Gert Bervoets

CEO of H.Essers

 

Thanks to its triple strategy, H.Essers has been growing robustly for two decades. The Genk-based logistics company has made a string of acquisitions and is increasingly generating revenue in Central and Eastern Europe. CEO Gert Bervoets explains why.

Almost EUR 410 million in revenue in 2013, more than 3,700 employees, 32 facilities in 11 countries: the figures fire the imagination. “Everything is relative” says Gert Bervoets, CEO of H.Essers since 1 April 2013. “In Limburg, we are the leader of the pack - we are the largest employer in the province - but at Belgian level we are only average-sized and at European level we certainly aren’t a major player. So let’s keep our feet firmly on the ground.”

High ambitions

Feet firmly on the ground, but high ambitions. Since the mid-1990s, the company has more than quadrupled its revenue. This is a family business - today’s managing director is Hilde Essers, granddaughter of Henri Essers, who founded the company in 1928, together with her father Noël Essers. The firm aims to expand further in the coming years via acquisitions as well as organic growth.

Annual growth of 10%

“Annual growth of 10% or more is vital to our strategy,” explains Gert Bervoets. “Our aim is to be an asset-based company: to invest all our profits in trucks, trailers, warehouses and IT. This will allow us to meet our goal of responding to the market quickly and flexibly. Things are not as easy when you lease warehouses. To pay back these loans, we must continue to grow. And to grow, we must continue to invest. For this reason, growth and investment are inextricably linked.”

EUR 56 million in investments

H.Essers makes sizeable investments each year. The company invested EUR 56 million in 2013: EUR 25 million in buildings, EUR 25 million in rolling stock and EUR 6 million in IT. In October 2013, the Limburg-based company proudly opened a new 30,000 m2 facility in Romania’s capital, Bucharest.

1 million m2 of storage space

Other recent investments: a 12,000-m2 warehouse opened in Wilrijk in September 2013, 10,000 m2 of extra storage space at the headquarters in Genk modified in January 2014 to handle pharmaceutical products, and a new 10,000 m2 distribution centre in Lommel specially built for the partnership with candle maker Spaas to open in May 2014. H.Essers is moving ever further up the supply chain with its services, until just after production. Logistics and warehousing in the meantime account for more than a quarter of total revenue. For the chocolatier Godiva, for example, the facility in Kampenhout handles not only its logistics and distribution, but also its packaging. For all sites combined, H.Essers will have almost one million m2 in storage space by the middle of 2014.

A new truck every day

A second tranche of EUR 25 million is being invested in trucks and trailers. The H.Essers fleet consists of 1,250 units that are replaced every four years. “This means we need to purchase 200 to 350 units each year. This comes down, as it were, to one new truck or trailer per day. For this we can count on ING Lease, a specialised division of ING.”

Air and rail as well

In addition to traditional transport by road, the company has other niche activities such as specialised transport between European airports, oversized loads, bulk transport and multimodal transport. One terminal is located at the headquarters in Genk, from which a train departs for Curtici in Romania five times per week.

Safes on wheels

While an asset-based approach may be the first strategic choice, the second choice is for specialisation in pharmaceutical products, chemicals and ‘high security’. ‘High security’ is high-value transport such as electronics, clothing and cigarettes. This requires still greater levels of investment. “For example, due to the nature of their cargo, our trucks must be monitored remotely. Our trailers must be able to keep their cargo cool and are equipped with extra protection. They are safes on wheels. To give an example: a number of trailers have seven different SIM cards built into them. The cargo section can only be opened if we in Genk push the button. In this context, we also invest approximately EUR 6 million in in-house IT development each year.”

Looking to Eastern Europe

The third strategic choice of H.Essers is its focus on Central and Eastern Europe. The logistics company believes that there are even more possibilities for growth in the region. Romania in the meantime has become a second homeland, with Turkey and Russia to follow. Traffic to Moscow, for example, increased strongly in the second half of 2013. The company’s ‘high security’ transport services certainly play a role here. “While this summer we still had 10 to 15 trucks leaving for Russia every week, now this number has already risen to 50 per week. They travel to Lithuania, where our Russian drivers take over. Russian customs is strict about whom it allows into the country,” explains Gert Bervoets.

Loans on competitive terms

Given the strong focus on growth and its asset-based strategy, H.Essers requires large investment loans each year. “ING has been an important partner for years in this area. I have the impression that ING goes to great lengths to give us competitive rates. This probably has something to do with our loan volume and our long-term relationship: H.Essers and ING have been working together for two decades.”

