Family

22 September 2016

Preparing for baby’s arrival – family protection

Is your baby on its way, or is the family getting bigger with a new baby brother or sister? Congratulations! Are you now wondering how to protect this little human being who is entirely dependent on you? Luckily, there is insurance to help you.

Medical care

When we think about protection, we think first about medical cover. When planning a pregnancy, in addition to your basic cover, you can subscribe to supplementary medical insurance, which will cover extra issues for the mother and baby during childbirth and maternity leave. You can subscribe to the same kind of insurance for your child once it is born. This will allow you to provide the best care and to focus your energy on your baby, without being worried about how to cover those expenses.

Household and family

Consider also choosing the appropriate protection for your home. Welcoming a baby will change your everyday life. You could easily forget to turn off the gas or the water tap when going out. Such an incident could be dramatic, but a good insurance policy would allow you to get back on your feet faster at limited expense. There are also family policies which cover you in case your child (or a member of your family) causes material damage or physical harm to a third party.

Travelling

Although holidays are not the number one priority when the baby arrives, you will be delighted to have a family break and show the world to your child. Before any travel, check your cover for unexpected situations and make the necessary arrangements before your departure (cancellation insurance, travel accidents, personal assistance, etc.). It is not always necessary to subscribe to a separate travel insurance policy: some credit cards (often labelled “Gold” or “Platinum”) include this under certain conditions.

What would happen if you were not here anymore?

This is the last thing you want to think about, given you have just welcomed a child, but you need to consider it. In the tragic event that you and/or your partner were to disappear, what would happen to your baby?

The first decision to make is: Who will take care of it? Parents, brother/sister, friends? Be clear about who you could trust with your child and get confirmation from those persons. Then take care of the necessary paperwork so that your decision cannot be revoked after you have gone.

The next step is not to leave any outstanding debt for your child and to plan its financial future, at least for a few years after your demise. There are a few aspects to consider:

  • Who will bear some of the expenses, such as funeral costs or inheritance rights? Different life insurance formulae exist. They may, in the event of death, provide for the payment of a sum of money defined in advance, which can be used to cover the above costs.
  • Who will pay for your mortgage? Belgian banks require you to have life insurance for outstanding amounts linked to your mortgage; this will prevent your heirs from having huge debts. In the event of your death, this protection will pay off the outstanding balance of your loan.
  • What will happen to your other loans? Life insurance for outstanding amounts also exists for other kinds of loans (personal, car, home improvement, etc.) but is not mandatory. If you have several outstanding loans with significant amounts, it would be wise to take out cover for them.
What next?

Be prepared for the worst, but hope for the best! Consider now the insurance you might need and make sure your child will be protected the way you want it to be.

Make an appointment with your banker or at an ING branch to find out all the details. You can also ask your questions by phone on +32 2 464 60 04.

Famille

22 septembre 2016

Préparer l’arrivée de bébé : protection de la famille

Bébé est en route ou votre famille s’agrandit avec l’arrivée d’un petit frère ou d’une petite sœur ? Félicitations ! Vous vous demandez comment vous pourrez protéger ce petit être qui dépend entièrement de vous ? Heureusement les assurances sont là pour vous aider.

Soins médicaux

Quand on pense protection, on pense tout d’abord à une couverture médicale. En planifiant une grossesse, en plus de votre mutualité de base, vous pouvez souscrire à une assurance médicale complémentaire qui prendra en charge l’excédent des soins de maman et de bébé lors de l’accouchement et pendant le séjour à la maternité.

Quand votre enfant naîtra, vous pourrez en faire de même pour lui. Cela vous permettra de lui fournir les meilleurs soins et de focaliser votre énergie sur lui, sans vous inquiéter de pouvoir couvrir les frais engendrés.

La maison et la famille

Pensez également à choisir une protection adaptée pour votre foyer. Accueillir un bébé bouleverse le quotidien ; vous pourriez facilement oublier d’éteindre la cuisinière ou de fermer le robinet en sortant. Un tel accident serait dramatique, mais une bonne assurance vous permettrait de vous en sortir rapidement et à moindre coût. Il existe également des assurances familiales qui vous couvrent dans le cas où votre enfant (ou un membre de votre famille) causerait un dégât matériel ou physique à un tiers.

Les voyages

Bien que les vacances ne soient pas votre priorité après l’arrivée de bébé, vous serez ravi(e) de faire une pause en famille et de faire découvrir le monde à votre enfant. Avant tout déplacement à l’étranger, vérifiez dans quelle mesure vous êtes couvert(e) contre les imprévus et prenez les dispositions nécessaires avant le départ (assurance annulation, accident de voyage, assistance, etc.). Il n’est pas forcément nécessaire de souscrire à une assurance voyage séparée : certaines cartes de crédit (souvent libellées « Gold » ou « Platinum ») l’incluent sous conditions.

Et si vous n’étiez plus là ?

Reste à envisager la perspective la moins agréable alors qu’on vient d’accueillir un enfant. Dans la tragique situation où vous et/ou votre partenaire veniez à disparaître, qu’adviendrait-il de votre bébé ?

La première décision à prendre est : qui s’occupera de lui ? Parents, frère/sœur, amis ? Définissez clairement à qui vous souhaitez le confier et obtenez la confirmation des personnes concernées ; faites ensuite les démarches légales nécessaires de manière à ce que votre choix ne soit pas contestable en votre absence.

Il s’agira ensuite de ne pas laisser de dettes à votre enfant et de prévoir son avenir financier, au moins pour les quelques années suivant votre disparition. Il y a plusieurs aspects à prendre en compte :

  • Qui prendra en charge certains frais comme les frais d’obsèques ou les droits de succession ? Différentes formules d’assurances décès existent. Elles peuvent notamment prévoir le versement, en cas de décès, d’une somme d’argent définie à l’avance pouvant servir à couvrir les frais rencontrés.
  • Qui remboursera votre crédit hypothécaire s’il court toujours ? Les banques belges exigent que vous contractiez une assurance solde restant dû liée à votre crédit hypothécaire, ce qui met vos successeurs à l’abri d’une dette importante. En cas de décès, cette protection rembourse le solde impayé de votre emprunt.
  • Qu’en sera-t-il de vos autres emprunts ? Des assurances solde restant dû existent également pour les autres types de prêts (personnel, auto, rénovation, etc.), mais ne sont pas exigées. Si vous avez plusieurs crédits en cours avec des montants conséquents, il serait judicieux de vous en servir pour les couvrir.
Et maintenant ?

Soyez préparé(e) au pire, mais espérez le meilleur ! Évaluez dès à présent les assurances dont vous avez besoin et vous assurer que votre enfant sera protégé à la hauteur de vos attentes.

Prenez rendez-vous avec votre banquier ou dans une agence ING pour en connaître les détails. Vous pouvez également poser vos question par téléphone au +32 2 464 60 02.