Daily management

14 August 2017

Legal Entity Identifier mandatory for investing companies as from 2018

Karine D'Haenens

Legal Advisor ING Belgium

As of 1 January 2018 all legal entities which perform transactions in certain financial instruments must apply for an LEI code. This is required by the European MiFID II directive. Do you want to invest or sell investments with your company? Then it is best to apply for the LEI or Legal Entity Identifier as soon as possible. Discover why and how.

Transparency, risk management and risk assessment are becoming increasingly important on financial markets. As of 2018, the legislator will therefore impose an additional obligation for better identification on all legal entities. LEI, or Legal Entity Identifier, means that all legal entities worldwide are identified by a unique alphanumeric code.* This happens when they perform transactions in financial instruments.

Fast detection of system risks

The advantage? Thanks to the global identification of all contractual parties, system risks can be detected early. The Global Legal Entity Identifier Foundation, or GLEIF contributes by making the global LEI Index available. This way, the parties involved can consult all LEI data free of charge.

In 2013, the LEI was introduced for all legal entities which trade in derivative financial instruments, so-called derivatives**. As of 1 January 2018, all legal entities which perform transactions in other financial instruments must also apply for the LEI code***.

This concerns the purchasing and selling of financial instruments such as shares, bonds and trackers (ETFs, Exchange-Traded Funds). Even if they are traded outside the exchange, or if they are an underlying product of an unlisted financial instrument. Financial institutions which perform these transactions for their customers are subject to the MiFID II reporting obligation which requires the LEI code****.

An example? Structured notes which might not be listed, but have underlying shares which are listed – for example from the telecommunications industry or the BEL 20 Index.

Legal Entity Identifier for your company

Is your company a legal entity (Ltd., plc, etc.)? And do you want to invest or sell an existing investment after 1 January 2018? Then you will have to apply for an LEI. Without an LEI, you will no longer be able to trade as of 2018, at least as far as the above-mentioned financial instruments are concerned.

How do you apply for an LEI? For the time being, it is only possible via a foreign Local Operating Unit (LOU). Currently, there is no LOU in Belgium. Nevertheless the Belgian authorities intend to appoint a registration agent in the future, which Belgian companies will then be able to contact to apply for their LEI code. Exactly when this will be finalised is not yet clear.

The costs for applying for an LEI differ for each LOU. The best thing to do is to compare the possibilities. Be aware that the LOUs in the Netherlands and France only serve companies in their own countries. They are therefore not an option for Belgian companies.

The costs vary between 89 and 100 euros for the first registration, with an additional fee of 17 to 19 euros for the GLEIF. Each renewal costs between 59 and 80 euros.

You can apply for an LEI as a Belgian company via these sites
Apply for your Legal Entity Identifier in due time

Do you want to be ready to continue your securities activities as from 2018? Arrange for the registration of your LEI code as quickly as possible, and definitely by December 2017.

Once you have a validly registered LEI code, forward it to your ING contact. They will register your codes in the ING database, ensuring that you are ready to perform impacted transactions as of January 2018.

More info?

Do you want to know more about the Legal Entity Identifier (LEI)?

Are you interested in investing? It is possible to match your investments to the needs of your company.

GÉRER AU QUOTIDIEN

14 août 2017

LEI obligatoire pour toutes les entreprises qui investissent

Karine D'Haenens

Legal Advisor ING Belgium

À partir du 1er janvier 2018, toutes les personnes morales qui exécutent des transactions sur certains instruments financiers devront demander le code LEI (Legal Entity Identifier). C'est ce que prescrit la directive européenne MiFID II. Vous souhaitez investir avec votre entreprise ou vendre des produits d’investissement ? Dans ce cas, demandez ce LEI le plus rapidement possible. Découvrez pourquoi et comment.

La transparence, la gestion et l’évaluation du risque ne cessent de prendre de l'importance sur le marché financier. À partir de 2018, le législateur imposera donc une obligation supplémentaire à l’ensemble des personnes morales pour assurer une meilleure identification.

Le LEI, ou Legal Entity Identifier, permet une identification de toutes les personnes morales à travers le monde grâce à un code alphanumérique unique*.

Il se révèle nécessaire lorsque celles-ci exécutent des transactions sur certains instruments financiers.

Détection rapide des risques systémiques

L’avantage ? Grâce à l’identification mondiale de toutes les parties contractantes, les risques systémiques peuvent être repérés à temps. La Global Legal Entity Identifier Foundation ou GLEIF y contribue en mettant à disposition le Répertoire mondial des LEI. De cette manière, les parties impliquées peuvent consulter gratuitement toutes les données LEI.

Le LEI a été introduit en 2013 pour toutes les personnes morales qui négocient des instruments financiers dérivés**. À partir du 1er janvier 2018, toutes les personnes morales qui exécutent des opérations sur d’autres instruments financiers devront aussi demander le code LEI***.

Ceci concerne l’achat et la vente sur instruments financiers tels que les actions, les obligations et les Trackers (opérations de financement de titres, fonds indiciels cotés). C’est aussi le cas si ceux-ci sont négociés de gré à gré, ou s’ils constituent un produit sous-jacent d’un instrument financier non coté. Les institutions financières qui effectuent ce type d’opérations pour leurs clients sont, en effet, soumises à l’obligation de notification de la MiFID II pour laquelle le code LEI est requis****.

Un exemple ? Les Structured Notes, qui peuvent ne pas être cotées, mais dont les actions sous-jacentes sont cotées (par exemple du secteur des télécommunications ou de l’Indice BEL 20).

Comment demander le Legal Entity Identifier pour votre entreprise

Votre entreprise a une personnalité juridique (SA, SPRL...) ? Et vous souhaitez investir ou vendre un produit d’investissement existant après le 1er janvier 2018 ? Dans ce cas, vous devez demander un LEI. À partir de 2018, vous ne pourrez plus négocier sans LEI. Du moins, dans le cas des instruments financiers mentionnés.

Comment le demander ? Actuellement, vous pouvez uniquement le faire en vous adressant à une Unité opérationnelle locale (UOL) étrangère. Il n’existe pas encore d’UOL en Belgique. Néanmoins, les autorités belges souhaitent, à l’avenir, désigner un agent d’enregistrement auquel les entreprises belges pourraient s’adresser pour demander leur code LEI. Aucune date précise n’a cependant été fixée.

Les frais liés à une demande de LEI diffèrent en fonction des UOL. Veillez donc à comparer les possibilités. Notez cependant que les UOL des Pays-Bas et de la France ne servent que les entreprises de leur pays. Elles ne constituent donc pas une option pour les entreprises belges.

Les coûts varient entre 89 et 100 euros pour un premier enregistrement, avec une cotisation supplémentaire de 17 à 19 euros pour la GLEIF. Chaque renouvellement coûte entre 59 et 80 euros.

Les sites suivants vous permettent de demander un LEI en tant qu’entreprise belge
Demandez votre Legal Entity Identifier à temps

Vous aimeriez poursuivre vos activités de titres sans problème en 2018 ? Enregistrez votre code LEI le plus vite possible, et au plus tard en décembre 2017.

Dès que vous possédez un code LEI enregistré et valable, envoyez-le à votre personne de contact ING. Celle-ci enregistrera vos codes dans la banque de données ING pour que vous soyez en règle avant l’exécution des transactions concernées à partir de janvier 2018.

Plus d'informations ?

Vous désirez en savoir plus sur le Legal Entity Identifier (LEI) ?

Vous envisagez d’investir ? Il est possible d’adapter vos investissements aux besoins de votre organisation.