Innovation

16 July 2018

DPA: the fast track to an efficient, digital legal profession

The legal profession is currently at a turning point. The legal world had been standing still for a long time in the area of process innovation and digitisation. In 2011, the Flemish Bar Association (Orde van Vlaamse Balies, OVB) decided that things had to change. A few years later, the Digital Platform for Attorneys (Digitaal Platform voor de Advocatuur, DPA) became a reality.

This digital communications hub is now already being used by hundreds of lawyers for submitting pleadings and documents.

The legal profession distanced itself from ever-increasing digitisation for a long time. This led in the past to a technological and competitive deficit in comparison with other market segments. It also became more and more difficult to defend manual paperwork processes to clients.

The start of digitisation

In 2011, the OVB conceived a plan to eliminate the IT deficit within the legal profession. They undertook to develop a digital platform aimed at realising fully electronic litigation processes.

On 26 March 2014, the General Meeting of the OVB resolved to accommodate the OVB’s IT services within a separate structure in which both the Associations and the OVB were represented. Six months later, Diplad was established.

How Diplad is shaping digitisation

Diplad has a leading role to play in digitising the profession of lawyer. It is a reliable partner for the OVB and judiciary and also the lawyer’s ultimate IT partner. Diplad targets increased efficiency in a lawyer’s day-to-day practice.

Diplad aims to guide the legal profession - and, by extension, the judiciary - towards the digital future. To this end, it has developed the Digital Platform for Attorneys (DPA). This is an indispensable tool for the lawyers of tomorrow who want to adapt their internal procedures and way of working to the changing digital world.

DPA makes life easier for lawyers

DPA forms the central hub through which all communication between lawyers and other players in the legal system flows. The platform provides the lawyer with secure access to various online services. This enables him or her to retrieve, send, process and store data with greater speed and efficiency. He or she can also consult paid services, such as the National Register (Rijksregister), the Central Registry for Seizures (Centraal Bestand Beslagberichten) and Graydon.

The digital platform for all Belgian lawyers

DPA is a joint project between the Flemish Bar Association and the Association of French and German-speaking Bars (Ordre des barreaux francophones et germanophone). It therefore constitutes a shared platform for all lawyers registered with a Belgian bar.

In due course, DPA will be linked to the most commonly used lawyer software so that lawyers can consult the applications directly using their own software.

The initial active applications on the platform are:

  • DPA-deposit
  • DPA-box

A royal decree is expected in the near future, which will specify that all future online submissions will have to be made via DPA-deposit. This measure aims to guarantee a higher level of cyber security, partly through stringent lawyer authentication.

DPA-deposit

Since June 2017, lawyers have been able to submit digital pleadings, send documents and communicate with all Belgian courts, colleagues and third parties via DPA-deposit. The system offers a host of advantages:

  • Security: the only way to register is with a lawyer’s ID card. This is authenticated using the Register of Lawyers (advocatenregister).
  • Privacy: communication between lawyers, courts and clients is strictly confidential.
  • Convenience:

-sending documents to Belgian courts, colleagues and clients (by email);

-uploading various documents with different recipients at the same time;

-automatically sending electronic documents to linked courts with e-Deposit. DPA also makes all the arrangements for sending via fax, letter or registered mail to courts that are not linked.

  • Full integration with lawyer software: it must be possible for lawyers to send documents using their own software package. Various software suppliers are preparing integration.
  • Digital dossier: all documents submitted will be kept for 2 years (or longer if desired) in a central document database, the DPA-box.

 

New to DPA-deposit? Visit https://secure.dp-a.be/deposit and register using your lawyer’s ID card.

Ready for the digital future?

DPA relieves lawyers of complex technical issues. This leaves them able to focus on their core business and to strengthen their competitive position in the legal market. The functionality of the digital platform will be expanded further over the coming years. In future, DPA will provide even greater convenience and time savings.

 

This text was written in collaboration with Johan Van Driessche, former Director of the Flemish Bar Association and Director of Diplad.

More information?

ING is keen to encourage and assist lawyers with their digital challenges.

Innovation

16 Juillet 2018

DPA : le plus court chemin vers un Barreau informatisé efficace

La profession d’avocat se trouve à un moment charnière. Le monde de la justice est longtemps resté à la traîne en ce qui concerne l’innovation et la numérisation des procédures. En 2011, l’O.V.B. (Orde van Vlaamse Balies) a estimé qu’il était temps que ça change. Quelques années plus tard, la DPA (Digital Platform for Attorneys) était née.

Cette plate-forme centralisée de communication numérique est actuellement utilisée par des centaines d’avocats pour le dépôt des conclusions et pièces.

