Innovation

14 February 2019

Autonomous transport

Challenges in safety and regulations

It will take some time before we will be able to read the paper in the back seat of our self-driving car, but autonomous transport is not a futuristic topic anymore in logistics. 


The technology exists already. In 2020 Norwegian shipbuilding company VARD will release Yara Birkeland, the first fully electric and autonomous ship. Rolls Royce too jumps on the autonomous bandwagon, with plans for an unmanned naval vessel and a research facility in Finland.

Also in Belgium there is innovation. The Vlaamse Waterweg has recognised the entire cruising area as an innovation zone and a legal framework has been created that allows practical tests. That way, boats with remote control are not just toys for kids anymore, but a reality in the Port of Antwerp. The Belgian company Seafar developed in cooperation with the Port Authority the ship ‘Tuimelaar, a barge that can be controlled remotely.

In addition, the Port now also uses a fully autonomous level boat, the Echodrone. "The Port especially wants to play its role as facilitator and innovation platform," says Piet Opstaele, Innovation Lead at the Port of Antwerp. "This summer, for example, there will be extra infrastructure for autonomous mooring, loading and unloading.”      

"The Port especially wants to play its role as facilitator and innovation platform"
Safe co-pilot

Also on the road vehicles no longer need drivers of flesh and blood. Service providers like Amazon and Uber have been experimenting with self-driving cars for some time now, with mixed results.

The Belgian start-up Ivex has made from safe autonomous cars its business model. The company developed a co-pilot for self-driving vehicles, software that guarantees that an autonomous car chooses the safest option in every scenario.

“Ivex has the intention to deploy the software commercially by 2021,” says Quentin de Clercq, COO of Ivex. “But our technology is currently already used for commercial AGVs (Automated Guided Vehicles) and autonomous lawn movers.” Ivex is currently working on a 120-ton AGV for VDL to transport containers autonomously in restricted areas.

Ivex uses Artificial Intelligence and human driving behavior data to generate its safe co-pilot. At runtime the copilot constantly checks the planned trajectory and advises the algorithms of the AD-system (Automated Driving) in order to safely make a decision.

Legal framework

The tech industry for autonomous transport might be growing quickly, the legal framework is still in its infancy. “One of the hard challenges in the development of autonomous cars is validating,” says de Clercq. “Without a legal framework, developers of self-driving cars do not know technically how to validate their system so that the cars do not crash.”

According to Belgian law a human driver should be in charge of every vehicle. It is not mandatory for the driver to actually be present in the car, but a fully autonomous car is strictly speaking prohibited on the public road.

For Marc Van den Broeck, CEO of Trafuco, this law is the reason why autonomous vehicles do not provide added value for a transport company. "In terms of cost efficiency, autonomous trucks are not the solution for the time being. If you have to invest in a truck with self-driving technology, on top of the labour costs of a driver, where is the added value?" says Van den Broeck.

“In the long run, this law should be changed if Belgium wants to be ready for new technologies and business opportunities,” according to de Clercq. There is however already a legal framework for AGVs that for example transport containers autonomously within a limited zone, as well as for autonomous shuttles that follow a fixed, GPS guided route.

On the maritime front, there are also gaps in the legislation. There is not yet a legal framework for autonomous ships. For example, what about the so-called shore-based vessel controller, the person who controls the autonomous ships from land? Besides the legal, there are also psychological issues. Will people be okay with immense cargo ships entering the port, without a captain on board?

"If you have to invest in a truck with self-driving technology, on top of the labour costs of a driver, where is the added value?"
5G is redundant

There are also other problems in Belgium. The roll-out of the 5G network has been postponed and this may have implications for technological developments in the logistics sector. However, according to the Clercq, there is no problem for Ivex and autonomous cars.

"Autonomous vehicles are designed to collect information independently of the network or other communication systems," says de Clercq. This is done via three sensors: radar, camera and lidar, a radar system that works on laser light. "The driving itself is possible without communication with the operator. Communication is required if you want to pass on decisions concerning route determination, but that is such light information that 5G is redundant".

"Autonomous vehicles are designed to collect information independently of the network or other communication systems"
  • Belgium is not behind when it comes to innovation 

  • Legal framework needs change and expansion

  • 5G is not necessary for the operation of autonomous vehicles

Innovation

14 février 2019

Le transport autonome

Défis en matière de sécurité et de législation

Lire le journal sur le siège arrière de notre voiture autonome ? Ce n’est pas pour tout de suite. Mais dans le secteur de la logistique, le transport autonome est déjà une (quasi-)réalité.


« Le Port veut surtout jouer son rôle de facilitateur et de plateforme d'innovation »

La technologie existe, ou presque. Le constructeur naval norvégien VARD lancera le Yara Birkeland, le premier porte-conteneurs entièrement autonome et électrique, en 2020. Rolls Royce est aussi dans la course, avec son projet de navire sans pilote et son centre de recherche en Finlande.

