Innovation

30 July 2018

Legal techs increase efficiency for lawyers

In recent years, a considerable number of start-ups and scale-ups have been launched to develop technological applications for the legal world. These legal techs, as they are called, offer a raft of opportunities for lawyers who wish to streamline their internal processes and communication.

The legal profession has long been a closed world, so open innovation has gained little to no support in the past. However, over the last four years we have seen increasing numbers of start-ups and scale-ups approaching the legal world with efficient technological solutions. This trend is opening the doors to the digitisation of law firms.

Legal techs in Belgium

“It is estimated that there are around fifty young technical companies in Belgium that focus on legal technology,” says Omar Mohout. “These start-ups and scale-ups are developing new platforms, SaaS (Software as a Service) solutions and AI (Artificial Intelligence) applications with a view to digitising and simplifying certain processes within the legal world.”

The activities of these companies can be divided into a number of categories:

1. Simplifying and automating legal activities

A good example is the company Happy Flights from Nevele, which helps consumers to claim compensation for a delayed, cancelled or overbooked flight using a digitised process. If necessary, they engage a lawyer and initiate legal proceedings. In the past, the cost of engaging a lawyer would outweigh the financial return. However, by making this process more efficient, this is no longer the case.

2. Offering a marketplace model

There are various platforms that match certain legal needs of consumers to service providers. The rules and code of ethics certainly play a role here in determining what can and may be done. A fine example is Jureca.

3. Support activities

Lex.be is an innovative legal search platform that gives citizens, enterprises, academics and the authorities easy access to the judiciary. The databases contain all the legislation and case-law that can be found in genuine data sources in Belgium. The platform gives legal service providers the opportunity to find relevant legal data easily and to convert such data into legal insights. Customised features – such as electronic dossier management, notifications and the storage of search requests – increase efficiency.

4. Artificial intelligence

Chatbots help to answer frequently asked questions automatically. The user types in a question, and the chatbot searches for the right answer in a linked database using pattern recognition.

deJuristen is a prime example of a company of legal experts who are moving with the times. They are committed to digital transformation and artificial intelligence, and are working hard on projects aimed at making the law accessible again. This firm believes in law that is open, transparent and innovative.

Shoot&Prove from Evere offers users the option to record information on their smartphones and to use this to generate and exchange electronic originals. Users can use their smartphones to scan documents which are converted into legally enforceable originals with geolocation and time stamping.

Legal Techs in Europe

Over the past two years, we have seen relatively few scale-ups that are developing legal technology. Some thirty to forty companies have together raised around 240 million euros in capital. In Belgium, this figure is much lower at around 10 million euros. This indicates that we are dealing with a young niche market with plenty of potential for growth.

Efficient contract processing

Luminance is a name that stands out. This spin-off from Cambridge University offers an AI platform that allows contracts to be assessed with greater speed and precision. The technology uses machine learning to detect key information in large quantities of data. Clauses, documents, currencies, locations, applicable laws and so on are tagged automatically in order to speed up document checks, while anomaly detection highlights potential risks. This tool can ease a lawyer’s workload by as much as 95%.

Captain Contrat is a company from Paris that simplifies the creation and management of contracts for businesses. Various lawyers are on hand to draw up the right documents and to answer legal questions.

Making legal action accessible

CrowdJustice is also attracting attention in the European legal tech landscape. It is a crowdfunding platform that was set up by lawyers to raise funds for legal action.

Liesker Procesfinanciering is a Dutch company that provides litigation funding for all kinds of legal and arbitration cases with a claim value starting from 150,000 euros. As payment, the company receives a share of the proceeds from the lawsuit, but only if it is successful. This means that you, as an entrepreneur or private individual, can litigate without any risk.

Reclamador from Madrid is a platform that groups consumer complaints on the basis of technical models. They manage the lawsuit and keep the user informed in their own personal environment. This company too only charges if the lawsuit is concluded successfully.

Artificial intelligence is the big game changer

“AI, in particular, will enable huge efficiency gains within the legal profession in the near future,” predicts Mohout. “Technological solutions, such as chatbots, are getting smarter all the time. As a lawyer, it makes sense for you to embrace these systems sooner rather than later. After all, they are not the competition but rather they support the activities of legal professionals and offer major efficiency improvements.”


This text was written in collaboration with Omar Mohout, Entrepreneurship Fellow at Sirris, the collective centre of the technology industry. 

More information?

ING is keen to encourage and assist lawyers with their digital challenges.

Innovation

30 Juillet 2018

Les Legal Techs améliorent l’efficacité des avocats

Ces dernières années ont vu l’émergence de nombreuses start-up et scale-up dédiées au développement d’applications technologiques à destination du secteur juridique. Ces Legal Techs, comme on les appelle, ouvrent une foule de perspectives aux avocats désireux de rationaliser leurs processus internes et leurs communications.

Le Barreau est longtemps resté un cercle fermé auquel l’innovation n’avait que peu ou pas accès. Depuis quatre ans environ, de plus en plus de start-up et de scale-up proposent des solutions technologiques efficaces au monde juridique. Cette évolution ouvre la voie à l’informatisation des cabinets d’avocats.

Les Legal Techs en Belgique

“On dénombre en Belgique une cinquantaine de jeunes entreprises spécialisées dans les technologies juridiques”, observe Omar Mohout. “Ces start-up et scale-up développent de nouvelles plates-formes, des solutions SaaS (Software as a service) et des applications d’intelligence artificielle (AI) conçues pour informatiser et simplifier certains processus au sein du secteur juridique.”

