robots revolution
Innovation

3 March 2017

Robots, an essential revolution for SMEs

Robots and SMEs are not yet a marriage made in heaven. The introduction of such automated machines in companies still frightens many business people. Yet there is no need to be afraid.

If you have not yet considered it, perhaps now is the time. Robotisation is not merely a futuristic vision or fashion. It is a reality, in the same way as digitalisation (which entrepreneur would have put their money on a computer in the 70s?). And just like for any technological revolution, the sooner you start the better you will fare. Obviously robotisation is not the be all and end all but a means to continue to rival your competitors who are equipped with... robots.

A new generation of intuitive robots

“Intelligent robots can repeat a task infinitely once they have been shown.” Around twenty years ago robotisation was reserved for big businesses, notably in the motor sector. Nonetheless the new generation of machines has evolved to meet the requirements of SMEs. To illustrate, cobotics, in other words collaborative robotics, an emerging branch of technology is developing “intelligent” robots. Endowed with a form of intuition, these devices can adapt in real time: you show them a task to perform once and they will reproduce it endlessly. This ability can be vital to respond to the need for flexibility in the manufacturing processes of SMEs.

A revolution in the making!

A robot cannot be installed in a SME just by snapping your fingers, it is not a simple machine. Such an investment implies a new form of organisation within your company. And just like any change, it is both a risk and an opportunity. The better you prepare and structure its integration, the more you will benefit. Are you wondering how robots will impact on your various flows, procedures, skills to be developed, return on investment, etc.? But you should also consider compiling the specifications which describe your needs precisely.

Is robotisation unrealistic and overpriced?

“Robotisation will cause a cut in jobs in the short term.” The costs are curbing robotisation. Even though the amounts are falling with the rise of the offer, the investment is often considerable for a small structure. All the more so as, generally, profitability is only feasible in the medium term. As for any technology, robots also require expertise (to operate and service them). In addition not all SMEs necessarily have sufficient volume for automation. Last but not least: the issue of employment. Even if the conclusions of many studies are contradictory on the subject, in the short term robotisation will cut many jobs. Yet the phenomenon is expected, over time, to be compensated by a greater expansion which will allow for the creation of more qualified jobs

A necessary change for SMEs

Incorporating robotics is still essential for SMEs as they suffer from pressure on costs and, generally, are not able to relocate. Robotisation is looming as an opportunity to modernise your manufacturing processes. In this way you can guarantee a substantial gain in productivity notably through a rise in volumes and a cut in conception deadlines. The reliability of your production will also increase thanks to machine consistency and precision. Automation also offers you the possibility to develop new sectors of activity or to invest in new markets. The stakes for your business remain the same: upholding competitiveness and gleaning market shares.

Interested by technological innovation?

Read other articles and testimonies on our page or follow our publications on LinkedIn.

robots revolution
Innovation

3 mars 2017

Les robots, une révolution essentielle pour les PME

Robots et PME ne filent pas encore le parfait amour. L’introduction de ces machines automatisées au sein de l’entreprise effraie toujours bon nombre d’entrepreneurs. Pourtant, il ne faut pas en avoir peur.

Si vous n’y avez pas encore songé, c’est peut-être le moment. En effet, la robotisation n’est pas juste une vision futuriste ou un effet de mode. C’est une réalité, au même titre que la numérisation (quel entrepreneur aurait misé sur un ordinateur dans les 70 ?). Et, comme pour toute révolution technologique, plus vite vous embarquez, mieux vous amorcerez le virage. Évidemment, la robotisation ne doit pas représenter une fin en soi, mais un moyen de continuer à faire face à vos concurrents équipés, eux, de… robots.

Une nouvelle génération de robots intuitifs

"Les robots intelligents peuvent reproduire à l’infini une tâche que vous avez montré une seule fois." Il y a une vingtaine d’années, la robotisation était réservée aux grandes entreprises, notamment dans le secteur automobile. Mais la nouvelle génération de machines a évolué pour coller aux exigences des PME. À titre d’exemple, la cobotique, c’est-à-dire la robotique collaborative, une branche émergente de la technologie, met au point des robots "intelligents". Dotés d’une forme d’intuition, ces engins peuvent s’adapter en temps réel : vous lui montrez une seule fois la tâche à exécuter et il la reproduit à l’infini. Cette habileté s’avère vitale pour répondre au besoin de flexibilité des processus de production des PME.

Une révolution, ça se prépare !

Installer un robot dans une PME ne se fait pas sur un claquement de doigts, car ce n’est pas une simple machine. Un tel investissement suppose une nouvelle forme d’organisation au sein de votre société. Et comme tout changement, c’est à la fois un risque et une opportunité. Mieux vous préparez et structurez son intégration, plus vous en tirerez profit. Interrogez-vous sur l’impact qu’aura le robot sur vos différents flux, les procédures, les compétences à déployer, le retour sur investissement, etc. Vous devrez également penser à rédiger un cahier des charges qui décrit précisément vos besoins.

La robotisation, irréaliste et hors de prix ?

"La robotisation provoquerait une suppression de postes à court terme." Le coût fait partie des freins à la robotisation. Même si les montants diminuent avec la hausse de l’offre, l’investissement est souvent conséquent pour une petite structure. D’autant que, généralement, la rentabilité n’est visible qu’à moyen terme. Comme toute technologie, les robots exigent également de l’expertise (pour le fonctionnement ou la maintenance). De plus, votre PME ne possède pas forcément le volume suffisant pour automatiser. Last but not least : la question de l’emploi. Même si les conclusions de nombreuses études sont contradictoires sur le sujet, la robotisation provoquerait, à court terme, une suppression de postes. Mais le phénomène serait compensé, au fil des années, par une expansion plus forte qui permet alors la création de jobs plus qualifiés.

Une mutation essentielle pour les PME

L’intégration de la robotique reste essentielle pour les PME, car celles-ci subissent la pression sur les coûts et ne sont généralement pas en mesure de délocaliser. La robotisation se profile alors comme une occasion de moderniser vos processus de fabrication. Vous garantissez aussi un gain de productivité conséquent, notamment par la hausse des volumes et la réduction des délais de conception. La fiabilité de votre production augmentera aussi, grâce à la constance et à la précision des machines. L’automatisation vous offre également la possibilité de développer des volets neufs d’activité ou d’investir dans de nouveaux marchés. L’enjeu pour votre entreprise demeure toujours identique : rester compétitif et grappiller des parts de marché.