En Belgique aussi, l'innovation fait son chemin. Le Vlaamse Waterweg, par exemple, a reconnu l'ensemble de la zone de navigation comme une zone d'innovation et un cadre juridique a été créé pour permettre des essais pratiques. Ainsi, les bateaux télécommandés ne sont plus seulement des jouets pour enfants, ils sont également une réalité dans le port d'Anvers. La société belge Seafar a développé, en collaboration avec l'Autorité portuaire, le 'Tuimelaar' : un bateau de navigation intérieure qui peut être exploité à distance.

De plus, le port utilise désormais un bateau de niveau entièrement autonome, l'Echodrone. « Le Port veut surtout jouer son rôle de facilitateur et de plateforme d'innovation » déclare Piet Opstaele, Innovation Lead au Port d'Anvers. « Cet été, par exemple, on disposera d’infrastructures supplémentaires pour l'amarrage, le chargement et le déchargement autonomes. »

Copilote de sécurité

Sur la route aussi, les véhicules n'ont plus besoin de conducteurs en chair et en os. Les plates-formes de service comme Amazon et Uber sont tout aussi occupées par les véhicules autonomes, avec un succès variable.

La start-up belge Ivex a fait des voitures autonomes sûres son modèle commercial. L'entreprise a développé un copilote pour des véhicules autonomes, un logiciel qui garantit qu'un véhicule autonome fait le choix sûr dans tous les scénarios. « Le déploiement commercial de notre logiciel est prévu pour 2021, » déclare Quentin de Clercq, COO d'Ivex. « Mais notre technologie est déjà utilisée dans les AGV (Automated Guided Vehicles, ed.) et les tondeuses à gazon autonomes. » En ce moment, Ivex travaille pour la société VDL à un AGV de 120 tonnes pour le transport autonome de containers dans des zones d’accès restreint.

Ivex utilise l'intelligence artificielle et les données du comportement de conduite humain pour générer les décisions de sécurité. Pendant la conduite, le copilote vérifie constamment l'itinéraire prévu et conseille les algorithmes du système AD (Automated Driving) pour prendre une décision sûre.

Législation
"Devoir investir à la fois dans un camion à technologie autonome et dans la main-d'œuvre d'un chauffeur, n’est pas intéressant"

L'industrie technologique des transports autonomes connaît une croissance rapide, mais le cadre juridique n'en est lui qu'à ses débuts. « L'un des défis pour le développement de voitures autonomes est la validation » explique de Clercq. « Sans cadre juridique, les concepteurs de voitures autonomes ne savent pas comment valider techniquement leurs systèmes en matière de sécurité. »

La législation belge exige qu'un conducteur humain ait le contrôle final d'un véhicule. Il n'est donc pas obligatoire que le conducteur se trouve effectivement à bord, mais techniquement une voiture totalement autonome sur la voie publique est interdite.

Pour Marc Van den Broeck, CEO de Trafuco, cette loi est la raison pour laquelle les véhicules autonomes n'apportent pas de valeur ajoutée à une entreprise de transport. « En termes de rentabilité, les camions autonomes ne sont pas la solution pour l'instant. Devoir investir à la fois dans un camion à technologie autonome et dans la main-d'œuvre d'un chauffeur, n’est pas intéressant » explique Van den Broeck.

« À long terme, il est nécessaire d'amender cette loi si la Belgique veut être prête pour les nouvelles technologies et les opportunités commerciales » déclare de Clercq. Cependant, il existe déjà un cadre juridique pour les AGV qui, par exemple, transportent des conteneurs de manière autonome dans une zone limitée, ainsi que pour les navettes autonomes qui suivent un itinéraire fixe, guidé par GPS.

Sur le front maritime, il y a également des lacunes dans la législation. Il n'existe aucun cadre juridique pour les navires autonomes. Par exemple, qu'en est-il du soi-disant shore-based vessel controller, la personne qui contrôle les navires autonomes depuis la terre ? Outre les questions juridiques, il y a aussi les questions psychologiques. Peut-on vraiment envisager que d'immenses cargos entrent dans le port, sans capitaine à leur bord ?

5G est redondante
« Les véhicules autonomes sont conçus pour collecter des informations indépendamment du réseau ou d'autres systèmes de communication »

Le déploiement du réseau 5G ayant été reporté en Belgique, ceci pourrait avoir des répercussions sur l'évolution technologique dans le secteur logistique. Cependant, selon de Clercq, il n'y a pas de problème pour Ivex et pour les voitures autonomes.

« Les véhicules autonomes sont conçus pour collecter des informations indépendamment du réseau ou d'autres systèmes de communication » explique de Clercq. Cela se fait par l'intermédiaire de trois capteurs : radar, caméra et lidar, un système radar qui fonctionne avec la lumière laser. « Pour la conduite elle-même, aucune communication avec l'opérateur n’est nécessaire. Pour la transmission des décisions concernant l'itinéraire, la communication est nécessaire, mais les faibles volumes d’information rendent la 5G redondante. »

  • La Belgique n'est pas en retard en matière d'innovation 

  • Le cadre juridique doit être modifié et élargi

  • 5G n'est pas nécessaire pour l'exploitation de véhicules autonomes