Daily management

3 October 2017

To hire or not to hire? During the recruitment process, here are some things to watch out for

As a self-employed entrepreneur, there is a good chance that you will a tone point need some reinforcements. An important decision, one which is not made overnight. It hardly needs to be said that there are a few crucial points to keep in the back of your mind. We will point out what you need to look out for.

Decide ahead of time what profile you need

And first and foremost: keep focused on your goal. Plenty of entrepreneurs have hired a candidate who did not suit the profile they advertised for, but who appeared to be a great young person. So best note down in advance what profile your business needs and what criteria applicants have to meet.

That doesn’t mean that you cannot take a decision based on your gut feeling. It is simply a question of evaluating how someone can contribute to the growth of your business.

Draw on the right network and the right channels

Are you looking for a digital native? Or would you prefer a tradesman who is all too happy to roll up his or her sleeves? You get the picture: depending on the profile you are looking for, you will have to decide on the channels in which to advertise your job opening. Digital profiles are easier to find on platforms such as Bloovi.be and Creativeskills.be, while bouwjobs.be, for example, is for the construction sector.

And yet finding a new employee involves more than just placing your help wanted ad. Or, the way we like to put it: never underestimate the power of a good network. Ask colleagues and friends to spread the word or ask around among their relevant acquaintances. There is a good chance that you will find the right candidate via that route!

Make sure there is a match with the company culture and vision

Many recruiters and entrepreneurs hire on the basis of skills. And yet the match with your vision and company culture is at least as important. At the end of the day, your new white knight can always brush up on certain skills. The right mentality is crucial, at any rate, to the rapid growth of your company.

Our tip? Make this clear during the job interview. Ask yourself whether you would go for a drink with the candidate. Don't forget that you will spend a good part of the day together, and so you will soon have to be on the same wavelength.

Full-time, part-time or freelance?

And last but not least: are you looking for full-time, part-time or freelance support? For many entrepreneurs, this decision is made on the basis of financial considerations.

Permanent hires usually take a considerable bite out of your budget, while freelancers mean more flexibility - although over the long run that is not a cheap option either.

Whatever the case, you will have to do with a fair bit of payroll administration. Fortunately, you don’t have to handle all that alone - the help of an accountant and a specialized social secretariat will make the task quite a bit easier!

Daily management

3 octobre 2017

Engager ou pas ? Ce à quoi vous devez faire attention dans le processus de recrutement

En tant qu'entrepreneur indépendant, vous risquez fort d'avoir besoin de renfort à un moment donné. C'est une décision importante qui ne se prend pas à la légère. Faut-il encore rappeler les quelques points d'attention cruciaux à garder à l'esprit ? Voici à quoi vous devez rester attentif.

Déterminez au préalable le profil dont vous avez besoin

Et surtout : restez sur vos positions. Tant d'entrepreneurs ont engagé un candidat ne correspondant pas au profil demandé, sous prétexte que le jeune homme /la jeune femme avait l'air sympa. Déterminez donc d'abord le profil dont votre entreprise a besoin et les critères que doivent remplir les candidats.

Cela ne veut pas dire que vous ne pouvez pas vous laisser guider par votre intuition. Il s'agit simplement d'évaluer comment une personne peut contribuer à la croissance de votre entreprise.

Faites appel au bon réseau et aux bons canaux

Cherchez-vous un digital native ? Ou plutôt un artisan qui ne rechigne pas à se retrousser les manches ? Vous l'aurez vite compris : selon le profil recherché, vous devez choisir les canaux adéquats sur lesquels poster votre offre d'emploi. Vous trouverez plus facilement des profils numériques sur des plateformes comme Bloovi.be et Creativeskills.be, alors que bouwjobs.be, par exemple, est utile pour le secteur de la construction.

Mais la recherche d'un nouveau collaborateur ne se limite pas à poster une offre d'emploi. Ce que nous voulons dire : ne sous-estimez jamais le pouvoir d'un bon réseau. Demandez à vos collègues et amis de passer 'le mot' ou informez-vous auprès de leurs connaissances pertinentes. Il y a fort à parier que vous trouverez le candidat idéal grâce au bouche-à-oreille !

Soyez attentif à l'adéquation avec la vision et la culture de l'entreprise

De nombreux recruteurs et entrepreneurs engagent sur la base des compétences. Mais l'adéquation avec votre vision et votre culture d'entreprise est tout aussi importante. En fin de compte, votre nouvelle recrue pourra toujours combler ses lacunes dans certaines compétences. La mentalité adéquate est par conséquent un élément crucial pour faire rapidement évoluer votre entreprise.

Notre conseil ? Jouez franc jeu à ce sujet lors de l'entrevue. Demandez-vous vous-même si vous iriez boire un verre avec le candidat. N'oubliez pas que vous passerez une grande partie de la journée et de la semaine ensemble. Vous devez donc être quasiment sur la même longueur d'ondes.

Temps plein, mi-temps ou freelance ?

Et last but not least : cherchez-vous un renfort à temps plein, à mi-temps ou un freelance ? Pour bon nombre d'entrepreneurs, cette décision repose sur des considérations financières.

Un engagement permanent implique un trou dans le budget tandis qu'un freelance représente davantage de flexibilité - même si à terme, ce n'est pas non plus un poste bon marché.

Quelle que soit votre décision, vous devrez gérer aussi l'aspect administration des salaires. Heureusement, vous ne serez pas seul - vous pourrez compter sur l'aide d'un comptable et d'un secrétariat social spécialisé.