Investments

29 May 2018

2018 budget: Tax measures

In the 2018 budget, the Michel government introduced some tax measures which could have both a positive and a negative effect on investors. We will cover the ones that are most relevant to you as a customer.

Law of 7 February 2018 implementing a tax on securities accounts (MB 09.03.18). Came into force on 10 March 2018.

This is a tax of 0.15% owed by any private individual who is the (co-)holder of one or more securities accounts where the average (total) balance of the “taxable financial instruments” held on this/these account(s) is EUR 500,000 or above.

The tax is levied on securities accounts held in Belgium or abroad for private individuals resident in Belgium, and on securities accounts held in Belgium for private individuals who are not resident in Belgium (except residents of a State with which Belgium has signed a double tax treaty which confers the power to tax assets solely on the State of residence: for example, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and Germany).

“Taxable financial instruments” are the following instruments hold on securities accounts:

  • Shares in ordinary companies, Belgian or foreign, quoted or non-quoted, and certificates related to these shares,
  • Bonds, structured notes, OLOs (linear bonds), government bonds, etc., quoted or non-quoted, with no risk of capital loss and certificates related to these securities;
  • Savings bonds (bons de caisse / kasbons);
  • Warrants;
  • Units in contractual investment funds and shares in investment companies (SICAV / BEVEK) and trackers issued in that form.

The following products are not “taxable financial instruments”:

  • Derivative products (options, futures, swaps etc.),
  • Commodities (gold etc.),
  • Pension savings (Star fund for example),
  • Insurance policies (Classes 21 and 23, for example),
  • Bonds or structured notes with a risk of capital loss (for example, reverse convertible bonds).

The average balance of the “taxable financial instruments” held on a securities account is equal to the sum of the balances of these instruments established at various “reference points” in the “reference period” of the account, divided by the number of “reference points”.

Under the hypothesis that a private individual is the holder of two or more securities accounts, the average balances of those accounts for which the “reference periods” end on the same day have to be aggregated to verify whether the reference threshold of EUR 500,000 has been reached.

Under the hypothesis that a securities account has two or more co-holders, the law stipulates that the fraction of the “taxable financial instruments” allocated to each co-holder is presumed to be in proportion according to the number of co-holding private individuals (the principle of equal shares).

The 0.15% tax is due on the whole of the sum of the (total) average balance from the first eurocent.

Thus, for a Belgian investor with three securities accounts in Belgium and/or abroad on which “taxable financial instruments” are held of which the total average balance is EUR 1,000,000, the amount of tax is EUR 1,500.

With regard to (a) securities account(s) with a Belgian bank, the law is as follows:

  • If the reference threshold of EUR 500,000 is reached for this/these securities account(s), the tax has to be levied automatically (= without the (co-)holder’s authorisation) by the bank;
  • If the reference threshold of EUR 500,000 is not reached for this/these securities account(s), the (co-)holder can opt for the tax to be levied by the bank, no later than the last day of the second month following the end of the “reference period” of the securities account(s).

If the tax is not levied by the bank, it falls to the private individual to take fiscal responsibility in terms of declaring and paying the above-mentioned tax to the Belgian Treasury, under the hypothesis that the conditions under which it applies are met.

Programme Act of 25 December 2017 (MB 29.12.17). Amendment entered into force 1 January 2018.

Up until now, withholding tax (30%) has been due on capital gains from units or shares in “capitalisation funds” of which the portfolio consists of more than 25% of interest-bearing debt securities (bonds, cash, etc.). The threshold of 25% still applies for all units or shares in a “capitalisation fund” purchased up to 31 December 2017. For units or shares in a “capitalisation fund” purchased from 1 January 2018 onwards, a new threshold of 10% will apply. This means that capital gains from units or shares in a “capitalisation fund” which invests 15%, for example, in bonds, and which were purchased after 1st January 2018, will now be taxed.

A “capitalisation fund” which invests only in equities will not be affected by the new measures.

Programme Act of 25 December 2017 (MB 29.12.17). Amendment entered into force 8 January 2018.

Both TOB rates - 0.09% and 0.27% - have changed, rising respectively to 0.12% and 0.35% from 8 January 2018.

