Duvel Moortgat
Deal amount:
  • Delisting from Euronext Brussels of the 126 million euros  free float of Duvel Moortgat
  • Acquisition financing for Hopinvest and Fibemi of 126 million euros
  • Revolving credit facility for Duvel Moortgat of 72 million euros
ING's role:
  • M&A Advisor for the bidders
  • Sole Provider Acquisition Facilities for the bidders
  • Coordinator & BMLA Revolving Credit Facilities for Duvel Moortgat NV

Other managers have their say

Michel Moorgat  

Michel Moortgat

CEO of Duvel Moortgat

Fellow entrepreneurs often asked me, 'Michel, what are you doing on the stock exchange?' 

Duvel Moortgat is one of the largest Belgian brewery groups. In 1999 the group listed on the stock exchange. In 2012, however, the Moortgat family decided to remove the company from the stock exchange. In doing so they could count on the support of ING which guided them through the delisting and provided them with full financial backing. As well as the acquisition finance, a rolling credit facility spread across 3 banks was also set up, which from then on has financed the activities of Duvel Moortgat.

Duvel Moortgat's story is a long one. Literally. "We are now in the fourth generation," Michel Moortgat explains. When he, together with his brother Philippe, took over the running of the brewery in 1998, they were confronted with a fragmented shareholder structure. "Something needed to change."

Together with his brothers Philippe and Bernard, they bought out most of the other family shareholders in various stages. The 3 men increased their stake in the Duvel group from 25% to 88%. Their second cousin Veerle Baert remained a shareholder and went into collaboration with the 3 brothers. They had big plans for the company and therefore placed a quarter of the shares onto the Brussels stock exchange. Their aim: to become more professional by diversifying and growing through internationalisation.

Their growth strategy was therefore twofold. The group needed to become less dependent on its highly successful Duvel product and on the Belgian home market. "Duvel remains our star performer and the Belgian market continues to provide us with well over half of our turnover, but we still wanted to diversify," the CEO says.

Duvel Moortgat opted for a rather contradictory approach regarding internationalisation. The global beer market is still growing by around 2% annually, however that is mainly in emerging countries. In so-called "mature" beer countries – with an annual consumption of 80 to 100 litres per capita – there has been a stabilisation or even a slight decrease. "In any case, we opted to expand in the mature markets," says Michel Moortgat. "This is because beer consumption there is shifting. Less beer is perhaps being drunk, but the connoisseurs are opting for speciality beers much more often. And that is our speciality."

Duvel Moortgat set up sales, distribution and marketing structures in the Netherlands, France, the UK and the US. Today, the group has 800 employees. Of these, 90 work in the US, 25 in the Netherlands and another 25 in France. There is also a team of 30 people working in China.

Duvel remains the face of the group. However, over the last few years a range of beers has been added. Vedett got a second lease of life, while the brewery group also began to promote Maredsous, took over Brasserie d'Achouffe, became a partner in the Czech brewery Bernard, bought the American brewery Ommegang and became owner of Liefmans Brewery and De Koninck Brewery.

"We have been working on our strategy for more than 10 years," says Michel Moortgat. "Successfully: our turnover rose from 30 to 180 million euros, and the cash flow followed."

Interestingly enough, the stock exchange listing played no meaningful role in that story. "To our surprise, we realised that we had never once relied on the stock exchange to help our growth strategy," the CEO explains. "We did not even once go to collect money to help our expansion. We were a small cap in a big stock exchange, with a 25% free float. We did not have enough liquidity for institutional investors. We had all the costs with none of the advantages of a stock exchange listing."

Therefore, at the start of 2013 the 3 brothers and their second cousin bought back the listed shares. "With everything taken into account we have run a good race: from an initial price of 35 euros to a buy-back price of 95 euros. Everyone has had a chance to see some added value", says Michel Moortgat. Although it was by no means always a straight line to the top: during a certain period the price even sunk to 15 euros. "We found that to be very bizarre. The company was growing, but the value of the shares was going down..."

The decision to leave the stock exchange was not taken overnight. "Fellow entrepreneurs often asked me: "Michel, what are you doing on the stock exchange?" During the early years we also saw a number of other companies leaving the stock exchange. And then several bankers approached us, asking whether we would be interested in delisting."

The buy-back bid was one of the largest transactions on the Brussels stock exchange that year. The bid cost 125 million euros. The financing for it was provided by ING, which placed the credit with two other banks.

