Innovation

5 July 2018

Underground transport is in the pipeline

Pipelines through which large volumes of goods can be transported underground over long distances may seem like science fiction, but a Swiss project proves otherwise.

The kick-off event for the Future Proof Transport Initiatives (FPTI), a conference sponsored by ING in the Dutch town of Roosendaal at the start of this month, got Flemish and Dutch organisations thinking.

Underground transport systems
"Roughly one lorry in four in the EU is driving around empty"

“Underground transport can drastically reduce the impact the logistics sector has on the environment,” says Bart Vannieuwenhuyse from TRI-VIZOR, an impartial orchestrator of cooperation in transport and logistics.

Vannieuwenhuyse and three other entrepreneurs from Belgium and the Netherlands set up FPTI to promote the concept of underground logistics systems. Through conference and workshops FPTI encourages companies, knowledge institutions, governments and citizens to take action.

This so-called fifth mode of transportation – in addition to road, rail, water and air traffic – provides opportunities not only in the field of sustainability but also of capacity. “Current transport methods are not always efficient,” says Vannieuwenhuyse. “Roughly one lorry in four in the EU is driving around empty, for example, while the road infrastructure is becoming less and less satisfactory.”

Cooperation needed
"To ensure that competitors become competitive colleagues, good agreements are of course needed"

Although several relevant pilot studies have already been conducted on the subject, including one by Colruyt, the logistical use of pipelines in the region is still restricted to the transportation of liquids and gases by chemical companies.

“Companies are still afraid that the system will be unprofitable, although a study by the University of Antwerp (UA) shows the opposite is true,” says Vannieuwenhuyse. “However, major investment is needed to install the infrastructure, and this is where cooperation between companies is desirable.”

Until now, pipelines have been built and used by a single company. If enterprises join forces, the costs can be shared. “To ensure that competitors become competitive colleagues, good agreements are of course needed,” says Vannieuwenhuyse.

Swiss efficiency

The groundbreaking Cargo Sous Terrain project in Switzerland, presented at FPTI’s kick-off event, shows what such a cooperation can lead to. Several companies, with two major retailers as the driving force, have put their weight behind the construction of an underground pipeline network that connects major distribution centres. The government is providing a regulatory framework.

In the Swiss project, automated vehicles will carry 3 pallets at a time through tubes approximately 50 metres underground, at a speed of around 30 kph. The project was launched in 2009 and now being developed in detail, with the first section – 65 km in length – due for completion by 2030.

Opportunities and challenges

In Flanders and the Netherlands the FPTI team sees opportunities primarily in ports and cities. Among other things, underground transport there could reduce congestion, increase capacity, free up space above ground, and improve safety and air quality.

The hope is that major retailers, like Colruyt and Delhaize, will take the lead. “But the government also has an essential role to play in terms of rules and regulations, and there is an urgent need for it to develop a clear vision,” says Elvira Haezendonck, Professor of Management and Strategy at the Vrije Universiteit Brussel.

Innovative solutions

Professor Maarten Van Acker, specialist in urban planning and design at the UA, underlines the desperate need for innovative solutions here, given that Brussels and Antwerp are the most congested cities in Europe. He points out that the function of such pipelines may be a combination – of goods, heat and water transportation, for example – to increase their efficiency.

The need was highlighted during the event by two public-spirited young people, who pointed out that swift action is needed to attain the UN’s ‘Sustainable Development Goals’, the international sustainability goals for 2030. Setting up partnerships is crucial to this.

ING is sponsoring not only this project but also a bi-annual study on logistical developments in ports. The latest, published in 2017, contained a survey which revealed interest in the development of pipelines. 80% of those surveyed saw pipelines as having an important role to play as a link between port and hinterland.

More info on logistics?

Innovation

5 Juillet 2018

Le transport souterrain : un projet dans les tuyaux

Des tunnels destinés au transport souterrain de grands volumes de marchandises sur de longues distances, voilà qui sonne encore comme de la science-fiction. Un projet suisse prouve néanmoins le contraire.

L'événement inaugural de Future Proof Transport Initiatives (FPTI), une conférence sponsorisée par ING à Roosendaal aux Pays-Bas, a poussé au début de ce mois les organisations flamandes et néerlandaises à la réflexion.

Réseaux de transport souterrains
"Dans l’Union européenne, un camion sur quatre environ roule à vide"

“Le transport souterrain peut réduire radicalement l'impact du secteur logistique sur l’environnement”, déclare Bart Vannieuwenhuyse de TRI-VIZOR, un architecte expert de l'orchestration du transport et de la logistique.

