Starters

Just starting out on your own? Take advantage tax-wise of advance payments

Although you are not obliged to make any advance payments as a newly self-employed person or freelancer, doing so voluntarily can bring tax advantages. Find out how it works.

Whether you’re an employee, a civil servant or self-employed, you have to pay taxes on your income. For employees and civil servants, these are deducted (in part) monthly from the salary. With a self-employed person, it’s a different story. After all, it is more difficult to know exactly how much you will earn each month. However, you can pay taxes during the current year, without waiting for the end of the financial year (and then having to pay the full amount in one go).

In principle, as a self-employed person, you pay part of the taxes you think you will owe for that year, four times a year. You estimate the amount of the advance payments based on the profits you expect to make in the current year. 

What are advance payments and what options do you have? Find out in this article

Making advance payments as a newly self-employed person

However, if you are starting a self-employed activity for the first time as a main occupation, you do not have to make any advance payments for the first three financial years. Nor are you at risk of a tax increase if you don’t make advance payments. Yet many first-time self-employed people do make advance payments. There is a good reason for this.

Indeed, starting self-employed persons without a company and liberal professionals (not applicable to small enterprises) are eligible for a tax reduction in the first three years if they have made sufficient advance payments. In other words, by making enough advance payments, you get a discount on your taxes at the end.

For the assessment year 2022 (income 2021), the amount of such tax credit is equal to the sum of:

  • Amount of the 1st advance payment x 1.50%
  • Amount of 2nd advance payment x 1.25%
  • Amount of the 3rd advance payment x 1%
  • Amount of the 4th advance payment x 0.75%

In order to be entitled to the reduction (also called bonus), you must have already paid 106% of your final tax due in advance. In other words, you must have already paid 'too much' tax in advance.

It is best to make as many advance payments as possible in the first quarter, as this yields the highest tax benefit. Good to know: The bonus applies not only for the first three years, but also afterwards. And if you make more advance payments than necessary to avoid the tax increase, you will of course get back the surplus.

What if you don't have enough funds for the advance payments?

You may be convinced by now that making advance payments is an attractive idea. But perhaps you prefer not to draw on your own resources or you don’t have the means at the moment? Then a financing contract can offer a solution. Such a contract means that your bank finances the advance payments for you. This is attractive for several reasons:

  • Firstly, because you can deduct the interest from your taxes.
  • And secondly, because you have less administration to do: ING transfers the amount directly to the tax authorities, without you having to arrange much. And the earlier in the year you repay the loan, the lower the interest rate

Let ING deposit your estimated taxes for you

Starters

Starter ? Tirez un avantage fiscal de vos versements anticipés

Bien que vous ne soyez pas tenu d'effectuer des versements anticipés en tant qu’indépendant débutant ou profession libérale, vous pouvez en retirer un avantage fiscal. Découvrez comment cela fonctionne.

Que vous soyez salarié, fonctionnaire ou indépendant, vous devez payer des impôts sur vos revenus. Pour les salariés et les fonctionnaires, ils sont retenus (en partie) mensuellement sur le salaire. Pour les indépendants, c'est une autre histoire. En effet, il est plus difficile de savoir exactement combien vous allez gagner chaque mois. Toutefois, vous pouvez déjà payer des impôts durant l'année en cours, sans attendre la fin de l'exercice (et payer ensuite le montant total en une seule fois).

En principe, en tant qu'indépendant, vous payez quatre fois par an une partie des impôts dont vous pensez être redevable pour cette année. Vous estimez le montant des versements anticipés sur la base des bénéfices que vous prévoyez de réaliser pendant l'année en cours. 

Que sont les versements anticipés et quelles sont les options dont vous disposez ? Découvrez-le dans cet article.

Effectuer des versements anticipés en tant que starter

Toutefois, si vous démarrez pour la première fois une activité indépendante à titre principal, vous ne devez pas effectuer de versements anticipés pendant les trois premiers exercices. Vous ne risquez pas non plus de subir une majoration d'impôt pour absence de versements anticipés. Pourtant, nombreux starters effectuent des versements anticipés. Il y a une bonne raison à cela.

En effet, les indépendants débutants en personne physique et les professions libérales (cela ne s’applique donc pas aux petites entreprises) peuvent bénéficier d'une réduction d'impôt les trois premières années s'ils ont effectué des versements anticipés suffisants. En d'autres termes, en effectuant suffisamment de versements anticipés, vous bénéficiez au final d'une réduction sur vos impôts.

Pour l'année d'imposition 2022 (revenus 2021), le montant de cette réduction d'impôt est égal à la somme de :

  • Montant du 1er versement anticipé x 1,50 %.
  • Montant du 2e versement anticipé x 1,25 %.
  • Montant du 3e versement anticipé x 1 %.
  • Montant du 4e versement anticipé x 0,75 %.

Pour avoir droit à la réduction (également appelée bonification), vous devez avoir déjà versé anticipativement 106% de votre impôt final dû. En d'autres termes, vous devez avoir déjà versé « trop » d'impôts anticipativement.

Il est préférable d'effectuer le plus grand nombre possible de versements anticipés au cours du premier trimestre, car c'est celui qui procure l’avantage fiscal le plus élevé. Bon à savoir : la bonification s'applique non seulement pendant les trois premières années, mais aussi par la suite. Et si vous effectuez plus de versements anticipés que nécessaire pour éviter la majoration d'impôt, vous récupérerez bien sûr l'excédent.

Que faire si vous n'avez pas assez de fonds pour les versements anticipés ?

Vous êtes peut-être déjà convaincu que les paiements anticipés sont une idée intéressante ? Mais vous préférez ne pas puiser dans vos fonds propres ou vous ne disposez pas temporairement des ressources ? Dans ce cas, un un contrat de financement peut être la solution. Avec un tel contrat, votre banque finance les versements anticipés pour vous. C’est intéressant à plus d’un titre.

  • Tout d'abord, parce que vous pouvez déduire les intérêts de vos impôts.
  • Ensuite, parce que cela réduit votre charge administrative : ING effectue directement le virement du montant à l’administration fiscale, sans que vous ayez à faire quoi que ce soit. Et plus tôt dans l'année vous remboursez le crédit, plus le taux d'intérêt est bas.

Laissez ING verser vos anticipés d'impôts