Private Banking

25 June 2019

Gifts

A gift is an important technique in a balanced estate planning

Should you, within the framework of your estate planning, wish to make a donation, then it is crucial that this is executed in a correct and legally safe manner.

With attention to tax matters

By making a gift, you transfer a part of your estate during your lifetime. And the more you reduce the assets you will leave at the time of your death, the less inheritance tax will be due. Moreover, the rates of the gift tax are far more advantageous than the inheritance tax rates. Under certain conditions no gift tax is due at all. The WAP advisor masters these rules like no other.

While retaining a certain control

If you wish to retain a certain control on the assets you plan to give, it is possible to attach the necessary conditions to the gift.

For instance, a provision can be made that your children cannot alienate the gifted assets without your consent. Or you could consider retaining the usufruct on the donated assets, which allows you to continue managing these goods and enjoying their revenues.

Another option would be to contribute the assets to a Civil law partnership and subsequently donate the parts of the Civil law partnership to your children. This way you can retain a wide range of control options.

'A provision can be made that your children cannot alienate the gifted assets without your consent.'

And retaining income

Do you perhaps wish to continue enjoying an (limited) income from the gifted money and/or securities? That can be arranged by attaching an annuity to the gift or by retaining the usufruct.

With extensive service and support

For a great deal of gifts, your WAP advisor and your private banker can fully accompany you in the execution of the gift.

Should the intervention of a notary public be necessary or desirable, the WAP advisor can equally support you by giving the notary the necessary instructions, reviewing the draft deed and making any appropriate recommendations, etc.

Would you like more information?

Private Banking

Donations

Les donations constituent un instrument important dans le cadre d'une bonne planification patrimoniale

Si vous souhaitez réaliser une donation dans le cadre de votre planification patrimoniale, celle-ci doit alors absolument être effectuée de façon correcte et juridiquement sûre.

En tenant compte de la fiscalité

Une donation vous permet de déjà transmettre une partie de votre patrimoine de votre vivant. Plus votre patrimoine sera faible au moment de votre décès, moins les droits de succession seront élevés. Les taux des droits de donation sont par ailleurs plus avantageux que ceux des droits de succession. Si certaines conditions sont remplies, il est même possible qu'aucun droit de donation ne doive être payé. Le conseiller WAP maîtrise les règles du jeu comme nul autre.

En conservant un certain contrôle

Si vous souhaitez conserver un certain contrôle sur les biens que vous transmettez, vous devez alors assortir vos donations des modalités nécessaires.

Il est ainsi possible de prévoir que vos enfants ne pourront pas à leur tour donner ou vendre sans votre accord les titres ou l'argent que vous leur avez transmis. Vous avez également la possibilité d'opter pour une donation avec réserve d'usufruit, ce qui vous permet de continuer à gérer les bien que vous transmettez et à profiter des revenus qu'ils génèrent.

Vous pourriez également apporter dans un premier temps les biens dans une société simple et donner ensuite les parts de ladite société. Vous conserverez ainsi d'importantes possibilités de contrôle.

"Il est ainsi possible de prévoir que vos enfants ne pourront pas à leur tour donner ou vendre sans votre accord les titres ou l'argent que vous leur avez transmis."

En conservant vos revenus

Vous désirez peut-être aussi continuer à profiter des revenus (limités) de l'argent et/ou des titres qui font l'objet de la donation. C'est également possible en assortissant la donation d'une charge de rente ou d'une réserve d'usufruit.

En bénéficiant d'un service et d'un accompagnement étendus

Beaucoup de donations peuvent se faire sans l'intervention d'un notaire et être totalement encadrées par votre conseiller WAP et votre Private Banker.

Toutefois, si l'intervention d'un notaire se révèle nécessaire ou préférable, le conseiller WAP vous fournira là encore une aide précieuse en transmettant les intructions utiles au notaire, en vérifiant et en adaptant le projet d'acte, etc.

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus ?