Investments

International regulations

Do hold an account abroad? Are you subject to taxation outside of Belgium or the European Union? Perhaps you have investments in the USA? Find out more about the regulations concerning CRS and FATCA.

What is CRS?

CRS stands for “Common Reporting Standard”, a set of regulations and guidelines which govern how tax-related information is exchanged between certain countries. 78 countries or jurisdictions have signed the multilateral agreement so far, while 37 others have committed to exchange information at a later stage. The CRS contains the reporting and due diligence standards that govern the automatic exchange of financial account information.

The European Union has decided to adopt the CRS by amending its directive on administrative cooperation in the field of taxation. This new directive will be applied as of 1 January 2016 between member states of the European Union.

Who does CRS apply to?

The measures apply to any private individual or legal entity residing in a participating CRS jurisdiction, including Belgium. However, it is mainly relevant for accounts held directly or indirectly by foreign tax residents.

What is ING required to do under CRS?

Under CRS rules, ING Belgium is legally obliged to:Under CRS rules, ING Belgium is legally obliged to:

Identify new and existing account holders who show indications of being a resident of another country for tax purposes. This potentially requires additional documentation.

  • For individual customers, these criteria typically include:

    • Having a residence in another country.

    • Having a physical or mailing address in another country, including a post office box or care of (c/o) address.

    • Having a c/o or hold mail address in another country as their only address.

    • Having one or more telephone numbers in another country without having a telephone number in Belgium.

    • Granting a power of attorney or signatory authority to a person with either a physical or mailing address in another country, including a post office box or c/o address.

    • Issuing standing instructions from an ING Belgium account (other than a current or savings account) to an account maintained in another country.

  • For legal entities, the criteria include:

    • Being incorporated or organised in another country.

    • Having a current physical or mailing address in another country, including a post office box or c/o address


    All countries do not yet take part of CRS. However, an increasing number of them will eventually participate to CRS. To anticipate these changes, ING Belgium also documents customers with indicia which do not yet participate to CRS today.

Report information to local tax authorities. It concerns information regarding accounts held directly or indirectly (as beneficial owner) by customers which are taxpayer in a participating CRS jurisdiction:

  • The identity of each foreign reportable account holder on reportable accounts

  • The reportable account number

  • The balance of these accounts on 31st December each year

  • Any income (interest, dividends, gross proceeds, etc.) deposited onto these accounts


The first reports communicated in 2017 will cover the year 2016. The Belgian tax authorities will forward this information to the tax authorities of the relevant participating CRS jurisdiction.

Is CRS applicable in Belgium?

Belgium, like most European nations, has signed the multilateral agreement, which provides for the automatic exchange of tax-related information with other signatories to the agreement. While the agreement is multilateral, the actual exchanges are bilateral.

This agreement is implemented by the law of 16 December 2015 regulating the exchange of financial account information between Belgian financial institutions and the FPS Finances in the frame of an automatic exchange of information on tax matters at international level.

This means that all financial institutions in Belgium, including ING Belgium, are required to report the above-mentioned information to the Belgian tax authorities. They then pass this information on to the tax authorities of the relevant participating CRS jurisdiction.

What does CRS mean for me?

The goal of CRS is to determine whether a certain customer’s account information needs to be reported or not. For individual customers, this means determining where the customer is a resident for tax purposes. For legal entities, it involves determining the type of entity (primarily its business activity), its country of residence for tax purposes and in some cases, the beneficiary owner’s country of residence for tax purposes.

If any of the above-mentioned indications apply to a customer of ING Belgium, we will first contact you for further clarification. In such cases, you may be required to make a declaration and provide evidence of your status.

Need more information?

On the new measures and what they mean for you

FATCA
What is FATCA?

The United States of America has put a new legislation in place to prevent tax evasion by those subject to U.S. taxes. This legislation is called the Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA). FATCA requires financial institutions world-wide to report on U.S. taxpayers and some U.S.-owned entities, so called “U.S. persons”.

Who is in scope of FATCA?

This legislation applies to “U.S. persons”, both private individuals and some legal entities.

What is required by FATCA for private individuals?

FATCA requires financial Institutions to:

Identify customers for which one of the below US indicia are found. This potentially requires additional documentation.