Expansion of cash pooling to Romania

In 2013, H.Essers received the ‘Export Lion’, a prize awarded by Flanders Investment & Trade for companies that score strongly in the area of export. It must be noted that 84% of H.Essers’s revenue comes from abroad. “Our group comprises many companies in various countries, each with their own accounts. In partnership with ING, we have set up a cash pooling scheme to optimise our available cash. The system works well, and we now wish to expand it to Romania. Tough regulations make this difficult, but I am convinced that ING can make it happen.”

Factoring

In addition to leasing, loans and cash pooling, ING will soon also be helping H.Essers grow with factoring. “One sixth of our EUR 410 million in revenue is always in the form of receivables, since our customers are granted payment terms of 30 or even 60 days. Our goal now is to pass on this debt to the bank, while we ourselves continue to follow up payment on the invoices. This form of financing in principle follows revenue and thus can contribute to growth.”

Insight and advice

Finally, one ING service that H.Essers presently does not use enough, according to Gert Bervoets, is its advice and market studies department. Recently, ING Event Financing conducted a study at H.Essers to gain more insight into the current balance sheet and the possibilities for growth financing. “But macro-economic trends, new technologies and forecasts on the price of diesel, for example, could also be very useful. Our trucks consume 50 million litres of diesel per year. Knowledge that the price per litre will increase or decrease by 10 euro cents is very valuable when drawing up a budget. I am also wondering what the impact on H.Essers would be if shale gas, for example, were to become an important source of energy.”

Trust and transparency

“Words such as ‘trust’ and ‘transparency’ can sound hollow when applied to a banking relationship, but ING Relationship Manager Martine Vansweevelt, CFO Koenraad Rogiers, Hilde Essers and I all have the habit of communicating openly and clearly,” says Gert Bervoets. “We meet every quarter to review the results and present our plans. With our way of interacting, we all know where we stand with each other. When things go less well we don’t gloss over the facts, and we don’t continually shop around at other banks. In exchange, we receive good rates and comprehensive service. I believe this is the best foundation for a future-oriented partnership.”

Gert Bervoets: In-house CEO

Limburger Gert Bervoets (44) has been CEO of H.Essers since 1 April 2013. He had already been working at H.Essers for eleven years. He started as plant manager in Wilrijk in 2002, gradually received more responsibilities, including for Romania, and in recent years was General Manager Warehousing. Before he came to H.Essers, Gert worked eight years as Group Product Manager at Nestlé. He studied commercial engineering at the Hogeschool-Universiteit Brussel (HUB).

 

 

Other managers have their say

 

Benoit Beauvois

Christian Guillaume

Read the article

 

Philippe Dehaspe

Read the article

Gert Bervoets  

Gert Bervoets

CEO de H.Essers

 

Grâce à sa triple stratégie, H.Essers connaît une croissance exponentielle depuis plus de deux décennies. L’entreprise logistique de Genk enchaîne les reprises et ne cesse de grossir son chiffre d’affaires en Europe centrale et de l’Est. Son CEO, Gert Bervoets, nous explique pourquoi et comment.

Près de 410 millions d’euros de chiffre d’affaires en 2013, un peu plus de 3.700 collaborateurs, 32 filiales dans 11 pays, des chiffres qui laissent rêveur. « Tout est relatif », estime Gert Bervoets, CEO de H.Essers depuis le 1er avril 2013. « Au Limbourg, nous nous trouvons dans le peloton de tête – nous sommes le plus gros employeur de la province –, mais au niveau belge, nous ne figurons que dans la moyenne, et au niveau européen, nous ne représentons pas grand-chose. Nous gardons donc les pieds sur terre. »

De grandes ambitions

Les pieds sur terre, certes, mais de grandes ambitions. Depuis le milieu des années 1990, la firme a plus que quadruplé son chiffre d’affaires. L’entreprise familiale – Hilde Essers, petite-fille de Henri Essers qui a fondé l’entreprise en 1928, est aujourd’hui administratrice déléguée avec son père, Noël Essers – vise dans les prochaines années une poursuite de l’expansion, tant via des reprises que via une croissance naturelle.