Programme Act of 25 December 2017 (MB 29.12.17). Amendment entered into force 1 January 2018.

The purchase/sale of units in contractual investment funds, either distribution or capitalisation, of a Member State (MS) of the European Economic Area (EEA) which is not registered with the FSMA is now liable to a TOB of 0.12% instead of 0.35% (0.27% up to and including 7 January 2018).

The purchase/sale of shares in investment companies (SICAV / BEVEK) either distribution or capitalisation, of an MS of the EEA which is not registered with the FSMA is now liable to a TOB of 0.12% instead of 0.35% (0.27% up to and including 7 January 2018).

Programme Act of 25 December 2017 (MB 29.12.17). Amendment entered into force 1 January 2018.

Exemption from tax in Belgium is now granted on a first tranche of EUR 640 (amount indexed for 2018 revenue) per year in dividends, Belgian or foreign, in favour of Belgian resident private individuals and non-resident private individuals. This represents a modest tax advantage of EUR 192 for the investor. The aim of the measure is to channel more savings into the real economy and to encourage investments.

NB: this tax exemption is only granted in the form of a refund of the mandatory withholding tax (30%) deducted at source on these dividends. To obtain this refund, the dividends for which the taxpayer wishes to claim this withholding tax refund must be stated in his tax return.

NB : this exemption will not apply for example to dividends received form investment companies (bevek/sicav) and to liquidation surpluses or repurchase surpluses paid by an ordinary company.

Proposed law on the reinforcement of economic growth and social cohesion (Parliamentary doc. No. 2922). This is a proposed law which, at the time this document was written, has not yet been voted on in Parliament and therefore has not yet been published in the MB or come into force.

Individuals saving for their pension will have two options:

  • They can continue to make fiscally advantageous savings of a maximum amount of EUR 960. In this case, the tax advantage remains 30% (meaning a maximum advantage of EUR 288).
  • Or they can save a maximum amount of EUR 1,230. The tax advantage is then 25% (EUR 307.50). The maximum tax advantage is EUR 19.50, if you are prepared to save an extra EUR 270.

In the absence of a legal text published to date, the possibility of saving up to the maximum of EUR 1,230 is not yet applicable.

How are investors taxed?
Here is an example:
  • Let’s take an investor who holds a securities account with a value of 1,000,000 euros. It consists of shares (with a value of 400,000 euros), eurobonds (with a value of 400,000 euros) and investment funds (with a value of 200,000 euros).
  • The investor carries out 10 transactions on her shares (each with a value of 5,000 euros).
  • She receives a gross dividend of 10,000 euros.
  • As of 2018 she decides to allocate 1,200 euros to her pension savings fund, instead of 940 euros.
Taxes paid 2017 2018
Taxes paid on securities account €0 €1.500
TStock exchange tax €135 €175
Withholding tax on the dividend €3.000 €2.812
Pension savings fund deduction €-282 €-300
Total €2.853 €4.187

Investissements

29 Mai 2018

Budget 2018 : des mesures fiscales importantes pour les investisseurs

Dans le cadre du budget 2018, le gouvernement Michel a pris un certain nombre de mesures fiscales susceptibles de toucher les investisseurs tant positivement que négativement. Nous parcourons les mesures les plus pertinentes pour vous en tant que client.

Loi du 7 février 2018 instaurant une taxe sur les compte-titres (MB 09.03.18). Entrée en vigueur le 10 mars 2018.

Il s’agit d’une taxe de 0.15% due dans le chef de toute personne physique (co-) titulaire d’un ou plusieurs comptes-titres lorsque la valeur moyenne (totale) des « instruments financiers imposables » inscrits sur ce(s) compte(s) est égale ou supérieure à 500.000 EUR.

Les personnes assujetties à la taxe sont les personnes physiques résidentes belges pour leurs comptes-titres ouverts en Belgique ou à l’étranger ainsi que les personnes physiques non-résidentes de la Belgique pour leurs comptes-titre ouverts en Belgique (sauf s’il s’agit de résidents d’un Etat avec lequel la Belgique a signé une convention préventive de la double imposition qui attribue le pouvoir d’imposer la fortune au seul Etat de résidence : par exemple, le Luxembourg, les Pays-Bas et l’Allemagne).

