Secure Business

IT incident management

Small and medium-sized businesses are far from being immune to IT incidents. Sometimes the consequences can be disastrous.

Take for example a paralysis lasting several days of a company because of the total shutdown of its computers and production machines caused by cryptoware (a computer virus that has the particularity of encrypting computers in a network in order to obtain a ransom for unlocking them).

Be prepared

  • Ask yourself what kind of situation could cause damage to your business. Some companies may work very well with their website blocked, others may not. This step is what is known as Risk Assessment.

  • Establish an action plan to respond to incidents. The best thing is to have a detailed plan per type of incident, with a clear description of the roles and responsibilities of each person involved.

  • Test at least one of these plans annually to train your employees on how to react in such situations. Often it is a lack of experience that gives rise to mishaps that are best avoided in these times of crisis.

  • After each test, analyse how your teams responded and update the plan.

  • Remember to involve your communications team and your legal department when creating and testing the plan. 

  • Involve your employees so that, at the very least, they are aware of the existence of these plans. Get them to participate in the tests as much as possible.

For more detailed information on IT incident management, we recommend you read the guide drafted by the Belgian Cyber ​​Security Coalition, of which ING Belgium is a member. 

One last important tip

Always keep a copy of IT incident management plans outside of your computer system, in case it becomes inaccessible following an incident.

Secure Business

9 août 2019

La gestion des incidents informatiques

Les petites et moyennes entreprises ne sont pas épargnées par les incidents informatiques, et les conséquences peuvent parfois être désastreuses.

Songez par exemple à une paralysie, plusieurs jours durant, de l’entreprise en raison du blocage total des ordinateurs et des machines de production provoqué par un cryptoware (un virus informatique qui a la particularité de crypter les machines d’un réseau en vue d’obtenir une rançon pour les débloquer).

Soyez préparé

  • Demandez-vous quel type de situation pourrait causer du tort à votre entreprise. Certaines entreprises peuvent très bien fonctionner avec un site Internet bloqué, d’autres pas. Cette étape constitue ce que l’on appelle le Risk Assessment, ou la gestion des risques.

  • Établissez un plan d’action pour répondre aux incidents. Il est préférable de disposer d’un plan détaillé par type d’incident, avec une description précise des rôles et des responsabilités de chacun.

  • Testez au moins un de ces plans annuellement afin d’entraîner vos collaborateurs à réagir dans ce genre de situations. En effet, l’inexpérience donne souvent lieu à des mésaventures qu’il vaut mieux éviter dans ces moments de crise.

  • Après chaque test, analysez la réaction de vos équipes et mettez le plan à jour.

  • Pensez à impliquer votre équipe de communication et votre service juridique dans la création et le test du plan. 

  • Impliquez vos employés de façon à ce qu’ils soient au moins au courant de l’existence de ces plans. Faites-les participer aux tests dans toute la mesure du possible.

Pour des informations plus détaillées sur la gestion des incidents informatiques, nous vous recommandons la lecture du guide rédigé par la Belgian Cyber Security Coalition, dont ING Belgique est membre. 

Un dernier conseil important

Conservez toujours un exemplaire des plans de gestion des incidents informatiques en dehors de votre système informatique, au cas où ce dernier serait inaccessible en raison d’un incident.