Innovation

5 July 2018

Antwerp expands its chemical cluster

The success of Antwerp’s chemical cluster can be attributed to its port and the logistical role of Belgium as a gateway to Europe. Digitisation is one development that could help to pave the way for the cluster’s further expansion.

Antwerp is the world’s second-largest chemical cluster after Houston. What’s more, the range of chemical and petrochemical products found in the port of Antwerp can be described as unique in the world. The chemical companies in Antwerp deal in both general and highly specialised applications. “The port’s great advantage is its location”, says Jan Desmaretz, Senior Manager of Strategic Investment Decisions at PwC. “It’s a seaport with the benefits of an inland port, with a central location in Europe and a workforce that’s strong not only in number but also in terms of the level of education and the degree of specialisation.”

Productivity remains strong
"The other two challenges for the port are energy transition and digitisation"

Antwerp has grown to become a global gateway for the chemical and petrochemical industry. The infrastructure of the port is geared to this, with not only a link to inland waterways, roads and railways, but also an extensive network of pipelines. Every five years, the VUB conducts research into the competitive strength of the port. “We can observe that the productivity of the port workers is holding steady but not increasing,” says Professor Elvira Haezendonck of the VUB. “Today that productivity remains strong. But will that be enough for Antwerp to maintain its position even when we take into account the high labour costs?”

Over the past fifteen years, the port authority has invested in improving maritime access. In addition, the port holds another important key to the success of the chemical sector: the existing infrastructure for transport and logistics. “Antwerp is the only port that can carry out the majority of its activities with added value on site,” says Elvira Haezendonck. “It has all the requisite infrastructure and a labour force with the right profiles.” The professor does emphasise the importance of further expanding the chemical cluster in Antwerp, however. “Then the port can reduce the pressure on mobility. The other two challenges for the port are energy transition and digitisation.”

Strategic location

The American company Chevron Phillips Chemical established locations in our country in the sixties. Antwerp serves as the main logistics hub for its production sites in Tessenderlo and Beringen. “We are working in a highly competitive market”, says Koen Van Doren, Supply Chain Compliance & Projects Manager at Chevron Phillips Chemical. “The choice of location is thus crucial.” The proximity of the port of Antwerp offers Chevron Phillips Chemical the leverage it needs. “Antwerp is an inland port. That makes all the difference.” Chevron Phillips Chemical supplies raw materials via Antwerp – half of the production volume in Belgium gets to clients via the port. “Today we’re looking at how we can receive certain flows from the US or the Middle East in Antwerp, to then serve clients in North and West Africa from here.”

For Dow Chemical, Antwerp is the most important port in Europe. Although its production activities are based mainly in Terneuzen, all its logistic flows pass through Antwerp. “A large proportion of our customers are located within a five hundred kilometers radius of Antwerp,” says Annick Meerschman, Logistics Director at The Dow Chemical Company. “We are making optimum use of the available network of roads, railways and pipelines Antwerp has to offer.”

Both Chevron Phillips Chemical and Dow Chemical regularly re-evaluate the choice of Antwerp. “Antwerp remains the best option for the time being,” says Koen Van Doren. “It’s a combination of factors: the people, the infrastructure and the operational excellence of the services offered. The chemical cluster really provides a strong competitive advantage here.”

New opportunities
"Optimisation remains the general objective: to organise the process of a product as efficiently as possible"

Digitisation – with implications for the Internet of Things, among other applications – stands to bring chemical companies and logistics service providers closer together. It is a development that brings with it new opportunities. “The story doesn’t end at the port's perimeter”, says Xavier Vanrolleghem, Commercial Manager for the Antwerp Chemical Cluster at Havenbedrijf Antwerpen. “We like to focus on the bigger picture and we want to invest in it from that point of view.” Last year, for example, the port acquired the pipeline company NMP. “The majority of that network is located outside the port,” says Xavier Vanrolleghem.

