Investments

18 January 2019

National Identifier (NID)

Identifiers to be provided under MiFID II

To comply with the Markets in Financial Instruments Directive (MiFID II), from 3 January 2018 clients are required to state their date of birth, nationality and national identifier when buying or selling financial instruments. This document contains the necessary information on the type of national ID you must provide as a client and what you need to do if you hold multiple nationalities.

How are individuals identified under MiFID II?

Within the framework of MiFID II the ESMA (European Securities and Markets Authority) uses a suite of identifiers, based on the individual’s nationality.

You will find these details in Regulatory Technical Standard (RTS) 22 and in the table below, which shows the required identifiers for each nationality and the identification codes to be used.

CONCAT as an identification code

CONCAT is a method of generating an identification code (ID) for individuals by means of the compression or concatenation of four data elements in the following order:

1.     Country code (2 characters: ISO 3166-1)

2.     First name (the first 5 characters padded with # where required)

3.     Surname (the first 5 characters padded with # where required)

4.     Date of birth (YYYY-MM-DD)

Unfortunately, the CONCAT code is not unique and in some cases several people may be identified by the same CONCAT.

  • 6 countries (Austria (AT), Germany (DE), France (FR), Hungary (HU), Ireland (IR) and Luxembourg (LU)) use the CONCAT approach as the sole identification code.

Other identification methods

  • Other countries – such as Belgium – use national identifiers, passport numbers or tax numbers. ING normally has access to this data. If it does not, ING can generate a CONCAT ID or request the national identification code.
  • 6 countries (Estonia (EE), Spain (ES), Iceland (IS), Italy (IT), Malta (MT) and Poland (PL)) do not use CONCAT as an identification code. This means that ING must request the national identification code from its clients.
Country of origin

The country of origin is used to determine which national proof of identity you have to provide as a client. This is the country or countries of which you are a national, by birth or naturalisation, and may not correspond to the country in which you live or work.

The tables on the following pages show which information has priority. If you are a Belgian national, you need to provide your National Registration Number. If you do not have this, ING will generate an ID code using a combination of your nationality, country code, first name, surname and date of birth (CONCAT). There is no third option for Belgians.

What if you hold multiple nationalities?

Follow the rules below to determine which nationality you should choose:

Investissements

18 janvier 2019

Numéro d’identification national (NID)

Données d’identité à fournir dans le cadre de MiFID II

Pour se conformer à la directive MiFID II (Markets in Financial Instruments Directive), les clients doivent, à partir du 3 janvier 2018, indiquer leur date de naissance, leur nationalité et leur numéro d’identification national pour acheter et vendre des instruments financiers. Le présent document donne les informations nécessaires sur le type d’ID nationale que vous devez fournir en tant que client et sur ce que vous devez faire si vous avez plusieurs nationalités.

Comment les personnes sont-elles identifiées sous MiFID II ?

Dans le cadre de MiFID II, l’AEMF (Autorité européenne des marchés financiers) utilise une série de données d’identification basées sur la nationalité de l’individu.

Vous les retrouverez dans les normes techniques de réglementation (Regulatory Technical Standards, RTS) 22 et dans le tableau ci-dessous reprenant les données d’identification requises par nationalité et les numéros d’identification nationaux à utiliser.

CONCAT en tant que numéro d’identification

CONCAT est une méthode destinée à générer un numéro d’identification (ID) pour les individus par la compression ou la succession de quatre éléments de données dans l’ordre suivant :

  1. Code pays (2 caractères : ISO 3166-1)
  2. Prénom (les 5 premiers caractères complétés par # si nécessaire)
  3. Nom (les 5 premiers caractères complétés par # si nécessaire)
  4. Date de naissance (AAAA-MM-JJ)

Malheureusement, le code CONCAT n’est pas unique et parfois, plusieurs personnes peuvent être identifiées avec le même CONCAT.

  • 6 pays (Autriche (AT), Allemagne (DE), France (FR), Hongrie (HU), Irlande (IR) et Luxembourg (LU)) utilisent l’approche CONCAT comme numéro d’identification unique.

Autres méthodes d’identification

  • D’autres pays, comme la Belgique, utilisent les données d’identification nationale, les numéros de passeport ou les numéros d’identification fiscale. Normalement, ING dispose de ces données. Si ce n’est pas le cas, ING peut créer une ID CONCAT ou demander le numéro d’identification national.
  • 6 pays (Estonie (EE), Espagne (ES), Islande (IS), Italie (IT), Malte (MT) et la Pologne (PL)) ne travaillent pas avec CONCAT comme numéro d’identification. Par conséquent, ING doit demander le numéro d’identification national à ses clients.
Pays d’origine

On utilise le pays d’origine pour déterminer quelle preuve d’identité nationale vous devez fournir en tant que client. Il s’agit du ou des pays auquel vous appartenez éventuellement, par naissance ou naturalisation, et cela ne correspond peut-être pas au pays où vous vivez ou travaillez.

Les tableaux des pages suivantes montrent à quelles données vous devez donner priorité. Si vous êtes Belge, vous donnez votre numéro de registre national. Si vous ne l’avez pas, ING crée un code ID avec une combinaison de la nationalité, du code pays, du prénom, du nom et de la date de naissance (CONCAT). Il n’y a pas de troisième option pour les Belges.

Que faire si vous avez plusieurs nationalités ?

Utilisez les règles ci-dessous pour savoir quelle nationalité vous devez choisir: