Invest at ING

10 March 2021

The Sustainable Finance Disclosure Regulation (SFDR)

The aim of the SFDR regulations is to provide more transparency on sustainability within the financial markets in a standardised way, thus preventing greenwashing and ensuring comparability.

Promoting sustainability within the financial world

In 2018, the European Commission published the EU Sustainable Finance Action Plan aimed at promoting sustainability within the financial world. These regulations are also called ESG regulations because the respective rules are based on Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) criteria.

What is SFDR?

The SFDR is the frontrunner of the set of regulations resulted from the European Action Plan for Financing Sustainable Growth. The aim is to provide more transparency on sustainability within the financial markets in a standardised way, thus preventing greenwashing and ensuring comparability. SFDR regulation introduces various disclosure-related requirements for financial institutions at entity, service and product level. This new disclosure obligations will be applicable as of March 10th 2021.

What is the scope of SFDR?

The SFDR mainly applies to financial institutions (banks, insurers, insurance intermediaries, asset managers and investment firms) operating within the EU. The requirements applies to financial products such as:

What are the disclosure obligations?

As a result of the SFDR, financial institutions must make certain (ESG-related) sustainability information public at an entity and product level. This information must be provided on the website and in the pre-contractual phase and in addition, in a later phase, periodic information will be provided via reporting. These information obligations apply to all financial market parties, regardless of whether they are specifically concerned with sustainability or not.

Disclosure obligations at entity level

At the entity level, multiple disclosures are required in the investment process and when providing investment advice

Disclosure obligations at product level

Transparency requirements with regards to sustainability also apply at a product level. The pre-contractual information must indicate how sustainability risks are taken into account in investment decisions and within advice, how this affects the expected return or why they are not relevant. If a sustainable product is offered, additional information requirements apply. Additional information about the sustainability of the investments must then be provided to prevent all kinds of investments from being incorrectly advertised as "green" or "sustainable" ("greenwashing").

Under the SFDR regulation there are different product categories:

Would you like to know more?

Investir par soi-même

10 mars 2021

The Sustainable Finance Disclosure Regulation (SFDR)

L’ensemble de règles SFDR vise à améliorer la transparence en matière de durabilité et à protéger les investisseurs.

Promouvoir la durabilité dans le monde financier

En 2018, la Commission européenne a publié le plan d'action de l'UE sur la finance durable. La Commission européenne veut ainsi promouvoir la durabilité au sein du monde financier. Ces réglementations sont également connues sous le nom de réglementations ESG, car elles doivent tenir compte des critères ESG : approche Environnementale, Sociale et de Gouvernance d'entreprise.

Qu’est-ce que le SFDR ?

Le SFDR est le précurseur des réglementations issues du plan d'action européen sur le financement de la durabilité. Le SFDR est un ensemble de règles visant à améliorer la transparence en matière de durabilité et à protéger les investisseurs. Les dispositions en matière de transparence s'appliquent aux institutions financières et exigent la divulgation d'informations concernant la durabilité tant au niveau de l'entité qu’au niveau du produit. Cette législation entrera en vigueur le 10 mars 2021.

A qui s’applique le SFDR ?

Le SFDR s’applique aux institutions financières (banques, assureurs, intermédiaires d’assurances, gestionnaires d’actifs et sociétés d’investissement) travaillant dans la UE. Les règles s’appliquent aux produits tel que :

Quel sont les obligation de transparence ?

Les règles SFDR imposent des obligations de transparence et exigent la divulgation d'informations concernant la durabilité tant au niveau de l'entité qu’au niveau du produit. Les informations doivent être présentes sur le site web, dans les documents précontractuels et, dans une phase ultérieure, dans les rapports périodiques. Les dispositions en matière de transparence s'appliquent à toutes les institutions financières, qu'elles soient ou non spécifiquement concernées par la durabilité.

Les obligations de transparence au niveau de l’institution financière

Au niveau de l’institution financière, différentes obligations de transparence sont requises dans le processus d’investissement et en donnant un avis d’investissement :

Les obligations de transparence au niveau du produit

Des exigences de transparence en matière de durabilité s'appliquent également au niveau des produits. Les documents précontractuels doivent indiquer comment les risques de durabilité sont pris en compte dans les décisions et les conseils  d'investissement, en quoi ils affectent le rendement escompté, ou pourquoi ils n’ont pas d’impact. Si un produit durable est proposé, des exigences supplémentaires en matière de publication d'informations s'appliquent. Des informations complémentaires concernant la durabilité des investissements doivent ensuite être publiées afin d'éviter que des investissements soient déclarés "verts" ou "durables" ("greenwashing") à mauvais escient.

Le SFDR classe les produits en différentes catégories :