Eco-renovation
Housing

19 January 2017

Renovating your home: ecological and economic options

Are you about to renovate your home and would like to help the environment and save money at the same time? Find out how.

What is eco-renovation?

If your primary goal is to reduce your fossil fuel consumption, this is known as eco-renovation. It is specifically designed to reduce your carbon footprint and help protect the environment.

Benefits of eco-renovation

This work is generally more expensive than traditional renovation, but the energy savings over time largely offset the initial investment, which is more important. It is therefore a long-term investment that has an immediate impact on your energy bills.

A few figures

Let's take the example of photovoltaic solar panels. On average, a family of 3 people consumes 3,500 kWh/year. The initial investment needed to cover this requirement is €6,000. The energy performance of the panels is directly dependent on their orientation and the slope of the roof. By combining this performance with the financing method, any government grants, and the rise in energy prices, the financial returns on the panels can vary between 2.3% and 6.8% per year. We can therefore see that even in the worst case, it is still a better deal than a savings account.

Eco-renovations also help to reduce the primary energy consumption index (i.e. not converted) of a property. This index is used to create the PEB certificate, a tool that classifies and compares the energy performance of buildings on the market in an objective way. Better performance obviously increases the value of the property.

The stages of ecological renovation

Well-targeted action helps to improve thermal comfort and save energy Here are a few tips to help you begin, which will maximise your (financial) efforts.

Insulation: the most important stage

Before undertaking a new installation, it is essential to improve the thermal performance of your property, so that you can reduce your heating needs and not waste any future savings you will make.

You therefore need to insulate your property effectively to reduce heat loss, either through transfer or lack of airtightness.

  • Limiting heat transfer loss: create an effective envelope for the building, with thick, well-insulated walls, roofs, floors and window frames, to which you can add triple-thickness windows. Also, remember to reduce thermal bridges (gaps in the insulation), especially the points of contact between the walls, floors, roofs and rafters.
  • Limiting heat loss due to lack of airtightness: prevent loss through joints and cracks by aiming for total airtightness.
Efficient heating

After insulation, you can assess the available efficient heating options: thermal solar panels, heat pump, boiler or wood burner, or high-energy-content pellet fuel.

Renewable energy

The current trend is for renewable energy: green electricity and solar energy. The popularity of photovoltaic solar panels reached a peak prior to 2012, mainly due to the tax benefits and bonuses granted by the Regional governments. Although it has slowed down since 2012, following the removal of tax benefits, then bonuses (in the Flanders region only), growth is still positive and Belgium remains a significant contributor of solar energy in Europe.

How to finance your eco-renovation
Regional government green loan

The 3 Belgian regions support eco-renovation. In particular, they subsidise minimum-rate loans for their residents. To receive these, you may be subject to an income cap, as well as conditions concerning the nature of the renovation. Please look at the relevant website for more information:

Support from banks

Some financial institutions also support these initiatives and offer very attractive rates for eco-renovations. Make sure that the work you are planning is included in the ecological category defined by your bank.

An example: an ING loan to install photovoltaic solar panels

Let's take the case of a building with an average annual consumption of 14,000 kWh/year (considerably more than an average family's consumption, as we have seen earlier). If you have a roof with an appropriate slope and solar panels can be installed with the optimum orientation, you can maximise your energy performance. The initial investment needed to cover this consumption will be €24,000.

  • If the panel installation is funded by an ING 5-year loan with a fixed annual rate of 1.95%, the cumulative interest over the period of the loan will be €1,208.39.
  • For this building, the annual savings on energy bills will be over €3,000, without counting any rises in energy prices over time. The savings over 5 years will exceed €15,000, which will easily cover the cumulative interest. With these annual savings, the initial investment will also be paid back quickly.

Financing with a suitable loan will therefore help to maintain the positive returns on this eco-renovation. If the building is located in Brussels or Wallonia, it will also benefit from green electricity generation bonuses, giving it even greater returns.

To sum up

Eco-renovation can help to reduce your carbon footprint and save money at the same time. This type of work will also help your house increase its value.

Do you want to find out more about our "green" loan? Make an appointment at one of our branches or call our help desk on +32 2 464 60 04.

You now have all the information you need to fund your project, so don't hesitate to help protect the environment!

Article written in association with TopCompare.be.

Rénovation écologique
Logement

19 janvier 2017

Rénover son habitation : options écologiques et économiques

Vous êtes sur le point de rénover votre habitation et souhaitez par la même occasion faire un geste pour l’environnement et pour votre portefeuille ? Découvrez comment faire.

Qu’est-ce qu’une rénovation écologique ?

Si votre premier but est de réduire votre consommation d’énergie fossile, on parle bien de rénovation écologique. Celle-ci est spécifiquement étudiée pour réduire votre empreinte carbone et contribuer à la sauvegarde de l’environnement.

Avantages de la rénovation écologique

Ces travaux sont généralement plus chers que des rénovations classiques, mais l’économie d’énergie qu’ils permettent de faire dans le temps doit largement compenser la mise de départ qui est plus importante. C’est donc un investissement sur le long terme mais avec des impacts immédiats sur la facture d’énergie.

