Growth

2 March 2017

5 tips to optimise the growth of your business


To grow or not to grow? The question all entrepreneurs ask themselves sooner or later. Are you ready to take the step? Acquiring new markets, attracting more customers, diversifying your products or services, recruiting more staff... You dream of seeing your business expand. Yet an expansion stage requires at least as much consideration as setting up your business. Even if growth is generally perceived as a “positive” step, the decision to grow is not without risk. It assumes a thorough analysis of your company, your field of business as well as the general environment. An analysis which will offer you the tools to grow well...

The growth paradox

The bigger, the more complex. And the more complex, the more malfunctions! This is likely to happen within your expanding business. And the subsequent problems can be substantial, to the extent that they might jeopardise your growth.

This is what Chris Zook, a strategic consultant with Bain & Company, called the “growth paradox"’ in an article published on the website of Harvard Business Review.

His survey shows that 88% of executives polled consider that the greatest obstacles to growth are internal. And a forewarned manager is fore-armed: if you want to grow, introspection is in your best interest. Focus, notably, on the following issues.

1. Monitor your response speed and your business’s flexibility

Size necessarily impacts negatively on your ability to respond. You must take this reality into account when growing, at the risk of losing competitiveness and market efficiency.

Better internal organisation can be the solution Fewer, but more productive, meetings, as suggested for instance by Chris Zook. Plan fixed meetings with precise aims: Monday mornings to take strategic decisions, Tuesdays for follow-up and removing obstacles, etc.

2. Continue to value staff performance

With a start-up everything is easy: you perform, you evolve. Meritocracy! As you grow, everything becomes more formal, less transparent. The risk is that your staff will become less motivated. Make sure you keep clear objectives, use simple communication and - especially - maintain performance as the core of your system of values.

3. Manage time, as well as your money

A non-productive meeting? That means time which is not allocated to managing your customers. Logically, in a big organisation, everything tends to slow down. It is all a matter of priorities. As Chris Zook suggests, enquire about the time allocated to your biggest customers, to your top staff or even to working on your main challenges. Then focus on those elements.

4. Simplify decision-making
“Excessive bureaucracy can be fatal.”

Growth also complicates decision-making, increasing the number of decision-makers. Excessive bureaucracy which can be fatal. Map and archive the various types of choice within your company. The opportunity to improve your vision of priority decisions, to better structure decision-making processes and to redefine the role of certain jobs.

5. Ensure sufficient and quality communication

Sometimes major businesses can be confronted with an information mismatch. Too much or not enough? Good or bad? When the gap between strategic and operational levels widens, the balance is not always easy to find. A word of advice: Keep in contact with your teams and your core business!

What now?

Are you considering growing your business? Find inspiration by reading the testimonies of business people and discover the advice of our experts at ing.be/my-business or by following our publications on LinkedIn.

Grandir

2 Mars 2017

5 conseils pour optimiser la croissance de son entreprise


Croître ou ne pas croître ? Tout entrepreneur se pose tôt ou tard cette question. Êtes-vous prêt à franchir ce cap ? Acquérir de nouveaux marchés, attirer plus de clients, diversifier vos produits ou services, engager davantage de personnel... Vous rêvez certainement de voir votre entreprise se développer. Mais une phase d’expansion exige au moins autant de réflexion que le démarrage de votre activité. Car, si la croissance est communément perçue comme une étape "positive", la décision de croître n’est pas sans risques. Elle suppose une analyse approfondie de votre société, de votre domaine d’affaires ainsi que du contexte général. Un examen qui vous offrira les outils pour bien grandir…

Le paradoxe de la croissance

Qui dit plus grand, dit plus complexe. Et qui dit plus complexe, dit plus de dysfonctionnements ! C’est ce qui risque de se passer au sein de votre entreprise en expansion. Et les problèmes générés peuvent s’avérer conséquents, au point de remettre en question votre croissance.

C’est ce que Chris Zook, consultant en stratégie chez Bain & Company, appelle le "paradoxe de la croissance", dans un article publié sur le site Internet de la Harvard Business Review.

Son enquête révèle que 88 % des cadres interrogés considèrent que les obstacles les plus importants à la croissance se trouvent au sein même de l’entreprise. Et comme un dirigeant averti en vaut deux : si vous voulez croître, vous avez tout intérêt à faire un travail d’introspection. Concentrez-vous, notamment, sur les points suivants.

1. Surveillez votre vitesse de réaction et la souplesse de votre entreprise

La taille a forcément un impact négatif sur votre capacité à réagir. Une réalité dont vous devez tenir compte lors de votre croissance, au risque de perdre en compétitivité et en efficacité sur les marchés.

La solution peut passer par une meilleure organisation interne. Moins de réunions, mais plus productives, comme le propose par exemple Chris Zook. Prévoyez des réunions fixes avec des objectifs précis : le lundi matin pour prendre des décisions stratégiques, le mardi pour faire le suivi et lever les blocages, etc.

2. Continuez à valoriser les performances de vos collaborateurs

Au sein d’une start-up, tout est plus simple : vous performez, vous évoluez. La méritocratie donc ! En grandissant, tout devient plus formalisé, moins transparent. Le risque est de voir vos troupes perdre en motivation. Veillez à maintenir des objectifs clairs, misez sur une communication simple et, surtout, conservez la performance au centre de votre système de valeurs.

3. Gérez le temps, aussi bien que votre argent

Une réunion improductive ? C’est du temps qui n’est pas alloué à la gestion de vos clients. Logiquement, dans une grande organisation, tout a tendance à devenir plus lent. Mais tout est une question de priorités. Comme le suggère Chris Zook, interrogez-vous sur le temps accordé à vos plus gros clients, à vos meilleurs employés ou encore à travailler sur vos principaux défis. Ensuite, gardez le cap sur ces éléments.

4. Simplifiez la prise de décision
"Un excès de bureaucratie peut être fatal."

La croissance induit aussi une complexité décisionnelle, en ajoutant un nombre plus important de responsables. Un excès de bureaucratie qui peut être fatal. Cartographiez et hiérarchisez les différents types de choix au sein de votre société. L’occasion d’améliorer votre vision des décisions prioritaires, de mieux structurer les parcours décisionnels et de redéfinir le rôle de certaines positions.

5. Veillez à maintenir une communication suffisante et de qualité

Il n’est pas rare que les grandes entreprises soient confrontées à une distorsion de l’information. Trop ou pas assez ? Bonne ou mauvaise ? Lorsque l’écart se creuse entre les niveaux stratégiques et opérationnels, l’équilibre n’est pas toujours facile à trouver. Un conseil : restez au contact de vos équipes et de votre core business !