Une croissance annuelle de 10 %

« Une croissance annuelle de 10 % ou plus est nécessaire pour soutenir notre stratégie », explique Gert Bervoets. « Nous voulons être une entreprise asset-based, c’est-à-dire basée sur ses propres actifs : nous investissons l’intégralité de notre bénéfice dans des tracteurs, des semi-remorques, des entrepôts et l’IT. Cette stratégie nous permet de répondre à la demande du marché avec rapidité et flexibilité, comme nous le voulons. Les choses ne sont pas aussi fluides quand vous louez des entrepôts. Néanmoins, pour pouvoir rembourser ces crédits, nous devons continuer à croître. Et pour pouvoir croître, nous devons continuer à investir. Croissance et investissements sont donc indissolublement liés. »

Des investissements à concurrence de 56 millions d’euros

H.Essers réalise de nombreux investissements chaque année. En 2013, l’entreprise a investi 56 millions d’euros : 25 millions dans des bâtiments, 25 millions dans du matériel roulant et 6 millions dans l’IT. En octobre 2013, cette entreprise qui fait la fierté du Limbourg a également ouvert une nouvelle implantation de 30.000 m2 à Bucarest, capitale de la Roumanie.

1 million de m2 d’espaces de stockage

Autres investissements récents: un entrepôt de 12.000 m2 mis en service en septembre 2013 à Wilrijk, 10.000 m2 d’espaces de stockage supplémentaires au siège principal de Genk, adaptés en janvier 2014 à la manutention des produits pharmaceutiques, et un nouveau centre de distribution de 10.000 m2 à Lommel. Ce centre sera opérationnel en mai 2014 et a été tout spécialement construit pour la collaboration avec Spaas Kaarsen. L’offre de services de H.Essers remonte en effet toujours plus en amont dans la chaîne d’approvisionnement, au plus près de la production. La logistique et le stockage représentent un bon quart du chiffre d’affaires. Pour le chocolatier Godiva, par exemple, le site de Kampenhout assure non seulement la logistique et la distribution, mais aussi l’emballage. Tous sites confondus, H.Essers disposera à la mi-2014 de près de 1 million de m2 d’espaces de stockage.

Un nouveau tracteur par jour

Une seconde tranche de 25 millions d’euros est consacrée aux tracteurs et aux semi-remorques. La flotte de H.Essers compte 1.250 véhicules, qui sont remplacés tous les quatre ans. « Nous avons ainsi besoin chaque année de 200 à 350 véhicules. Cela revient pratiquement à un nouveau tracteur ou semi-remorque par jour. A cet égard, nous pouvons compter sur ING Lease, un département spécialisé d’ING. »

Aussi par voies aérienne et ferroviaire

En plus du transport classique par la route, l’entreprise occupe encore d’autres niches, comme le transport spécialisé entre les aéroports européens, les convois exceptionnels, le transport en vrac et le transport multimodal. Le siège principal de Genk possède un terminal d’où part un train cinq fois par semaine à destination de Curtici en Roumanie.

Des coffres-forts sur roues

Si l’asset-based constitue le premier choix stratégique, le second est la spécialisation dans les produits pharmaceutiques, les produits chimiques et le « high security », c’est-à-dire le transport de marchandises à haute valeur, comme l’électronique, les vêtements ou les cigarettes. Le niveau des investissements est dès lors encore plus élevé. « En raison de leurs cargaisons, nos camions doivent pouvoir être suivis à distance. Nos semi-remorques doivent pouvoir conserver leurs cargaisons au frais et ils bénéficient d’une protection supplémentaire. Ce sont de véritables coffres-forts sur roues. Nous avons ainsi intégré pas moins de sept cartes SIM dans certains de nos semi-remorques : grâce à cela, les espaces de chargement ne peuvent être déverrouillés que si le siège de Genk en prend l’initiative. C’est la raison pour laquelle nous investissons aussi chaque année près de 6 millions d’euros dans nos propres développements IT. »

Un regard sur l’Europe de l’Est

Le troisième choix stratégique de H.Essers est la focalisation sur l’Europe centrale et de l’Est. L’entreprise de logistique estime qu’il y a encore là-bas de nombreuses possibilités de croissance. Entre-temps, la Roumanie est devenue sa deuxième « patrie », suivie de près par la Turquie et la Russie. Le trafic vers Moscou a ainsi fortement augmenté au second semestre 2013. L’offre de transport « high security » n’y est certainement pas étrangère. « Alors que cet été encore, 10 à 15 camions par semaine partaient pour la Russie, nous en sommes aujourd’hui à 50 par semaine. Ils vont jusqu’en Lituanie où ils sont relayés par nos chauffeurs russes. La douane russe ne laisse pas pénétrer qui veut dans le pays ! », précise Gert Bervoets.

