Daily management

31 March 2016

What is a mixed fund?

Some funds invest solely in one type of financial product, such as share funds or bond funds. However there are also "mixed" funds that, as their name suggests, place their assets in a mixture of different asset class categories.

What types of mixed funds are there?

There are 2 types of mixed funds: "classic" funds and "flexible“ funds.

Generally speaking, the manager of a "classic" fund will establish an investment policy based on a fixed distribution of shares and bonds. Within this category, there are 3 different fund types: defensive funds, neutral funds and dynamic funds. The latter are made up of the highest fixed proportion of shares.

The percentage invested in shares within a "flexible" fund may fluctuate considerably. This flexibility allows the fund to adjust its make-up according to the behaviour of the market. While the market is moving in a stable and upwards direction, flexible funds have the opportunity to benefit from some of these peaks thanks to their higher share exposure. When the market goes through turbulent times, however, mixed "flexible" funds are able to limit their risk exposure or even completely withdraw from the equities market altogether.

What are the main advantages and risks of mixed funds?

The major advantage of mixed funds is that they are less risky than "pure” share funds. They also allow investors to benefit from good market performances, while still limiting their risk exposure. As a general rule, this type of fund is more resilient in the event of a market correction than one which is made up of 100% shares. Why? Because mixed funds also invest in bonds and/or in liquidities. On the other hand, mixed funds do not allow you to benefit fully from, e.g., a rise in share prices in the same way that 100% share funds do.

The fact that mixed funds are deemed to have a limited risk does not mean they are risk free. In fact, these types of funds do not come with a capital guarantee.

Mixed funds generally enable investors to diversify their assets as much as the geographical or sectoral spread of their portfolio. In most cases, these funds are invested at a global level. This consequently reduces the risk of the portfolio by offering more resilience in the event of market fluctuations.

Gérer votre capital

31 mars 2016

Qu’est-ce qu’un fonds mixte ?

On retrouve des fonds qui investissent dans un seul type de produit financier, comme les fonds d’actions ou les fonds d’obligations. Mais il existe aussi des fonds "mixtes" qui, comme leur nom l’indique, répartissent leurs avoirs dans différentes catégories d’actifs.

Quels sont les différents types de fonds mixtes ?

Il existe 2 types de fonds mixtes : les fonds "classiques" et les fonds "flexibles".

De manière générale, le gestionnaire d’un fonds dit "classique" établit une politique d’investissement prévoyant une répartition fixe entre actions et obligations. Dans cette même catégorie, on distingue 3 types de fonds : les fonds défensifs, les fonds neutres et les fonds dynamiques (qui comporte une proportion d’actions fixe la plus élevée).

Le pourcentage investi en actions dans un fonds "flexible" peut quant à lui fluctuer librement. Cette flexibilité permet au fonds d’ajuster sa composition en fonction du comportement du marché. Lorsque les marchés évoluent favorablement et de manière stable, les fonds mixtes flexibles ont la possibilité de capter une partie de cette hausse, grâce à leur exposition aux actions. Lorsque les marchés connaissent une période de turbulence, les fonds mixtes "flexibles" ont la possibilité de limiter leur exposition aux risques, voire de sortir complètement des marchés d’actions.

Quels sont les principaux avantages et risques des fonds mixtes ?

L’atout majeur des fonds mixtes réside dans le fait qu’ils sont moins risqués que les fonds d’actions "purs". Ils permettent aussi aux investisseurs de profiter de la bonne performance des marchés tout en prenant un risque plus limité. En règle générale, en cas de correction boursière, ce type de fonds montre davantage de résistance qu’un fonds composé à 100 % d’actions. Pourquoi ? Car les fonds mixtes sont également investis en obligations et/ou en liquidités. Mais a contrario, ils ne permettent pas de profiter entièrement de la hausse des cours à l’instar des fonds entièrement investis en actions.

Si on parle de risque limité, cela ne signifie pas pour autant que ces fonds ne comportent aucun risque. Il n’y a, en effet, aucune garantie de capital sur ce type de fonds.

De plus, un fonds mixte offre généralement aux investisseurs tant une diversification en termes d’actifs qu’une diversification en termes géographiques et sectoriels. Ces fonds investissent, la plupart du temps, au niveau mondial. Ceci a pour effet de réduire le risque du portefeuille et de montrer une meilleure résilience en cas de baisse des marchés.