Quelques chiffres

Prenons l’exemple de panneaux solaires photovoltaïques. Une famille de 3 personnes consomme en moyenne 3.500 kWh/an. L’investissement de base nécessaire pour couvrir ce besoin est de 6.000 €. Le rendement énergétique des panneaux dépendra directement de leur orientation et de la pente du toit. En combinant ce rendement à leur mode de financement, aux éventuels subsides de l’Etat, et à la hausse du prix de l’énergie, la rentabilité financière des panneaux peut varier entre 2,3 % et 6,8 % par an. On voit donc que, même dans le cas le plus défavorable, cela reste plus rentable qu’un compte d’épargne.

Les rénovations écologiques permettent par ailleurs de diminuer l’indice de consommation d’énergie primaire (c’est à dire non transformée) d’un logement. Cet indice est utilisé dans le cadre du certificat PEB, qui est un outil permettant de classer et comparer de manière objective la performance énergétique des bâtiments sur le marché. Une meilleure performance augmentera évidemment la valeur du logement.

Les étapes de la rénovation écologique

Des actions bien ciblées permettent d’améliorer le confort thermique et d’économiser de l’énergie. Voici quelques pistes pour débuter et optimiser vos efforts (financiers).

Isoler : l’étape la plus importante

Avant d’entreprendre de nouvelles installations, il est primordial d’améliorer les performances thermiques de votre logement pour réduire les besoins en chauffage, et ne pas gaspiller les économies futures que vous ferez.

Il s’agit donc d’isoler votre habitation de manière performante pour réduire les pertes de chaleur, qu’elles soient dues à la transmission ou au manque d’étanchéité à l’air.

  • Limitez les pertes par transmission : constituez une enveloppe efficace du bâtiment avec des murs, toits et planchers épais et bien isolés, tout comme les châssis auxquels vous pouvez ajouter des vitrages de triple épaisseur. Pensez également à réduire les ponts thermiques (c’est-à-dire les interruptions dans l’isolation), surtout aux points de contact entre les parois, sols, toits et la charpente.
  • Limitez les pertes par manque d’étanchéité à l’air : évitez les pertes par les joints et les fissures en visant une étanchéité à l’extrême.
Chauffage performant

Après l’isolation, vous pouvez évaluer les options disponibles pour le système de chauffage performant : panneaux solaires thermiques, pompe à chaleur, chaudière ou poêle à bois, ou pellets à haut rendement.

Energies renouvelables

La tendance actuelle va plutôt vers les énergies renouvelables : électricité verte et énergie solaire. La cote de popularité des panneaux solaires photovoltaïques avait d’ailleurs explosé avant 2012, notamment grâce l’avantage fiscal et aux primes accordées par les Régions. Même si cela s’est ralenti après 2012 suite à la suppression de la fiscalité avantageuse, puis des primes (dans la région flamande uniquement), la croissance est toujours positive et la Belgique reste un contributeur important d’énergie solaire en Europe.

Comment financer votre rénovation écologique ?
Prêt vert des régions

Les 3 régions soutiennent les travaux écologiques. Elles subsidient notamment des prêts à des taux plancher pour leurs habitants. Pour pouvoir en bénéficier, certains plafonds sur le revenu s’appliquent, de même que des conditions sur la nature des travaux. N’hésitez pas à consulter leur site respectif pour plus d’information à ce sujet :

Soutien de la banque

Certaines institutions financières soutiennent également ces initiatives et offrent des taux très attrayants pour les rénovations écologiques. Attention à vérifier que les travaux que vous envisagez entrent bien dans la catégorie écologique telle que définie par votre banque.

Un exemple: emprunt chez ING pour l’installation de panneaux solaires photovoltaïques

Considérons le cas d’un bâtiment avec une consommation annuelle moyenne de 14.000 kWh/an (ceci dépasse largement une consommation familiale comme on l’a vu plus haut). S’il est doté d’un toit avec une pente adéquate et qu’on y installe des panneaux solaires avec une orientation optimale, on peut en maximiser le rendement énergétique. L’investissement de base nécessaire pour couvrir cette consommation sera alors de 24.000 €.

  • Si l’installation des panneaux est financée par un crédit chez ING sur 5 ans à un taux fixe annuel de 1,95 %, les intérêts cumulés sur la durée du prêt seront de 1.208,39 €.
  • Pour ce bâtiment, l’économie annuelle sur la facture d’énergie sera de plus de 3.000 €, sans compter que le prix de l’énergie augmentera au fil du temps. L’économie sur 5 ans dépassera 15.000 €, ce qui couvrira largement les intérêts cumulés. Avec cette économie annuelle, l’investissement de base sera lui aussi rapidement remboursé.

Un financement avec un emprunt adapté permet donc de garder un rendement positif sur une telle rénovation écologique. Si ce bâtiment se situe à Bruxelles ou en Wallonie, il bénéficiera de surcroît de primes pour la production d’électricité verte, lui conférant un rendement encore meilleur.

En bref

Une rénovation écologique vous permet de diminuer votre empreinte carbone et de faire des économies par la même occasion. Votre maison gagnera également en valeur grâce à ce type de travaux.

En savoir plus sur notre crédit "vert" ? Prenez rendez-vous dans l’une de nos agences ou appelez le +32 2 464 60 02.

Vous avez maintenant toutes les cartes en main pour pouvoir financer un tel projet, n’hésitez plus à aider à la préservation l’environnement !

Article écrit en collaboration avec TopCompare.be.