crucial aujourd’hui de repenser en permanence le business model. Un des CEO interviewés indique ainsi qu’il n’est plus possible désormais de considérer que "l’avenir n’est plus aujourd’hui une simple extension de ce que l’entreprise faisait par le passé".

Vision technologique et remise en question permanente

La pensée stratégique de demain s’appuierait donc sur deux piliers essentiels: la capacité à remettre en question de manière permanente le business model de l’entreprise, et la conscience de la capacité qu’ont les nouvelles technologies de permettre l’émergence de nouveaux concurrents, capables de changer complètement les règles du jeu sur leur marché.

Et maintenant ?

Trouvez de l’inspiration en lisant les témoignages d’entrepreneurs et découvrez les conseils de nos experts sur ing.be/mon-entreprise.