Bart Vannieuwenhuyse et trois autres entrepreneurs de Belgique et des Pays-Bas ont fondé FPTI pour promouvoir la diffusion du concept de réseaux logistiques souterrains. Par le biais de conférences et d’ateliers, FTPI pousse les entreprises, les établissements de formation et d'enseignement, les autorités publiques et les citoyens à l’action.

Ce cinquième mode de transport, qui vient s’ajouter à la route, au rail, aux voies navigables et au trafic aérien, n’offre pas des opportunités en termes de durabilité uniquement, mais aussi de capacité. “Les méthodes de transport actuelles ne sont pas toujours efficaces”, affirme B. Vannieuwenhuyse. “Dans l’Union européenne, un camion sur quatre environ roule à vide, par exemple, tandis que l'infrastructure routière atteint ses limites.”

Collaboration indispensable
"Pour que les concurrents deviennent des 'concullègues', il faut bien entendu de bons accords"

Bien que certaines études pilotes pertinentes aient déjà été réalisées dans ce domaine, notamment par Colruyt, l’utilisation logistique de pipelines dans la région reste encore limitée au transport de liquides et de gaz par les entreprises chimiques.

“Les entreprises craignent encore que le système ne soit pas rentable, alors qu’une étude de l’Université d’Anvers (UA) démontre le contraire”, explique B. Vannieuwenhuyse. “Un investissement conséquent est toutefois nécessaire pour mettre l'infrastructure en place, et une collaboration entre les entreprises est souhaitable à ce niveau.”

Jusqu’ici, des tunnels ne sont construits et utilisés ici que par une seule entreprise. Une coopération entre les entreprises permettrait de répartir les coûts. “Pour que les concurrents deviennent des "concullègues", il faut bien entendu de bons accords”, déclare B. Vannieuwenhuyse.

Efficacité suisse

Cargo Sous Terrain, un projet suisse visionnaire, présenté lors de l’événement inaugural de FTPI, montre le résultat que peut produire ce type de collaboration. Plusieurs entreprises, menées par deux grands groupes de commerce de détail, soutiennent la construction d’un réseau de tunnels reliant de grands centres de distribution. Les autorités fournissent un cadre réglementaire.

Dans le projet suisse, des véhicules automatisés transportent 3 palettes à la fois dans des tunnels situés à quelques 50 m sous la surface, à une vitesse d’environ 30 km/heure. Le projet a démarré en 2009, les détails sont actuellement mis au point et la première section, de 65 km, devrait être terminée pour 2030.

Possibilités et défis

Pour la Flandre et les Pays-Bas, l’équipe FPTI voit des possibilités dans les ports et les villes principalement. Le transport souterrain pourrait notamment y réduire les embouteillages, augmenter la capacité, libérer de l’espace en surface, améliorer la sécurité et la qualité de l’air.

L’espoir repose sur de grands distributeurs comme Colruyt et Delhaize susceptibles de prendre le leadership. “Mais les autorités jouent également un rôle important, en matière de réglementation, et doivent impérativement développer une vision claire”, déclare Elvira Haezendonck, professeur en management et stratégie à la Vrije Universiteit Brussel.

Solutions innovantes

Le professeur Maarten Van Acker, spécialiste en urbanisme et aménagement du territoire à l’UA, souligne l’extrême nécessité de solutions innovantes en la matière, étant donné que Bruxelles et Anvers sont les championnes incontestées des embouteillages en Europe. Il avance que la fonction de ces tunnels pourrait être de combiner le transport de marchandises, de chaleur et d’eau, par exemple, pour en augmenter l’efficacité.

La nécessité a été soulignée une nouvelle fois lors de l’événement par deux jeunes engagés, qui ont indiqué qu'une action rapide était nécessaire afin d’atteindre les ‘Sustainable Development Goals’ des Nations Unies, les objectifs de développement durables internationaux à l’horizon 2030. La mise en place de partenariats est donc cruciale.

ING sponsorise non seulement ce projet mais également une étude de deux ans sur les développements logistiques dans les ports. Cette dernière, publiée en 2017, comprenait une enquête qui mettait en évidence l'intérêt pour le développement de pipelines. 80 % des personnes interrogées considéraient que les pipelines avaient un rôle important à jouer dans la liaison entre les ports et l'intérieur des terres.

Intéressé(e) par le secteur de la logistique ?