Des crédits conformes au marché

Vu le fort accent sur la croissance et la stratégie asset-based, H.Essers a besoin chaque année d’importants crédits d’investissement. « Depuis de nombreuses années, ING est un partenaire important en la matière. La banque met tout en œuvre pour nous proposer des tarifs conformes au marché. Notre volume de crédit et notre relation à long terme – H.Essers et ING collaborent depuis vingt ans déjà – n’y sont assurément pas étrangers. »

Extension du cash pooling vers la Roumanie

En 2013, H.Essers a remporté un « Leeuw van de Export », un prix décerné par Flanders Investment & Trade aux entreprises qui cartonnent à l’exportation. H.Essers réalise 84 % de son chiffre d’affaires à l’étranger. « Notre groupe compte énormément de sociétés, dans différents pays, avec chacune leurs propres comptes. Nous avons instauré avec ING un cash pooling, une gestion centralisée de la trésorerie, afin de l’optimaliser. Le système fonctionne de façon fluide et nous voulons désormais aussi l’étendre à la Roumanie. Un projet peu évident à cause des difficultés posées par la législation, mais je suis convaincu qu’ING y parviendra. »

Le factoring

Outre le leasing, les crédits et le cash pooling, ING va prochainement aussi faciliter la croissance de H.Essers avec le factoring ou affacturage. « Un sixième de notre chiffre d’affaires de 410 millions d’euros est continuellement ouvert, étant donné que nos clients ont un délai de paiement à 30 ou même 60 jours. Ce mécanisme financier nous permet de nous débarrasser de cette dette auprès de la banque, tout en continuant nous-mêmes à assurer le suivi du paiement des factures. Cette forme de financement suit en principe le chiffre d’affaires et peut donc contribuer à la croissance. »

Vision et conseil

Un service d’ING, auquel recourt actuellement encore trop peu H.Essers, d’après Gert Bervoets, est celui des conseils et études de marché. Récemment, ING Event Financing a réalisé une étude afin de permettre à H.Essers de mieux comprendre sa structure bilantaire actuelle et les possibilités de financement de sa croissance. « Les tendances macro-économiques, les nouvelles technologies et les prévisions portant sur le prix du diesel, par exemple, peuvent aussi être très utiles. Nos semi-remorques consomment 50 millions de litres de diesel par an. Savoir que le prix au litre va augmenter ou diminuer de 10 centimes est une information très précieuse pour la budgétisation. Je me demande aussi quel sera l’impact pour H.Essers d’une éventuelle percée du gaz de schiste parmi les sources d’énergie. »

Confiance et transparence

« Des mots comme “confiance” et “transparence” sont souvent galvaudés dans une relation bancaire, mais tant la Relationship Manager ING Belgique Martine Vansweevelt que le CFO Koenraad Rogiers, Hilde Essers et moi-même, nous avons l’habitude de communiquer de façon ouverte et sans langue de bois », dit Gert Bervoets. « Nous nous réunissons chaque trimestre pour passer en revue les résultats et présenter nos projets. Les rapports que nous entretenons nous permettent de savoir ce que nous pouvons attendre des uns et des autres. Nous n’enjolivons pas la réalité quand elle est moins rose et nous ne sommes pas non plus continuellement en train de faire notre marché auprès des autres banques. En échange, nous sommes assurés d’avoir de bons tarifs et une large prestation de services. Je pense que c’est la meilleure base pour une collaboration axée sur l’avenir », conclut-il.

Gert Bervoets : CEO maison

Le Limbourgeois Gert Bervoets (44 ans) est CEO de H.Essers depuis le 1er avril 2013. Avant d’occuper ce poste, il travaillait depuis onze ans déjà chez H.Essers. En 2002, il y a démarré sa carrière en tant que Plant Manager à Wilrijk, avant de se voir progressivement confier de plus en plus de responsabilités, notamment en Roumanie, jusqu’à assurer ces dernières années la fonction de General Manager Warehousing. Avant d’arriver chez H.Essers, Gert Bervoets a travaillé huit ans comme Group Product Manager chez Nestlé. Gert Bervoets a fait des études d’ingénieur commercial à la Hogeschool-Universiteit Brussel.

 

La parole à d’autres managers

 

Benoit Beauvois

Christian Guillaume

Lire l'article

Philippe Dehaspe  

Philippe Dehaspe

Lire l'article