International regulations

  • What is FATCA?

  • Who is in scope of FATCA?

  • What is required by FATCA?


 ​​​​

What is CRS?

CRS stands for “Common Reporting Standard”, a set of regulations and guidelines which govern how tax-related information is exchanged between certain countries. 78 countries or jurisdictions have signed the multilateral agreement so far, while 37 others have committed to exchange information at a later stage. The CRS contains the reporting and due diligence standards that govern the automatic exchange of financial account information.

The European Union has decided to adopt the CRS by amending its directive on administrative cooperation in the field of taxation. This new directive will be applied as of 1 January 2016 between member states of the European Union.

Who does CRS apply to?

The measures apply to any private individual or legal entity residing in a participating CRS jurisdiction, including Belgium. However, it is mainly relevant for accounts held directly or indirectly by foreign tax residents.

What is ING required to do under CRS?

  1. Identify new and existing account holders who show indications of being a resident of another country for tax purposes. This potentially requires additional documentation.

  2. For legal entities, the criteria include:

    • Being incorporated or organised in another country.
    • Having a current physical or mailing address in another country, including a post office box or c/o address.
    • All countries do not yet take part of CRS. However, an increasing number of them will eventually participate to CRS. To anticipate these changes, ING Belgium also documents customers with indicia which do not yet participate to CRS today.


  3. Report information to local tax authorities. It concerns information regarding accounts held directly or indirectly (as beneficial owner) by customers which are taxpayer in a participating CRS jurisdiction:
    • The identity of each foreign reportable account holder on reportable accounts
    • The reportable account number
    • The balance of these accounts on 31st December each year
    • Any income (interest, dividends, gross proceeds, etc.) deposited onto these accounts.
    • The first reports communicated in 2017 will cover the year 2016. The Belgian tax authorities will forward this information to the tax authorities of the relevant participating CRS jurisdiction.

Is CRS applicable in Belgium?

Belgium, like most European nations, has signed the multilateral agreement, which provides for the automatic exchange of tax-related information with other signatories to the agreement. While the agreement is multilateral, the actual exchanges are bilateral.

This agreement is implemented by the law of 16 December 2015 regulating the exchange of financial account information between Belgian financial institutions and the FPS Finances in the frame of an automatic exchange of information on tax matters at international level.

This means that all financial institutions in Belgium, including ING Belgium, are required to report the above-mentioned information to the Belgian tax authorities. They then pass this information on to the tax authorities of the relevant participating CRS jurisdiction.

What does CRS mean for my company?

The goal of CRS is to determine whether a certain customer’s account information needs to be reported or not. For legal entities, it involves determining the type of entity (primarily its business activity), its country of residence for tax purposes and in some cases, the beneficiary owner’s country of residence for tax purposes.

If any of the above-mentioned indications apply to a customer of ING Belgium, we will first contact you for further clarification. In such cases, you may be required to make a declaration and provide evidence of your status.

More information on the new measures and what they mean for you?

Back to Investments

Règlementations internationales

  • Qu'est-ce que la loi FATCA ?

  • Qui est concerné par la loi FATCA ?

  • Qu’impose la loi FATCA ?


 ​ ​​​

Qu'est-ce que le CRS ?

Le CRS ("Common Reporting Standard" ou "Norme commune de déclaration") est un ensemble de règles et de directives régissant l'échange d'informations fiscales entre certains pays. Jusqu'à présent, 78 pays ou juridictions ont signé cet accord multilatéral, tandis que 37 autres se sont engagés à échanger ces informations dans un avenir proche. Le CRS édicte les normes de déclaration et de diligence raisonnable qui régissent l'échange automatique d’informations relatives aux comptes financiers.

L'Union européenne a décidé d'adopter le CRS en amendant sa directive sur la coopération administrative dans le domaine fiscal. Cette nouvelle directive sera applicable dès le 1er janvier 2016 entre les États membres de l'Union européenne.

Qui est concerné par l'application du CRS ?

Les mesures s'appliquent à toute personne physique ou morale résidant dans l'une des juridictions signataires du CRS, y compris la Belgique. Mais ces mesures ciblent principalement les comptes détenus directement ou indirectement par des résidents fiscaux étrangers.

Qu'est-ce que le CRS exige d'ING ?

Conformément aux règles du CRS, ING Belgique est légalement tenue :

  1. D’identifier les titulaires de comptes nouveaux et existants pour lesquels il existe des indices de résidence fiscale dans un autre pays.Il se peut que cette situation exige des documents complémentairesC

  2. Pour les personnes morales, ces indices incluent :

    • le fait d’être enregistrée ou organisée dans un autre pays
    • une adresse physique ou postale dans un autre pays, y compris une adresse portant la mention "poste restante" ou "à l'attention de".
    • A l’heure actuelle, tous les pays ne prennent pas encore part au CRS. Cependant, un nombre croissant d’entre eux s’engage à appliquer le CRS. Pour anticiper ces changements, ING Belgique documente également ses clients présentant des indices dans des pays ne participant pas encore à ce jour au CRS.


  3. De communiquer des informations aux autorités fiscales locales. Celles-ci concernent les comptes gérés directement ou indirectement (en tant que bénéficiaire effectif) par des clients assujettis fiscaux dans un pays participant au CRS, à savoir :
    • l'identité de chaque étranger titulaire de comptes faisant l'objet d'une déclaration
    • le numéro des comptes faisant l'objet d’une déclaration
    • le solde de ces comptes au 31 décembre de chaque année
    • tout revenu (intérêts, dividendes, produits bruts…) déposé sur ces comptes.

    Les premières déclarations communiquées en 2017 couvriront l'année 2016. Les autorités fiscales belges transmettront ces renseignements aux autorités fiscales du pays participant au CRS concerné.

Le CRS est-il applicable en Belgique ?

La Belgique, comme la plupart des pays européens, a signé cet accord multilatéral, qui prévoit l'échange automatique d'informations fiscales avec les autres signataires. Si l'accord est multilatéral, les échanges sont toutefois bilatéraux.

En d'autres termes, cela signifie que toutes les institutions financières de Belgique, y compris ING Belgique, doivent communiquer ces renseignements aux autorités fiscales belges. Celles-ci les transmettent ensuite aux autorités fiscales de la juridiction signataire du CRS concernée.

Qu'est-ce que le CRS implique pour ma société ?

La Belgique, comme la plupart des pays européens, a signé cet accord multilatéral, qui prévoit l'échange automatique d'informations fiscales avec les autres signataires. Si l'accord est multilatéral, les échanges sont toutefois bilatéraux.

Cet accord est mis en application par la loi du 16 décembre 2015 réglant la communication des renseignements relatifs aux comptes financiers, par les institutions financières belges et le SPF Finances, dans le cadre d’un échange automatique de renseignements au niveau international et à des fins fiscales.

En d'autres termes, cela signifie que toutes les institutions financières de Belgique, y compris ING Belgique, doivent communiquer ces renseignements aux autorités fiscales belges. Celles-ci les transmettent ensuite aux autorités fiscales du pays participant au CRS concerné.

En savoir plus sur les nouvelles mesures et leurs implications

​​​​​​​​

Retourner vers Investissements