Collaboration in the supply chain relies primarily on the exchange of data. Which is why the port participates in the NxtPort data platform. Xavier Vanrolleghem: “It is an open infrastructure where all stakeholders come together to make data available and to make use of it. The data platform is intended to boost innovation.” At the same time, the platform should not be limited to Antwerp. The port sees NxtPort as just one element within a larger network of connected platforms. Annick Meerschman: “There is still a long way to go in the chemical sector when it comes to digitisation. Optimisation remains the general objective: to organise the process of a product as efficiently as possible. Digital technology makes it possible to monitor this process effectively. “But of course, not every company has to create its own platform,” Meerschman adds. “A common platform on which companies work together is much more advantageous.”

Future success

“Antwerp’s chemical cluster will continue to grow”, says Elvira Haezendonck, “even as the energy transition and the circular economy continue to develop. Everyone is confident that the Antwerp-Rotterdam-Ruhr triangle will last.’ To ensure this, companies must take matters into their own hands, for example by sharing data through initiatives such as NxtPort. The development of a pipeline network – as a fully-fledged fourth mode – will also be essential for the future success of the cluster. “Belgium and Antwerp offer strong advantages for the chemical sector”, concludes Marcel Claes, Chief Executive of the American Chamber of Commerce in Belgium. “But we can’t afford to rest on our laurels. We have to maintain our competitive edge and continue to expand.”

 

This debate was held as part of AmCham’s ‘Year of Logistics’ programme, with support from partner ING.

More info on logistics?

Innovation

5 juillet 2018

Anvers poursuit le développement de son pôle chimique

Le succès du pôle chimique anversois s’appuie sur le port et le rôle logistique de la Belgique en tant que porte d’accès à l’Europe. La digitalisation est un élément qui peut renforcer le développement ultérieur du pôle.

Anvers est le plus grand centre industriel chimique au monde, après Houston. Mieux encore : on peut qualifier l'éventail de produits chimiques et pétrochimiques que l’on trouve dans le port d’Anvers d’unique au monde. Les entreprises chimiques à Anvers s’orientent tant vers des applications générales que vers des applications très spécialisées. “Sa situation explique le grand atout du port”, explique Jan Desmaretz, Senior Manager Strategic Investment Decisions chez PwC. “Il s’agit d’un port maritime ayant les avantages d’un port intérieur, situé en plein cœur de l’Europe et à la main-d’œuvre solide, non seulement en nombre, mais également en termes de formation et de spécialisation.”

La productivité se maintient
"La transition énergétique et la numérisation sont les deux autres défis pour le port"

Anvers est devenue une porte d’accès mondiale pour l’industrie chimique et pétrochimique. L’infrastructure du port est adaptée en conséquence : elle est dotée, d’une part, d’une connexion aux voies navigables intérieures, aux réseaux routier et ferroviaire, et, d’autre part, d’un vaste réseau de pipelines. Tous les cinq ans, la VUB mène une enquête sur la compétitivité du port. “Nous constatons que la productivité des ouvriers portuaires se maintient, sans toutefois augmenter”, explique le professeur Elvira Haezendonck de la VUB. “Aujourd’hui, cette productivité est encore et toujours solide. Mais cela suffira-t-il pour préserver la position d’Anvers, même lorsque l’on tient compte des coûts élevés du travail ?”

Au cours des quinze dernières années, l’entreprise portuaire a investi dans l’amélioration de l’accès maritime. En outre, le port constitue un autre atout de taille pour l’industrie chimique : l’infrastructure présente pour le transport et la logistique. “Anvers est le seul port qui peut assurer la plupart des activités à valeur ajoutée sur place”, précise Elvira Haezendonck. “L’infrastructure comme les bons profils sont en l’occurrence disponibles.” Le professeur souligne toutefois qu’il est important d’élargir davantage le pôle chimique d’Anvers. “Le port peut alors alléger la pression sur la mobilité. La transition énergétique et la numérisation sont les deux autres défis pour le port.”

Situation stratégique

L'entreprise américaine Chevron Phillips Chemical s’est installée dans notre pays dans les années soixante. Pour les sites de production de Tessenderlo et de Beringen, Anvers fait office de principal hub logistique. “Nous travaillons dans un marché hautement concurrentiel”, explique Koen Van Doren, Supply Chain Compliance & Projects Manager. “Le choix de notre implantation est dès lors extrêmement important.” La proximité du port d'Anvers constitue un levier pour Chevron Phillips Chemical. “Anvers est un port maritime intérieur. Voilà toute la différence.” L’entreprise achemine des matières premières via Anvers. La moitié du volume de production belge passe par le port à destination des clients. “Aujourd’hui, nous examinons la façon dont nous pouvons recevoir certains flux provenant des États-Unis ou du Moyen-Orient à Anvers pour ensuite desservir des clients situés en Afrique du Nord et en Afrique de l’Ouest.”