  • For individual customers, these criteria typically include:

    • The U.S. citizenship or U.S. residency. This includes having a green card allowing them to permanently reside in the United States as an immigrant; or
    • Place of birth in the U.S.; or
    • At least one address (mailing, residence, post office box or care-of) in the U.S.; or
    • A U.S. telephone number; or
    • Standing instructions from their ING account to an account in the U.S.; or
    • Power of attorney on their account granted to a person with a U.S. address (mailing, residence, post office box or care-of).
  • For legal entities, the criteria include:

    • the registered office or place of business is in the United States of America or
    • the current (operating, mailing, post office box or c/o) address is in the United States of America.

Report information to local tax authorities. It concerns information regarding accounts held directly or indirectly (as beneficial owner) by US persons:

  • the identity of the holders of the reportable account which are U.S. persons
  • the reportable account numbers
  • the balance of these accounts
  • the financial income on these accounts.

The Belgian tax authorities will forward this information to the tax authorities of the United States (IRS – Internal Revenue Service).

Is FATCA applicable in Belgium?

Belgium, like most European nations, has decided to enter into an Intergovernmental Agreement (“IGA”) with the U.S. and to render FATCA applicable in its domestic legislation. As a consequence Belgian Financial Institutions must report the information to the Belgian Federal Public Service (“FPS”) Finance. FPS Finance will supply this information to the IRS.

What does FATCA mean for ING customers?

ING will contact all customers who show one or more U.S. indicia. Customers are required to confirm and evidence their status:

a W-9 form (Request for Taxpayer Identification Number and Certification) has to be filled in. Visit the website of the IRS for more information.

Individual customers need to fill in a W-8BEN form (Certificate of Foreign Status of Beneficial Owner for United States Tax Withholding). Visit the website of the IRS for more information. Additionally, a Certificate of Loss of Nationality of the United States must be provided if an individual no longer has U.S. citizenship (thus also when born in the United States).

Legal entities need to fill in a W-8BEN-E form (Certificate of Status of Beneficial Owner for United States Tax Withholding and Reporting). In this document, the company itself declares what her status is under FATCA. See the website of the IRS for more information. Please note that some companies, although not tax liable in the United States, may still be subject to reporting to the IRS! As an example, there are special rules for financial institutions and for passive entities with U.S. UBOs.


ING continues to service U.S. citizens for accounts and savings as long as they are willing to deliver the required FATCA documentation.

New clients for whom U.S. indicia are found, will have to be documented before the relationship can be opened.

Without the required documentation within a very specific timeframe, ING Belgium will have to consider clients with U.S. indicia as U.S. persons. As a consequence, these clients’ data and accounts must be reported to the IRS (via the Belgian tax authorities).

For more detailed information

On these new measures and their implications, please consult:

Investments for US

Given the existence of certain American regulations likely to have an extra-territorial scope, ING no longer accepts to perform transactions on financial instruments nor to provide services to open a securities account:

  • on someone’s behalf and for natural persons with American nationality and/or having a legal, fiscal or postal address in the United States States or a telephone number in the United States, or a permanent US resident card (“Green Card”);

  • on which a proxy has been given to a person with American nationality and/or having a legal, fiscal or postal address in the United States or a telephone number in the United States, or a permanent US resident card (“Green Card”).

In the event of such service was provided nonetheless and in which the financial instruments were acquired and deposited on a securities account, ING would maintain the right, after having notified the client at least 60 calendar days in advance, to allow him/her the possibility to transfer such financial instruments to another financial institution, to sell the relevant securities at their market value and to close such securities account.

ING shall bear any costs, except where the client:

  • provided wrong information to ING about his/her nationality or their legal, fiscal or postal address or their telephone number in the United States, or their permanent US resident card (“Green Card”);

  • neglected to take all appropriate measures to limit such costs


In case of the client acquires American nationality subsequently, or notifies a new legal, fiscal or postal address in the United States or a telephone number in the United States, or a permanent US resident card (“Green Card”) to ING, ING shall end the possibility for the client to perform transactions on financial instruments.

Furthermore, after having notified such decision to the client and having allowed a period of 60 calendar days to transfer such financial instruments to another financial institution, the financial instruments still on the securities account shall be sold at their market value and the securities account shall be closed. In that case ING shall not bear any costs or charges.

