Personal & Private Banking

18 January 2019

MiFID II - Changes to our investment services

In January 2018 changes were made to our investment services to improve our services and to comply with the requirements imposed on us by the “Markets in Financial Instruments Directive” (MiFID). You can read about what has changed here.

What is MiFID II?

The new European regulations governing investment services (‘MiFID II’), which became effective on 3 January 2018, are a revision of the MiFID I regulations, which date from 2007.

MiFID II retains the same principles, while refining them in a number of areas. The financial crisis threw the spotlight on the lack of transparency and the complexity of the financial markets. This was the starting point for MiFID II, which provides for better investor protection and has been adapted to a new, more competitive market structure.

More information

·       Febelfin – Belgian Financial Sector Federation

On 3 January 2018 the Special Regulations for Trading in Financial Instruments, Savings and Investment-linked insurance (SRTFI) were amended. The new version of these regulations is easier to read and has been adapted in line with MiFID II.

It is important that investors are given a good insight into the costs of their investments. Here we are referring both to the costs of our investment service and those of other parties, such as financial instrument or investment product developers. We are happy to provide this information, prior to the service or transaction and afterwards by means of an annual costs and charges statement.

Information about the costs of investments can be obtained via the following channels: 

  • Charges: An overview of the charges applicable to investments can be found in the Charges applied to the main securities transactions
  • Product documentation (KIID): Costs that you have to pay to other parties, such as financial instrument product developers, can be found in the product documentation, which we will go through with you during the investment interview.
  • What will it cost?  The overview of costs and charges for financial instruments will give you a better insight in advance into the one-off and ongoing costs associated with buying and selling investment products and holding them in a portfolio. Examples can be found in the Cost estimation for financial instruments transactions.
  • What did it cost? Retrospectively, your annual costs and charges statement will provide you with a detailed insight into what you have actually paid over the year. More information on the various cost items can be found here.

We make every effort to ensure your transactions are executed as efficiently as possible. That means we optimise the costs, speed and likelihood of the order being executed.  

We are keen to offer you a greater insight into how we execute your orders (or have them executed) and how we ensure the best possible result. In the course of 2018 we will therefore provide you with a summary at ing.be indicating the best-performing trading venues for each investment category. A trading venue is the place or stock exchange where the transaction is executed. More information can be found here.

What does MiFID II mean for you?

Like all other banks, from 3 January 2018 ING is required to provide certain information to the supervisory authority AFM in its transaction reports. This includes details of the investor’s identity. In the case of investing legal entities, from 3 January 2018 this information must be provided by means of the Legal Entity Identifier (LEI). You will find more information about the LEI here.

From 3 January 2018 all banks are also required to pass on all identifiers of natural persons to the supervisory authority (FSMA) in their transaction reports. These identifiers are based on the individual’s nationality. In the case of Belgian nationals the information required is the National Registration Number.

If we do not yet hold the correct details about you, you will already have received a letter from us. More information can be found on the following page. If you still have questions, please visit one of our branches.

If you invest in leveraged products, you will be notified if their value drops by 10% or a multiple thereof (relative to the previous quarter).

Using investment instruments properly requires a certain amount of experience and knowledge on the part of the investor. MiFID II analyses the investor’s level of understanding even more effectively than the initial versions of the regulations. Investors are assessed when their investment profile is drawn up by asking them a number of questions about the products available to them.

In addition to the individual’s knowledge and investment experience, his or her investment objectives, financial situation, investment horizon and attitude to risk are also assessed. The investment profile of the investor is determined in this way.

For more information about the different investment profiles, please visit investment profiles.


Financial information brochures
Would you like to know more?

Personal & Private Banking

18 janvier 2019

MiFID II - Services d’investissement modifiés

Nos services d’investissement ont été modifiés en janvier 2018 pour améliorer nos services et répondre aux exigences qui nous sont imposées par la directive MiFID (Markets in Financial Instruments Directive).

Votre aperçu des coûts et frais pour l’année 2018

Pour plus d’infos sur vos coûts et frais déjà payés en 2018 et plus d'explication sur les différents postes, cliquez ici.

Qu'est-ce que MiFID II ?

Les nouvelles règles européennes pour les services d’investissement "MiFID II", entrées en vigueur le 3 janvier 2018, sont une révision des règles MiFID I datant de 2007.

