Studies and jobs: how do you juggle?

Watch the video 

Studies and jobs: how do you juggle?

Wether you need to pay your rent or want to buy a tablet, earning a bit of money to pay your own bills is a very good idea. But before you get a job, here are some things to think about.


Young people at work

Did you know that 8 out of 10 students work to pay their bills or their leisure. Some of them work during the holidays, others regularly throughout the year or on an occasional basis. What do they earn? A student who works regularly throughout the year earns on average 329 euros per month, while the occasional worker earns around 200 euros per month. If you work during your holidays, you are likely to earn on average 1,082 euros per month. If you don't have summer exams you could even work throughout July and relax in the sun in August.

In which sectors?

What came first on the list of the top 5 student jobs? Babysitting attracts 34% of the students. It is followed by catering (23%), work in the house and garden (22%), shop work (21%) and administrative roles (11%) in that order.

Finding a job

Have you found what kind of student job you would like to do? Now you just need to land a job, which you will do by searching high and low. Temporary employment agencies, Actiris, Forem, VDAB, social networks, internet portals and other business sites like ing.jobs are the top destinations. But it is better to plan ahead.

What are the financial consequences for your parents?

Be careful about your income: if you exceed a certain threshold, your parents will have to pay higher taxes. What about family allowances? In order to keep receiving them, you must avoid working too many hours per term. If you work during your studies you pay much less in social security contributions than other workers. However, this only remains the case if you do not exceed the quota of working days.

Any other questions?

Find out more in our "Work" section




See also:

Comment jongler entre travail et études

Regardez la vidéo 

Job étudiant : comment jongler entre travail et études ?

Vos parents vous aident déjà financièrement... Alors, pour vous offrir une tablette ou une paire de baskets tendance, vous préférez compter sur vous-même ! Gagner un peu d'argent, très bonne idée. Mais avant de vous mettre à bosser, voici quelques ficelles qu'il vaut mieux maîtriser.


Les jeunes qui bossent : combien… et pour combien ?

Vous n'êtes pas seul au monde : 8 étudiants sur 10 travaillent pour gagner de l'argent. Pendant les vacances, régulièrement tout au long de l’année ou de manière plus ponctuelle. Et côté salaire ? L’étudiant qui bosse régulièrement pendant l’année touche en moyenne 329 euros par mois, alors que le jobiste occasionnel gagne environ 200 euros par mois. En travaillant pendant vos vacances, vous gagnerez en moyenne 1.082 euros par mois. Si vous n’avez pas de seconde sess’, vous pourrez même bosser en juillet et bronzer en août !

Dans quels secteurs ?

Devinette : qui trône en tête du top 5 des boulots d’étudiant ? Le vainqueur s’appelle babysitting, qui attire 34 % des étudiants jobistes. Il est suivi dans l’ordre par l’horeca (23 %), les travaux de maison et de jardinage (22 %), le travail en magasin (21 %) et les fonctions administratives (11 %).

Reste à trouver du boulot !

Vous avez trouvé ce que vous vouliez faire pour arrondir vos fins de mois ? Il ne vous reste plus qu’à décrocher un job… ce que vous ferez en fouinant à gauche et à droite. Agences d'intérim, Actiris, Forem, VDAB, réseaux sociaux, portails internet et autres sites d'entreprise comme ing.jobs sont des incontournables. Mais mieux vaut s’y prendre à l’avance !

Quelles conséquences financières pour vos parents ?

Attention au montant de vos revenus : si vous dépassez un certain seuil, vos parents paieront plus d’impôts. Et les allocations familiales ? Pour les conserver, vous éviterez de travailler trop d’heures par trimestre. Sachez aussi qu’en travaillant comme étudiant, vous payez beaucoup moins de cotisations sociales qu’un autre travailleur. Mais attention : ce ne sera le cas que si vous ne dépassez pas un quota de jours de travail. 

D'autres questions ?

Plus d'infos dans notre section "Travailler"




A lire aussi :