Les « instruments financiers imposables » sont les instruments inscrits en compte-titres suivants :

  • les actions de sociétés ordinaires, belges ou étrangères, cotées ou non, ainsi que les certificats relatifs à ces actions ;
  • les obligations, structured notes, OLO, bons d’Etat, etc. cotés ou non, qui offrent une garantie de capital ainsi que les certificats relatifs à ces titres ;
  • les bons de caisse ;
  • les warrants ;
  • les parts ou actions d’organismes de placement collectif (sicav ou fond commun de placement (FCP) par exemple, ainsi que les trackers émis sous la forme d’une sicav ou d’un FCP).

Ne sont pas des « instruments financiers imposables », les produits suivants :

  • les produits dérivés (options, futures, swaps, etc.),
  • les matières premières (or, etc.),
  • l’épargne-pension (Star fund par exemple),
  • les contrats d’assurance (branches 21 et 23 par exemple),
  • les obligations ou structured notes sans garantie de capital (par exemple, les obligations remboursables en actions et les reverse convertible bonds).

La valeur moyenne des « instruments financiers imposables » d’un compte-titres est égale à la somme des valeurs desdits instruments établies aux différents « points de référence » de la « période de référence » du compte, divisée par le nombre de « points de référence ».

Dans l’hypothèse où une personne physique est titulaire de deux comptes-titres ou plus, les valeurs moyennes des comptes dont les « périodes de référence » se terminent le même jour doivent être additionnées pour vérifier si le seuil de référence de 500.000 EUR est atteint.

Dans l’hypothèse d’un compte-titres avec deux co-titulaires ou plus, la loi stipule que la fraction des « instruments financiers imposables » qui revient à chaque co-titulaire est présumée proportionnelle au nombre de co-titulaires personnes physiques (principe des « parts viriles »).

La taxe de 0.15% est due sur l’entièreté du montant de la valeur moyenne (totale), dès le premier euro cent.

Ainsi, pour un investisseur belge ayant trois comptes-titres en Belgique et/ou à l’étranger sur lesquels sont inscrits des « instruments financiers imposables » dont la valeur moyenne totale est égale à 1.000.000 euros, le montant de la taxe s’élève à 1.500 euros.

En ce qui concerne le(s) compte(s)-titres auprès d’une banque belge, la loi stipule ce qui suit :

  • si le seuil de référence de 500.000 EUR est atteint pour ce(s) compte(s)-titres, la taxe doit être prélevée automatiquement (= sans l’autorisation du (co)-titulaire) par cette banque ;
  • si le seuil de référence de 500.000 EUR n’est pas atteint pour ce(s) compte(s)-titres, le (co-)titulaire peut opter, au plus tard le dernier jour du deuxième mois qui suit la fin de la « période de référence » du (des) compte(s)-titres, pour le prélèvement de la taxe par cette banque.

En l’absence d’un prélèvement de la taxe par la banque, il revient à la personne physique d’assumer ses obligations fiscales en termes de déclaration et de versement au Trésor belge de ladite taxe, dans l’hypothèse où les conditions d’application de celle-ci sont remplies.

Loi programme du 25 décembre 2017 (MB 29.12.17). Modification entrée en vigueur le 1er janvier 2018.

Jusqu'à présent, un précompte mobilier (30%) était dû à l’occasion d’une plus-value réalisée sur des parts d’un OPC (une sicav par exemple) qui investit plus de 25 % de ses actifs en « créances » (obligations, espèces, etc.). Le seuil de 25 % reste d’application pour toutes les parts d’OPC acquises jusqu’au 31 décembre 2017. Pour les parts d’OPC acquises à partir du 1er janvier 2018, un nouveau seuil de 10% est d’application. Cela signifie que les plus-values réalisées sur les parts d’un OPC qui investit 15 %, par exemple, dans des obligations et qui ont été acquises à partir du 1er janvier 2018, sont désormais imposées.