Pour Dow Chemical, Anvers est le principal port d’Europe. La production peut dès lors être essentiellement établie à Terneuzen, l’ensemble des flux logistiques se déroulant à Anvers. “La majorité de nos clients sont implantés dans un rayon de 500 kilomètres autour d’Anvers”, précise Annick Meerschman, Logistics Director. “Depuis Anvers, nous utilisons de façon optimale le réseau de routes, de chemin de fer et de pipelines disponible.”

Tant Chevron Phillips Chemical que Dow Chemical reconsidèrent régulièrement leur choix pour Anvers. “Jusqu’à nouvel ordre, Anvers reste la meilleure alternative", déclare Koen Van Doren. “Il s’agit d’une combinaison de facteurs : personnes, infrastructure et excellence opérationnelle des services proposés. Le pôle chimique y apporte véritablement un solide avantage concurrentiel.”

De nouvelles opportunités
"L’optimisation reste l’objectif général : organiser le trajet d’un produit de la façon la plus efficace possible"

La digitalisation, y compris les applications de l’Internet des objets, peut rapprocher davantage les entreprises chimiques et les prestataires logistiques. Il s’agit d’un développement qui offre de nouvelles possibilités. “L’histoire ne s’arrête pas aux berges du port”, précise Xavier Vanrolleghem, Commercial Manager Antwerp Chemical Cluster chez Havenbedrijf Antwerpen. “Nous visons un ensemble plus vaste et souhaitons y investir à partir de ce point de vue.” C’est ainsi que, l’année dernière, le port a fait l’acquisition de l’entreprise de pipelines NMP. “La majeure partie de ce réseau se situe à l’extérieur du port”, indique Xavier Vanrolleghem.

La collaboration dans la chaîne d’approvisionnement s’appuie avant toute chose sur l’échange de données. C’est la raison pour laquelle le port participe à la plate-forme de données NxtPort. Xavier Vanrolleghem explique : “Il s’agit d’une infrastructure ouverte où se réunissent toutes les parties prenantes afin de mettre à disposition et d’utiliser des données. Cela doit avoir pour effet d'accélérer l’innovation.” En même temps, la plate-forme ne doit pas se limiter à Anvers. Le port considère NxtPort comme un élément dans un réseau de plates-formes connectées plus vaste. “En matière de digitalisation, dans le secteur chimique, il y a encore un très long chemin à parcourir”, déclare Annick Meerschman. “L’optimisation reste l’objectif général : organiser le trajet d’un produit de la façon la plus efficace possible.” La technologie digitale permet en l’occurrence un bon suivi. “Mais naturellement, chaque entreprise ne doit pas ériger sa propre plate-forme”, explique Annick Meerschman. “Une plate-forme commune sur laquelle collaborent des entreprises est bien plus intéressante.”

Succès futur

“Le pôle chimique d’Anvers va poursuivre son expansion”, explique Elvira Haezendonck, “même avec l’intensification de la transition énergétique et de l’économie circulaire. Tout le monde est d’avis que le triangle Anvers-Rotterdam-région de la Ruhr survivra.” Les entreprises doivent elles-mêmes prendre les rênes, notamment par le partage de données via une initiative comme NxtPort. De même, le déploiement d’un réseau de pipelines, comme quatrième mode à part entière, sera essentiel au succès futur du pôle. “La Belgique et Anvers offrent de solides atouts à l’industrie chimique”, conclut Marcel Claes, président de la chambre de commerce américaine en Belgique. “Nous ne devons toutefois pas nous reposer sur nos lauriers. Il nous faut préserver notre avantage concurrentiel et le développer.”

 

Ce débat s’est tenu dans le cadre du programme “Year of Logistics” de l’AmCham, soutenu par le partenaire ING.

Intéressé(e) par le secteur de la logistique ?