Michel Moortgat remains satisfied with the almost 14 year long experience on the stock exchange. "The introduction obliged us to quickly and resolutely become more professional. If I had to start over again, I would make the same choice."

But how does the group now view the future of its strategy? Michel Moortgat: "Growth is increasingly coming from abroad. We are therefore going to concentrate more on that. We will definitely consider brewing more beer abroad. In that case I am not thinking about Duvel, but about other speciality beers. And in any case we will implement the growth strategy in steps, at a pace we can cope with. We have discovered that 15% in 1 year is our maximum – both for management and for production capacity, marketing and recruitment. You must know your limits."

Moortgat relies on classic loans to finance this growth, boosted where necessary by corporate bonds. "Duvel Moortgat has a solid solvency, a strong reputation and an excellent relationship with its bankers. I think it is a good time to take on liabilities. We will continue to grow."

Other managers have their say

Stefaan Gielens  

Stefaan Gielens

Read the article

Lucas Barry  

Lucas Barry

Read the article

Duvel Moortgat
Deal amount:
  • Delisting from Euronext Brussels of the 126 million euros free float of Duvel Moortgat
  • Acquisition financing for Hopinvest and Fibemi of 126 million euros
  • Revolving credit facility for Duvel Moortgat of 72 million euros
ING's role:
  • M&A Advisor for the bidders
  • Sole Provider Acquisition Facilities for the bidders
  • Coordinator & BMLA Revolving Credit Facilities for Duvel Moortgat NV

La parole à d’autres managers

Michel Moorgat  

Michel Moortgat

CEO de Duvel Moortgat

Des collègues entrepreneurs me demandaient régulièrement 'Michel, mais que fais-tu en Bourse ?' 

Duvel Moortgat, l'un des principaux groupes brassicoles belges, est entré en Bourse en 1999. En 2012, la famille Moortgat a toutefois décidé de retirer l'entreprise de la Bourse. Elle a pu compter sur l'aide d'ING, qui s'est chargée de cette opération et a organisé le financement nécessaire. Outre le financement du rachat, un crédit revolving, réparti sur 3 banques, assure désormais le financement des activités de Duvel Moortgat.

Au cours de ces 15 dernières années, la brasserie Duvel Moortgat a adopté une stratégie de croissance active. Le groupe a fait l'acquisition de plusieurs homologues de moindre envergure, dont les brasseries Liefmans, Achouffe et De Koninck. Dans le même temps, elle a étendu son champ d'action géographique, notamment via une participation dans une brasserie tchèque et une reprise aux États-Unis. Au début de l'année, Duvel Moortgat s’est retiré de la Bourse de Bruxelles. "Nous n'avons pas besoin d'une cotation en Bourse pour poursuivre notre croissance", explique Michel Moortgat, CEO du groupe.

Duvel Moortgat est une longue histoire. Littéralement. "Nous en sommes déjà à la 4e génération", explique Michel Moortgat. Lorsqu'il a repris la direction de la brasserie avec son frère Philippe en 1998, il a été confronté à une dispersion de l’actionnariat. "Il fallait faire quelque chose."

Avec ses frères Philippe et Bernard, il a progressivement racheté la participation de la plupart des autres actionnaires familiaux. Les 3 frères ont augmenté leur participation dans le groupe Duvel de 25 % à 88 %. Veerle Baert, leur arrière-cousine, est également restée actionnaire et s'est associée aux trois frères. Ils nourrissaient de grands projets pour l'entreprise et ont donc placé un quart des actions sur la Bourse de Bruxelles. Objectif : professionnaliser par la diversification et se développer par l'internationalisation.

Leur stratégie de croissance était donc double. Le groupe devait réduire sa dépendance au produit phare qu’est la Duvel et au marché domestique belge. "La Duvel reste notre fleuron et le marché belge continue de représenter plus de la moitié du chiffre d'affaires, mais nous voulions nous diversifier", précise le CEO.

Quant à l'internationalisation, Duvel Moortgat a opté pour une approche non conventionnelle. Le marché mondial de la bière enregistre une croissance d'environ 2 % par an, mais essentiellement dans les nouveaux pays émergents. Dans les pays brassicoles dits "matures" – qui enregistrent une consommation de bière de 80 à 100 litres par habitant par an – on note une stabilisation, voire un recul. "Néanmoins, nous avons opté pour une expansion dans ces marchés matures", explique Michel Moortgat. "Parce que la consommation de bière y évolue. La consommation y est peut-être moindre, mais les connaisseurs optent plus souvent pour des bières spéciales. Et ça, c'est notre domaine."