Un OPC qui investit entièrement dans des actions ne subit pas l'impact de ces nouvelles mesures.

Loi programme du 25 décembre 2017 (MB 29.12.17). Modification entrée en vigueur le 8 janvier 2018.

Les deux taux de la TOB 0,09% et 0,27% sont passés à 0,12% et 0,35% depuis le 8 janvier 2018.

Loi programme du 25 décembre 2017 (MB 29.12.17). Modification entrée en vigueur le 1er janvier 2018.

L’achat/vente de parts émises par un Fond Commun de Placement (FCP), qu’il soit de distribution ou de capitalisation, d’un Etat membre (EM) de l’Espace Economique Européen (EEE) qui n’est pas enregistré auprès de la FSMA, est désormais soumis à une TOB de 0,12% au lieu de 0,35% (0,27% jusqu’au 7 janvier 2018 inclus).

L’achat/vente de parts émises par une SICAV, qu’elle soit de distribution ou de capitalisation, d’un EM de l’EEE et qui n’est pas enregistrée auprès de la FSMA, est désormais soumis à une TOB de 0,12% au lieu de 0,35% (0,27% jusqu’au 7 janvier 2018 inclus).

Loi programme du 25 décembre 2017 (MB 29.12.17). Modification entrée en vigueur le 1er janvier 2018.

Une exonération d’impôt en Belgique est désormais accordée sur une première tranche de 640 EUR (montant indexé pour l’année de revenus 2018) par an de dividendes, belges ou étrangers, en faveur des résidents belges personnes physiques et des non-résidents personnes physiques. Cela représente un avantage fiscal modeste de 192 euros pour l'investisseur. La mesure a pour objectif d'orienter davantage l'épargne vers l'économie réelle et d'encourager les investissements.

Attention : cette exonération d’impôt est accordée uniquement sous la forme d’un remboursement du précompte mobilier (30%) obligatoirement prélevé à la source sur ces dividendes. Ce remboursement nécessitera la mention sur la déclaration fiscale du contribuable des dividendes pour lesquels il souhaite ce remboursement de précompte mobilier.

Attention : cette exonération n’est applicable, par exemple, ni aux dividendes distribués par des sociétés d’investissement (sicav) ni aux boni de liquidation ou boni de rachat distribués par des sociétés ordinaires.

Proposition de loi relative au renforcement de la croissance économique et de la cohésion sociale (Doc. parlementaire n° 2922). Il s’agit d’une proposition de loi qui, à l’heure de la rédaction de ce document, n’a pas encore été votée au Parlement et dès lors, n’a pas encore été publiée au MB et n’est pas encore entrée en vigueur.

Les épargnants pour la pension auront le choix entre deux options :

  • Soit continuer une épargne fiscalement avantageuse d'un montant maximal de 960 euros. L'avantage fiscal reste alors de 30 % (rapportant un avantage maximum de 288 euros).
  • Soit épargner pour un montant maximal de 1.230 euros. L'avantage fiscal s'élève alors à 25 % (307,5 euros). L'avantage fiscal maximum est relevé de 19,5 euros si vous êtes prêt à mettre de côté 270 euros de plus.

A défaut d’un texte légal publié à ce jour, la possibilité d’épargner jusqu’au plafond majoré de 1.230 euros n’est pas encore d’application.

Comment sont taxés les investisseurs ?
Voici un exemple
  • Prenons un investisseur ayant un compte-titre de 1.000.000 euros. Il se compose d'actions (d'une valeur de 400.000 euros), d'euro-obligations (d'une valeur de 400.000 euros) et de fonds d'investissement (d'une valeur de 200.000 euros).
  • Il effectue 10 opérations sur ses actions (5.000 euros chacune).
  • Il perçoit 10.000 euros de dividende brut.
  • Il décide d'allouer à son épargne-pension 1.200 euros au lieu de 940 euros, à partir de 2018.
Impôts payés 2017 2018
Taxes sur compte-titres 0 € 1.500 €
Taxe de bourse 135 € 175 €
Précompte mobilier sur le dividende 3.000 € 2.812 €
Déduction épargne-pension -282 € -300 €
Total 2.853 € 4.187 €