Le Barreau s’est longtemps tenu à l’écart du vaste mouvement de digitalisation à l’œuvre dans notre société. Il a ainsi accumulé un retard technologique et concurrentiel par rapport à d’autres segments de marché. L’administration manuelle sur papier devenait de plus en plus difficile à justifier vis-à-vis des clients.

Les prémices de la digitalisation

En 2011, l’O.V.B. a entrepris de rattraper le retard informatique au sein du Barreau. Il s’est engagé à développer une plate-forme numérique permettant une gestion entièrement électronique des procédures.

L’assemblée générale de l’O.V.B. a décidé le 26 mars 2014 de transférer les services IT de l’O.V.B. vers une entité distincte au sein de laquelle tant les différents barreaux que l’O.V.B. seraient représentés. Six mois plus tard, la société Diplad était portée sur les fonts baptismaux.

Comment Diplad donne forme à l’informatisation

Diplad joue un rôle de premier plan dans l’informatisation du métier d’avocat. Elle est un partenaire fiable pour l’O.V.B. et la Justice, et le partenaire IT par excellence des avocats. Diplad s’est fixé pour objectif d’améliorer l’efficacité de l’exercice quotidien du métier d’avocat.

Diplad souhaite accompagner les avocats - et par extension la Justice - vers un avenir numérique. Elle a à cette fin développé la DPA, ou Digital Platform for Attorneys. Cette plate-forme constitue un outil incontournable pour les avocats de demain qui souhaitent adapter leurs procédures internes et leur manière de travailler au monde numérique actuel.

La DPA simplifie la vie des avocats

La DPA est la plate-forme centralisée par laquelle passent toutes les communications entre les avocats et les autres acteurs de la Justice. Elle fournit aux avocats un accès sécurisé à une série de services en ligne. Ceux-ci peuvent ainsi demander, envoyer, modifier et enregistrer des données de manière plus rapide et plus efficace. Il est en outre possible de consulter des services payants comme le registre national, le fichier central des avis de saisie et Graydon.

La plate-forme numérique de tous les avocats de Belgique

La DPA est un projet commun de l’O.V.B et de l’Ordre des barreaux francophones et germanophone. Elle se positionne ainsi comme la plate-forme commune à tous les avocats inscrits à l’un des barreaux belges.

À terme, la DPA sera reliée aux logiciels les plus couramment utilisés par les avocats afin de leur permettre d’accéder aux applications directement depuis leur logiciel.

Les premières applications actives sur la plate-forme sont :

  • DPA-deposit
  • DPA-box

Un arrêté royal est attendu sous peu, lequel stipulera que les dépôts en ligne ne pourront dorénavant plus se faire que via DPA-deposit. Cette mesure vise à garantir un meilleur niveau de cybersécurité, entre autres par une authentification rigoureuse des avocats.

DPA-deposit

Depuis juin 2017, les avocats peuvent déposer leurs conclusions, envoyer des pièces et communiquer avec tous les tribunaux, confrères et tiers de Belgique par voie électronique. Le système présente de nombreux avantages :

  • Sécurité : l’accès n’est possible qu’au moyen de la carte électronique d’avocat. L’authentification a lieu sur la base du registre des avocats.
  • Confidentialité : la communication entre les avocats, les tribunaux et les clients est strictement confidentielle.
  • Simplicité d’emploi :

-envoi de documents (par e-mail) vers des tribunaux, confrères et clients en Belgique ;

-chargement simultané de documents ayant différents destinataires ;

-envoi automatique de documents électroniques vers les tribunaux connectés à e-Deposit. La DPA s’occupe aussi de tout en cas d’envoi par fax, courrier postal ou recommandé à des tribunaux non connectés.

  • Intégration totale avec les logiciels pour avocats : les documents doivent pouvoir être envoyés à partir du logiciel utilisé par l’avocat. Plusieurs éditeurs de logiciels travaillent en ce moment sur cette intégration.
  • Dossier numérique : tous les documents déposés sont conservés pendant deux ans (ou plus, sur demande) dans une banque de données centrale baptisée DPA-box.

Vous voulez vous aussi commencer à utiliser DPA-deposit ? Rendez-vous sur https://secure.dp-a.be/deposit et inscrivez-vous à l’aide de votre carte d'avocat.

Prêt pour l’avenir numérique ?

La DPA décharge l’avocat des contraintes techniques. Il peut ainsi se concentrer sur son cœur de métier et renforcer sa position concurrentielle sur le marché juridique. Les fonctionnalités de la plate-forme numérique continueront d’être étoffées au cours des années à venir. La DPA gagnera encore en ergonomie afin de générer des gains de temps supplémentaires.

 

Ce texte a été rédigé avec l’aide de Johan Van Driessche, ex-administrateur de l’O.V.B. et administrateur de Diplad.

Envie d’en savoir plus ?

ING souhaite encourager et accompagner les avocats face aux défis du numérique.