Working

5 August 2016

Expats: tips on moving to Belgium

Moving to a foreign country is a real challenge. You need to get to grips with the culture, learn about the laws and rules, sometimes pick up a new language ... Are you planning to come to work and live in Belgium? Before you embark on the adventure, read these tips which might prove to be very useful.

Moving and relocation

Some employers make use of relocation experts when posting employees abroad. These experts then take charge of the move from A to Z. These are relocation services. If your employer uses a company specialising in this type of service, check two things: the scope of the services provided by this company and whether your employer will be covering the costs. For more information, visit the ABRA website, the Association of Belgian Relocation Agents.

Not all employers make use of relocation services. Employees sometimes have to fend for themselves. In this case, a stress-free move will depend on how well informed you are. This checklist dedicated to expats might come in handy.

What paperwork should you take with you?

The first thing to know is that international mobility is easier between countries within the European Union than between other countries. For example, it will be much easier for a Spaniard to move to Belgium than for an American

.

If you are European, you do not need an international passport, work permit or residence permit (for most European nationals) in order to settle in Belgium. However, if you come from a country outside Europe, these documents are required.

Whatever your nationality, remember to bring along your identity documents (identity card, passport, etc.) and those of your spouse and your children if they are coming with you. Also take your civil status documents (birth, marriage certificate, etc.).

Good to know: you can find out about the administrative procedures relating to your move to Belgium at the Office des √Čtrangers/Immigration Office.

Finding accommodations in Belgium

Once in Belgium, you will need to find accommodations. A hotel or "aparthotel" can be a good solution at first, but it is only temporary. You will then have to decide whether to rent or buy a home.

Renting is a fairly simple process. But a lot of practical information will have to be taken into account. What is a rental guarantee, for example? And what should you watch out for when signing a rental agreement? You will find all the answers to your questions in this article.

Prefer to buy? You first need to calculate your borrowing capacity. You also need to consider other costs associated with your purchase (registration fees, etc.), potential renovations and regional subsidies for which you might qualify. Read through this summary of the steps to follow.

How to be properly insured?

Another important aspect to consider when you move abroad: insurance. It is essential that you take stock of all your insurance cover before moving to Belgium.

First check whether your current insurance has international coverage. If not, you will need to terminate the insurance in your country and replace it with new Belgian insurance.

Your employer may be the one paying your insurance. If so, take a good look at your cover, especially to find out whether your family is also covered. And take out additional insurance if necessary.

ING, a partner of choice

The last essential consideration if you are settling in Belgium: finding a bank that offers services to expats. A bank that is familiar with the procedures you need to complete in order to settle in Belgium and that will help you with these procedures. ING is at your side before, during and after your move. In fact, over 40% of expats in Belgium have selected ING as a financial partner. Find out more here.

Want to know more about preparing your move to Belgium?

Visit ing.be/expat, the ING website dedicated to expats. And if you still have questions, get in touch with an ING advisor or call the ING Expat Contact Centre at + 32 2 464 66 64.

travailler

01 juin 2017

Expats : conseils pour s’installer en Belgique

S’installer dans un pays étranger est un vrai challenge. Il faut se familiariser avec la culture, s’informer sur les lois et règles, parfois apprendre une nouvelle langue… Vous avez prévu de venir travailler et vous installer en Belgique ? Avant de vous lancer dans l’aventure, découvrez quelques conseils qui pourront vous être bien utiles.

Déménagement et relocalisation

L’employeur peut faire appel à des experts pour le transfert international de ses employés. Ces experts prennent alors le transfert en charge, de A à Z. Il s’agit de services de relocalisation. Si votre employeur fait appel à une entreprise spécialisée dans ce type de services, vérifiez deux choses :

  1. Ce que couvrent les services prestés par cette entreprise et si votre employeur prendra les frais en charge.

  2. Pour plus d’informations, vous pouvez consulter le site de l’ABRA, l’Association of Belgian Relocation Agents.

Tous les employeurs ne font pas appel à de tels services de relocalisation. Les employés doivent parfois se débrouiller seuls. Dans ce cas, il vaut mieux être bien informé pour réussir son installation. Cette check-list dédiée aux expats peut être utile.

Quels documents administratifs emporter ?

Sachez tout d’abord que la mobilité internationale est plus facile entre les pays au sein de l’Union Européenne qu’entre d’autres pays du monde. Un Espagnol pourra donc s’installer en Belgique bien plus aisément qu’un Américain.

Si vous êtes Européen, vous n’avez pas besoin de passeport international, de permis de travail ou de permis de séjour (pour la plupart des ressortissants européens) pour vous installer en Belgique. Si vous venez d’un pays hors Europe par contre, ces documents sont obligatoires.

Dans tous les cas, pensez à emmener vos documents d’identité (carte d’identité, passeport…), ainsi que ceux de votre conjoint(e) et de vos enfants s’ils vous accompagnent. Prenez également avec vous vos documents d’état civil (acte de naissance, de mariage…).

Bon à savoir : vous trouvez toutes les informations concernant les démarches administratives à entreprendre pour s’installer en Belgique auprès de l’Office des Étrangers.

Trouver un logement sur place

Une fois arrivé en Belgique, il vous faudra trouver un logement. L’hôtel ou "l’appart’hôtel" peut être une bonne solution dans un premier temps mais elle n’est que temporaire. Vous devrez ensuite décider de louer ou d’acheter une habitation.

Louer est une démarche assez simple. Mais il faut tout de même tenir compte d’une série d’informations pratiques. Qu’est-ce qu’une garantie locative par exemple ? Et à quoi faut-il faire attention lors de la signature d’un bail locatif ? Vous trouverez toutes les réponses à vos questions dans cet article.

Vous préférez acheter ? Vous devez tout d’abord calculer votre capacité d’emprunt. Il faut également penser aux autres frais liés à votre achat (droits d’enregistrement, etc), aux rénovations éventuelles et aux aides régionales pour celles-ci. Découvrez un résumé des étapes à suivre.

Comment être bien assuré ?

Un autre aspect important à prendre en considération lorsque vous vous installez à l’étranger : les assurances. Il est essentiel de faire un check-up de toutes vos assurances avant de déménager en Belgique.

Vérifiez tout d’abord si vos assurances actuelles ont une couverture internationale. Si ce n’est pas le cas, il faut les résilier dans votre pays et les remplacer par de nouvelles en Belgique.

Il se peut que votre employeur paye vos assurances. Si c’est le cas, vérifiez bien les couvertures de celles-ci, pour savoir notamment si votre famille est également couverte. Et souscrivez une assurance complémentaire si nécessaire.

ING, un partenaire de choix

Dernier élément essentiel si vous vous installez en Belgique : trouver une banque qui offre des services aux expats. Celle-ci doit connaître les démarches à effectuer pour s’installer en Belgique et doit vous accompagner pendant ces démarches. ING est à vos côtés avant, pendant et après votre séjour. D’ailleurs, plus de 40 % des expats en Belgique ont choisi ING comme partenaire financier. Plus d’info ici.

Plus d’info pour préparer votre séjour en Belgique ?