Les activités de ces entreprises se répartissent en plusieurs catégories :

1. Simplification et automatisation des activités juridiques

Un bon exemple est celui de l’entreprise Happy Flights à Nevele, qui vient en aide aux consommateurs souhaitant obtenir une compensation en cas de vol retardé, annulé ou surbooké grâce à un processus informatisé. Le cas échéant, elle sollicite un avocat et ouvre une action en justice. Par le passé, les coûts liés à l’intervention d’un avocat étaient beaucoup trop élevés par rapport au gain financier espéré. La rationalisation du processus a changé les choses.

2. Place de marché

Plusieurs plates-formes servent d’intermédiaire entre les consommateurs ayant un besoin juridique particulier et les prestataires de services à même d’y répondre. Les règles et le code déontologique servent ici à délimiter ce qui est ou non permis. Jureca constitue un bel exemple en la matière.

3. Activités de soutien

Lex.be est une plate-forme de recherche juridique innovante offrant aux citoyens, entreprises, milieux universitaires et pouvoirs publics un accès aisé à la Justice. Les bases de données rassemblent toute la législation et la jurisprudence provenant de sources de données authentiques en Belgique. La plate-forme permet aux prestataires de services juridiques de retrouver facilement des données juridiques pertinentes et d’en tirer les enseignements appropriés. Les fonctionnalités sur mesure – telles que la gestion informatisée des dossiers, les notifications et l’enregistrement des requêtes– renforcent l’efficacité.

4. Intelligence artificielle

Les chatbots répondent automatiquement aux questions fréquemment posées. Lorsque l’utilisateur tape sa requête, le chatbot recherche la réponse correspondante dans la base de données connectée grâce à une analyse typologique.

deJuristen constitue un exemple frappant d’entreprise d’experts juridiques qui vit avec son temps. Elle mise sur la transformation numérique et l’intelligence artificielle et s’investit dans des projets visant à rendre le droit plus accessible. Ce bureau défend une conception ouverte, transparente et innovante du droit.

Shoot&Prove à Evere permet aux utilisateurs d’enregistrer des informations sur leur smartphone et de les utiliser pour générer et échanger des originaux électroniques. Les utilisateurs peuvent scanner les documents avec leur smartphone, lesquels sont ensuite convertis en originaux juridiquement exécutoires par géolocalisation et horodatage.

Les Legal Techs en Europe

Ces deux dernières années, peu d’entreprises dédiées au développement de technologies juridiques ont vu le jour en Europe. Une trentaine à une quarantaine d’entreprises ont conjointement réuni 240 millions d’euros de capital. En Belgique, ce montant est nettement inférieur et tourne autour de 10 millions d’euros. C’est la preuve que nous avons affaire à un jeune marché de niche recelant un gros potentiel de croissance.

Gestion efficace des contrats

Luminance porte un nom qui ne passe pas inaperçu. Cette spin-off de l’université de Cambridge propose une plate-forme d’intelligence artificielle qui autorise une analyse plus rapide et plus précise des contrats. La technologie utilise le machine learning (apprentissage automatique) pour détecter les informations essentielles dans de grands volumes de données. Les clauses, documents, devises, lieux, lois applicables, etc. sont automatiquement balisés afin d’accélérer le contrôle des documents, tandis que la détection d’anomalie décèle les risques potentiels. Cet outil est ainsi capable d’effectuer 95 % de la charge de travail d’un juriste.

Captain Contrat est une entreprise parisienne qui simplifie la rédaction et la gestion des contrats pour le compte d’entreprises. Une équipe d’avocats se tient prête à rédiger les documents appropriés et à répondre aux questions juridiques des clients.

Faciliter les actions en justice

CrowdJustice est un autre acteur marquant du paysage européen des Legal Techs. Cette plate-forme de financement participatif a été mise sur pied par des avocats en vue de collecter les fonds nécessaires pour intenter des actions en justice.

Liesker Procesfinanciering est une entreprise néerlandaise proposant le financement procédural de toutes sortes d’affaires judiciaires et d’arbitrage dont le contentieux porte au minimum sur 150 000 euros. L’entreprise reçoit en guise de rémunération un pourcentage des sommes obtenues à l’issue de l’affaire, mais uniquement en cas de succès. Entrepreneurs et particuliers peuvent ainsi intenter une action en justice sans risque.

Reclamador est une plate-forme basée à Madrid qui regroupe les plaintes des consommateurs à partir de modèles techniques. Elle gère la procédure et tient l’utilisateur informé dans son environnement personnalisé. Cette entreprise aussi ne se fait payer qu’en cas d’issue fructueuse du dossier.

L’intelligence artificielle change la donne

“L’intelligence artificielle va, à court terme, générer des gains d’efficacité considérables au sein de la profession d’avocat”, prédit Mohout. “Les solutions technologiques, telles que les chatbots, sont de plus en plus intelligentes. En qualité d’avocat, vous avez tout intérêt à adopter ces systèmes le plus tôt possible. Loin de représenter une concurrence, ils facilitent au contraire les activités des professionnels juridiques et renforcent leur efficacité.”


Ce texte a été rédigé avec l’aide de Omar Mohout, Entrepreneurship Fellow chez Sirris, le centre collectif de l’industrie technologique. 

En savoir plus ?

ING souhaite encourager et accompagner les avocats face aux défis du numérique.