More info ?

Investir

Règlementations internationales

Vous avez un compte à l’étranger ? Vous êtes fiscalement assujetti en dehors de la Belgique ou de l’Union européenne ? Vous avez peut-être des investissements aux États-Unis ? Apprenez-en plus sur les règles du CRS et de FATCA.

Qu'est-ce que le CRS ?

Le CRS ("Common Reporting Standard" ou "Norme commune de déclaration") est un ensemble de règles et de directives régissant l'échange d'informations fiscales entre certains pays. Jusqu'à présent, 78 pays ou juridictions ont signé cet accord multilatéral, tandis que 37 autres se sont engagés à échanger ces informations dans un avenir proche. Le CRS édicte les normes de déclaration et de diligence raisonnable qui régissent l'échange automatique d’informations relatives aux comptes financiers.

L'Union européenne a décidé d'adopter le CRS en amendant sa directive sur la coopération administrative dans le domaine fiscal. Cette nouvelle directive sera applicable dès le 1er janvier 2016 entre les États membres de l'Union européenne.

Qui est concerné par l'application du CRS ?

Les mesures s'appliquent à toute personne physique ou morale résidant dans l'une des juridictions signataires du CRS, y compris la Belgique. Mais ces mesures ciblent principalement les comptes détenus directement ou indirectement par des résidents fiscaux étrangers.

Qu'est-ce que le CRS exige d'ING ?

Conformément aux règles du CRS, ING Belgique est légalement tenue de :

D’identifier les titulaires de comptes nouveaux et existants pour qui il existe des indices de résidence fiscale dans un autre pays. Il se peut que cette situation exige des documents complémentaires.

  • Pour les personnes physiques, ces indices sont généralement :

    • résider dans un autre pays

    • une adresse physique ou postale dans un autre pays, y compris une boîte postale ou une adresse "à l'attention de"

    • une adresse postale faisant office de seule et unique adresse et portant la mention "à l'attention de" ou d’une adresse en poste restante dans un autre pays

    • un ou plusieurs numéros de téléphone dans un autre pays et sans avoir de numéro de téléphone en Belgique

    • le fait de donner procuration ou un pouvoir de signature à une personne dont l'adresse physique ou postale est située dans un autre pays, y compris une adresse portant la mention "à l’attention de" ou d’une adresse en poste restante

    • établir des ordres permanents à partir d'un compte ING Belgique (autre qu'un compte courant ou un livret) sur un compte géré dans un autre pays.

  • Pour les personnes morales, ces indices incluent :

    • le fait d’être enregistrée ou organisée dans un autre pays

    • une adresse physique ou postale dans un autre pays, y compris une adresse portant la mention "poste restante" ou "à l'attention de".


    A l’heure actuelle, tous les pays ne prennent pas encore part au CRS. Cependant, un nombre croissant d’entre eux s’engage à appliquer le CRS. Pour anticiper ces changements, ING Belgique documente également ses clients présentant des indices dans des pays ne participant pas encore à ce jour au CRS.

De communiquer des informations aux autorités fiscales locales. Celles-ci concernent les comptes gérés directement ou indirectement (en tant que bénéficiaire effectif) par des clients assujettis fiscaux dans un pays participant au CRS, à savoir :

  • l'identité de chaque étranger titulaire de comptes faisant l'objet d'une déclaration

  • le numéro des comptes faisant l'objet d’une déclaration

  • le solde de ces comptes au 31 décembre de chaque année

  • tout revenu (intérêts, dividendes, produits bruts…) déposé sur ces comptes.


Les premières déclarations communiquées en 2017 couvriront l'année 2016. Les autorités fiscales belges transmettront ces renseignements aux autorités fiscales du pays participant au CRS concerné.

Le CRS est-il applicable en Belgique ?

La Belgique, comme la plupart des pays européens, a signé cet accord multilatéral, qui prévoit l'échange automatique d'informations fiscales avec les autres signataires. Si l'accord est multilatéral, les échanges sont toutefois bilatéraux.