Duvel Moortgat a mis en place des structures de vente, de distribution et de marketing aux Pays-Bas, en France, au Royaume-Uni et aux États-Unis. Le groupe compte aujourd'hui 800 collaborateurs, dont 90 aux États-Unis, 25 aux Pays-Bas et 25 en France. Dans l’intervalle, une équipe de 30 personnes est également active en Chine.

La Duvel reste la vitrine du groupe. Mais toute une série de bières sont venues s'y ajouter ces dernières années. Vedett a ressuscité, mais le groupe brassicole a également repositionné Maredsous, repris la brasserie d'Achouffe, pris une participation dans la brasserie tchèque Bernard, racheté la brasserie américaine Ommegang et fait l'acquisition des brasseries Liefmans et De Koninck.

"Nous avons peaufiné notre stratégie pendant plus de 10 ans", ajoute Michel Moortgat. "Et avec succès : le chiffre d'affaires est passé de 30 à 180 millions d'euros, et le cash-flow a suivi."

Bizarrement, la cotation en Bourse n'a pas joué de rôle significatif. "Nous avons constaté, à notre étonnement, que nous n'avions jamais eu recours à la Bourse dans le cadre de notre stratégie de croissance", explique le CEO. "Nous n'avons jamais levé d'argent pour notre expansion. Nous étions en outre une faible capitalisation dans un petit pays boursier, avec un free float de 25 %. Nous n’avions pas suffisamment de liquidités pour les investisseurs institutionnels. En revanche, nous supportions les coûts d'une cotation en Bourse, sans en avoir les avantages."

Début 2013, les 3 frères et leur arrière-cousine ont donc racheté les actions cotées. "Globalement, notre parcours fut bon : d'un cours initial de 35 euros à un rachat à 95 euros. Tout le monde a eu l'occasion de réaliser une plus-value", explique Michel Moortgat. Même si le trajet n'a pas été une ascension en ligne droite : à une certaine période, le cours a même brièvement chuté jusqu'à 15 euros. "Nous avons trouvé cette situation illogique. L'entreprise se développait, mais la valeur de l'action baissait..."

La décision de quitter la Bourse n'a pas été prise du jour au lendemain. "Des collègues entrepreneurs m'interpellaient régulièrement à ce sujet : "Michel, mais que fais-tu en Bourse ?", me demandaient-ils. Ces dernières années, nous avons également constaté que plusieurs autres entreprises quittaient la Bourse. Et c'est à ce moment que quelques banquiers nous ont sondé pour savoir si nous étions intéressés par un retrait de la cote."

L'offre de rachat fut l'une des plus grandes opérations de l'année à la Bourse de Bruxelles. Son coût a atteint 125 millions d'euros. Le financement y afférent a été fourni par ING, qui a replacé le crédit auprès de 2 autres banques.

Michel Moortgat jette un regard satisfait sur cette expérience boursière de près de 14 années. "L’introduction en Bourse nous a contraints à une professionnalisation énergique et rapide. Si je devais recommencer, je referais le même choix."

Mais comment le groupe envisage-t-il aujourd'hui la suite de sa stratégie ? Michel Moortgat : "La croissance vient de plus en plus de l'étranger. Nous allons miser davantage sur cet aspect. Nous envisagerons certainement de brasser un plus grand nombre de bières à l'étranger. Je ne pense pas à la Duvel, mais à d'autres bières spéciales. Et en tous cas, nous mettrons cette stratégie de croissance en œuvre de manière progressive, à un rythme qui nous convient. Nous nous sommes rendu compte que 15 % en 1 an constituait un maximum – tant pour la direction que pour la capacité de production, la commercialisation, le recrutement. Il faut connaître ses limites."

Pour financer cette croissance, Moortgat compte sur des emprunts classiques, complétés le cas échéant par des obligations d'entreprise. "Duvel Moortgat affiche une bonne solvabilité, possède une bonne réputation et entretient d’excellentes relations avec ses banquiers. Je pense que le moment est bien choisi pour contracter des dettes. Nous poursuivrons notre croissance."

La parole à d’autres managers

Stefaan Gielens  

Stefaan Gielens

Lire l'article

Lucas Barry  

Lucas Barry

Lire l'article