MiFID II conserve les mêmes principes, dont quelques points sont précisés davantage. La crise financière a fait ressortir le manque de transparence et la complexité des marchés financiers. Cela a été le point de départ de MiFID II, qui offre une meilleure protection aux investisseurs et est adaptée à une nouvelle structure de marché ayant un caractère compétitif accru.

Plus d'informations

·       Febelfin – Fédération belge du secteur financier

Qu’implique MiFID II pour vous ?

Le 3 janvier 2018, le Règlement spécial des opérations sur instruments financiers et assurances d’épargne et d’investissement (RGOI) a été modifié. Cette nouvelle version de ce règlement gagne en lisibilité et a été adaptée à MiFID II.

Il est important que les investisseurs aient une idée précise des frais d’investissement. Et ce, tant à propos des frais de nos services d’investissement que des frais des autres parties, comme les services de développement de produits d’instruments financiers ou d’investissements. Nous nous ferons un plaisir de vous informer à ce propos, tant avant le service ou la transaction que par la suite, via un aperçu annuel des frais et charges.

Vous trouverez des informations sur les frais des investissements via les canaux suivants : 

  • Tarifs : vous trouverez un aperçu des tarifs pour les investissements dans le Tarif des principales opérations sur valeurs mobilières.
  • Documentation sur les produits (KIID) : vous trouverez les frais que vous payez à d’autres parties, comme les services de développement de produits d’instruments financiers, dans la documentation sur les produits que nous parcourons avec vous durant l’entretien d’investissement.
  • Qu’est-ce que cela va coûter ?  Dans l’aperçu des coûts et frais relatifs aux instruments financiers, vous obtenez au préalable une meilleure image des frais uniques et courants pour l’achat, la vente et la conservation en portefeuille des produits d’investissement. Vous trouverez des exemples dans l’Estimation des coûts de transactions pour les instruments financiers.
  • Qu’est-ce que cela a coûté ? Par la suite, votre aperçu annuel des frais et charges vous donne une image détaillée de ce que vous avez effectivement payé sur l’année. Vous trouverez de plus amples informations sur les différents postes ici.

Nous mettons tout en œuvre pour effectuer vos transactions le mieux possible. Et optimiser par la même occasion les frais, la rapidité et la chance d’exécution de l’ordre.  

Nous vous offrons volontiers une meilleure vue de la manière dont nous exécutons (faisons exécuter) vos ordres et de la manière dont nous veillons au meilleur résultat possible. Ainsi, vous recevez dans le courant de 2018, sur ing.be, un résumé des plates-formes commerciales les plus performantes par catégorie d’investissement. Une plate-forme commerciale est l’endroit ou la bourse où se déroule la transaction. Vous trouverez de plus amples informations ici.

Comme toutes les autres banques, ING doit, à partir du 3 janvier 2018, informer l’autorité de surveillance AFM lors de la déclaration de transactions. Parmi ces obligations figurent les données d’identité de l’investisseur. Pour les personnes morales investisseuses, cela doit se faire à partir du 3 janvier 2018 via le Legal Entity Identifier (LEI). Vous trouverez ici de plus amples informations sur le LEI.

À partir du 3 janvier 2018, toutes les banques doivent, avec la déclaration de transactions, également transmettre toutes les données d’identité des personnes physiques à l’autorité de surveillance (FSMA). Ces données d’identité sont basées sur la nationalité de la personne. Pour les Belges, c’est le Numéro de registre national.

Si nous ne disposons pas encore de vos données correctes, vous avez déjà reçu un courrier à ce propos. Vous trouverez de plus amples informations sur la page ci-dessous. Si vous avez encore des questions, n’hésitez pas à passer dans l’une de nos agences.

Si vous investissez dans des produits à effet de levier, vous recevez un message en cas de diminutions de valeur de 10 % ou d’un multiple de 10 % (par rapport au trimestre clôturé précédent).

Pour aborder correctement les instruments d’investissement, l’investisseur doit posséder de l’expérience et des connaissances à ce propos. MiFID II analyse encore mieux le niveau de l’investisseur que les premières versions. L’investisseur est testé durant l’établissement du profil d’investissement. Et ce, par l’intermédiaire de plusieurs questions sur les produits qui sont à sa disposition.

Outre la connaissance et l’expérience en matière d’investissement, les objectifs d’investissement, la situation financière, l’horizon d’investissement et la position vis-à-vis des risques sont sondés. Cela permet de dresser le profil d’investissement de l’investisseur.

Plus d'infos sur les différents profils d'investissement cliquez ici.

Intéressé(e) ?