Cet accord est mis en application par la loi du 16 décembre 2015 réglant la communication des renseignements relatifs aux comptes financiers, par les institutions financières belges et le SPF Finances, dans le cadre d’un échange automatique de renseignements au niveau international et à des fins fiscales

En d'autres termes, cela signifie que toutes les institutions financières de Belgique, y compris ING Belgique, doivent communiquer ces renseignements aux autorités fiscales belges. Celles-ci les transmettent ensuite aux autorités fiscales du pays participant au CRS concerné.

Qu'est-ce que le CRS implique pour moi ?

L'objectif du CRS est de déterminer si certaines informations liées au compte de clients doivent ou non être communiquées. Pour les clients individuels, il s'agit de déterminer s'ils sont résidents d'un pays à des fins fiscales. Pour les personnes morales, cela implique de déterminer le type d'entité (principalement son secteur d'activités), le pays de résidence fiscale et, dans certains cas, le pays de résidence fiscale du bénéficiaire effectif.

S’il existe l’une de ces indications pour un client d'ING Belgique, nous le contacterons pour en savoir plus. Le cas échéant, vous devrez peut-être faire une déclaration et nous fournir la preuve de votre statut.

En savoir plus

Sur les nouvelles mesures et leurs implications

FATCA
Qu'est-ce que la loi FATCA ?

Les États-Unis ont mis en place une nouvelle législation pour prévenir l’évasion fiscale par leurs assujettis fiscaux. Cette législation, appelée "Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act" (FATCA), exige des institutions financières du monde entier qu'elles déclarent assujettis au fisc américain, dénommés "U.S. persons".

Qui est concerné par la loi FATCA ?

Cette législation s'applique aux "U.S. persons", terme qui désigne à la fois des personnes physiques et morales.

Qu’impose la loi FATCA pour les personnes physiques ?

Conformément à la loi FATCA, les institutions financières doivent :

Identifient les clients qui présentent au minimum l'un des indices suivants de lien avec les Etats-Unis. Si le client se trouve dans cette situation, il est possible qu’on lui demande des documents supplémentaires.

  • Identifient les clients (personnes morales) qui présentent au minimum l'un des indices suivants de lien avec les États-Unis :

    • le siège social (société de droit US) ou le lieu d’établissement (succursale d’une société de droit non-US) est aux États-Unis d'Amérique
    • une adresse (d’exploitation, postale, poste restante ou intermédiaire) est aux États-Unis d’Amérique.
  • Collectent des renseignements sur les clients pour lesquels il existe des indices de lien avec les États-Unis. Concrètement, le client doit signer un formulaire imposé par l’IRS ("Internal Revenue Service", l'agence fiscale américaine) pour confirmer ou réfuter son assujettissement au fisc américain.

  • :

    • l'identité des personnes morales US et de chaque personne physique US détenant une part substantielle dans le capital de l’entité ou en mesure d’influencer ou de prendre des décisions au nom de l’entité ;
    • leurs comptes et le solde de ces comptes ;
    • les revenus financiers sur ces comptes.

    Les premiers rapports sont attendus en 2015 et porteront sur l'année 2014.

De communiquer aux autorités fiscales locales les informations liées aux comptes gérés directement ou indirectement (en tant que bénéficiaire effectif) par des « U.S. persons », à savoir :

  • l'identité de chaque titulaire « U.S. person » des comptes faisant l’objet d’une déclaration
  • le numéro de compte faisant l’objet d’une déclaration
  • le solde de ces comptes
  • tout revenu (intérêts, dividendes, produits bruts …) déposé sur ces comptes.

Les autorités fiscales belges transmettront ces renseignements aux autorités fiscales des États-Unis (IRS – Internal Revenue Service).

La loi FATCA s'applique-t-elle en Belgique ?

La Belgique, comme la plupart des pays européens, a décidé de conclure un accord intergouvernemental (IGA) avec les Etats-Unis pour que les dispositions de la loi FATCA soient d’application dans la législation nationale belge. Il en résulte que les institutions financières belges doivent rapporter les informations au Service Public Fédéral (SPF) Finances. Celui-ci les transmettra à son tour à l'IRS.

Quelles sont les implications de la loi FATCA pour les clients ING ?

ING contactera tout client pour lequel il existe un ou plusieurs indice(s) de lien avec les États-Unis. Le client est tenu de confirmer et de prouver son statut statut s'il/si elle :

S'il/si elle est une "U.S. person", avec la citoyenneté ou la résidence américaine, un formulaire W-9 ("Request for Taxpayer Identification Number and Certification") doit être complété. Consultez le site internet de l’IRS pour des infos plus détaillées

S'il/si elle souhaite attester qu'il/elle n'est pas une "U.S. person", une personne physique doit completer un formulaire W-8BEN ("Certificate of Foreign Status of Beneficial Owner for United States Tax Withholding"). Consultez le site internet de l’IRS (EN) pour des infos plus détaillées. En outre, un certificat de perte de la nationalité américaine doit être fourni lorsqu’un individu a renoncé à sa citoyenneté américaine (même s’il est né aux États-Unis).

Une personne morale doit completer un formulaire W-8BEN-E ("Certificate of Status of Beneficial Owner for United States Tax Withholding and Reporting "). Dans ce document, la société atteste son statut FATCA. Consultez le site internet de l’IRS (EN) pour des infos plus détaillées.

Notez que certaines entreprises, bien que non assujetties au fisc américain, doivent néanmoins être rapportées à l’IRS. Par exemple, il y a des règles spécifiques pour les institutions financières et pour les entités passives détenues par des Américains.


ING continuera à offrir aux citoyens U.S. tous ses services en lien avec des comptes à vue et des comptes épargne, pour autant que ces citoyens acceptent de fournir les informations exigées par la loi FATCA.

Les informations requises par FATCA devront être fournies préalablement à l’établissement d’une relation commerciale avec de nouveaux clients pour lesquels il existe des indices de lien avec les États-Unis.

Si les documents requis ne sont pas fournis dans un délai très précis, ING Belgique devra considérer les clients pour lesquels il existe des indices de lien avec les États-Unis comme des ressortissants américains. Par conséquent, les informations sur les données et comptes de ces clients devront être fournies à l'IRS (par l'intermédiaire des autorités fiscales belges).

Pour en savoir plus

Sur ces nouvelles mesures et leurs implications, veuillez :

Investissements pour US

Étant donné l’existence de certaines réglementations américaines susceptibles d’avoir une portée extraterritoriale, ING n’accepte plus d’exécuter des opérations sur instruments financiers ni d’offrir des services d’ouverture de comptes-titres :

  • au nom et pour des personnes physiques ayant la nationalité américaine et/ou une adresse légale, fiscale ou postale aux États-Unis, un numéro de téléphone aux Etats-Unis ou un Certificat de Résident Permanent (‘Green Card’) ;

  • dont un mandataire ou un représentant légal a la nationalité américaine et/ou une adresse légale, fiscale ou postale aux États-Unis un numéro de téléphone aux Etats-Unis ou un Certificat de Résident Permanent (‘Green Card’).

Au cas où ce service serait néanmoins presté et où des instruments financiers seraient acquis et déposés dans un compte-titres, ING conserverait le droit, après en avoir averti le client au moins 60 jours calendrier à l’avance en vue de lui laisser la possibilité de transférer ces instruments financiers vers une autre institution financière, de vendre les titres concernés à leur valeur de marché et de clôturer le compte-titres.

ING en supportera les coûts éventuels, sauf dans les cas où le client :

  • aurait fourni des informations fautives à ING concernant sa nationalité ou son adresse légale, fiscale ou postale, un numéro de téléphone aux Etats-Unis ou un Certificat de Résident Permanent (‘Green Card’)

  • aurait négligé de prendre toutes les mesures adéquates en vue de limiter ces coûts


Dans le cas où le client acquiert a posteriori la nationalité américaine, ou communique à ING une nouvelle adresse légale, fiscale ou postale aux États-Unis ou un numéro de téléphone aux Etats-Unis ou un Certificat de Résident Permanent (‘Green Card’), il sera alors mis fin par ING à la possibilité pour le client d’exécuter des opérations d'achat ou de souscriptions d'instruments financiers.

En sus, après avoir communiqué cette décision au client et lui avoir donné un délai de 60 jours calendrier pour transférer ces instruments financiers vers une autre institution financière ou vendre ceux-ci de son propre chef, les instruments financiers restant dans le compte-titres seront vendus à leur valeur de marché et le compte-titres sera clôturé. Dans ce cas, ING ne supportera pas les coûts et frais éventuels.

Plus d’info ?