Free time

Fancy learning a little more about money with these 5 family films?

Not sure what to watch on TV tonight with your family? How about one of these 5 films that come with the added bonus of teaching us about money and our finances? Don't panic, they’re not complicated films about traders or how the stock market works...

Money, financial independence, support, savings... everyday topics often explored in films. And occasionally with a lesson to be learned, sometimes even unsuspected. Think you’ll see the moral of the story in these family favourites? 

Here’s the line-up

  • Aladdin (1992)
  • The Pursuit of Happyness (2006)
  • Up (2009)
  • Coming to America (1998)
  • Cool Runnings (1993)

Enjoy your film!

1. Aladdin (1992)

This hilarious animated classic tells the story of the adventures of Aladdin, a young orphan urchin who discovers the Genie's magic lamp. He falls in love with Princess Jasmine and pretends to be the wealthy Prince Ali so he can marry her. (Un)fortunately, money and prestige aren’t everything, and it’s through being himself that Aladdin wins Jasmine's heart. After a few gags and raucous laughter of course!

2. The Pursuit of Happyness (2006)

This film recounts the true story of Chris Gardner, played by Will Smith. This penniless, unemployed father is determined to get back on his feet, despite the pitfalls and financial difficulties he faces. He takes on an unpaid traineeship which opens the doors to his dream job. A great example of self-sacrifice to achieve financial independence.

3. Up (2009)

Another animated film that becomes a box office hit. Just reading the title brings the image to mind, the little house floating up into the sky thanks to all the colourful balloons hanging from it. But back to the plot. Long ago, Carl and Ellie's dream was to visit the famous Paradise Falls together. The couple had saved up money for the trip. Unfortunately, life’s unexpected events forced them to use their nest egg prematurely and put their dream on hold. So what can we learn from this? It’s important to put money aside for things that can crop up out of the blue.

4. Coming to America (1988)

Akeem (Eddie Murphy) is crown prince of the (fictional) Kingdom of Zamunda, an extremely rich African nation. But Akeem refuses the marriage arranged by his parents and heads off to find the love of his life... in New York! Wanting to find a wife who loves him for who he really is, he pretends to be poor. And so a new life begins for him, where he works, takes charge of his life and becomes financially independent. Will he meet the woman of his dreams?  

5. Cool Runnings (1993)

The crazy but true story of four Jamaicans who decided to compete in the bobsled event at the 1988 Winter Olympics in Calgary. With no money, equipment or experience, the four young men do all kinds of jobs to raise money: Sanka sings, Yul arm-wrestles and Junior sells his car. Will this be enough to get to Calgary and make an impression? Whatever happens, they show us that a lack of money shouldn’t stop us from living out our wildest dreams!

And after the credits have rolled?

Loisirs

5 films sur le thème de l'argent à regarder en famille

Vous ne savez pas quoi regarder ce soir à la télé en famille ? Et pourquoi pas l’un de ces 5 films qui offrent une chouette leçon sur l’argent et nos finances au passage ? Pas de panique, aucun film compliqué sur des traders ou sur le fonctionnement de la bourse dans notre liste…

L’argent, l’indépendance financière, l’entraide, les économies… des thèmes de la vie quotidienne qui ont souvent été abordés au cinéma. Avec souvent, une leçon à en tirer, parfois même insoupçonnée. Saurez-vous trouver la morale de l’histoire dans ces films à regarder en famille ?

Au programme :

  • Aladdin (1992)
  • A la recherche du bonheur (2006)
  • Là-haut (2009)
  • Un prince à New York (1998)
  • Rasta Rockett (1993)

Bonne séance !

1. Aladdin (1992)

Ce grand classique d’animation plein d’humour raconte les aventures d’Aladdin, jeune orphelin mendiant qui trouve la lampe magique du Génie. Tombé amoureux de la princesse Jasmine, il se fait passer pour le richissime prince Ali pour obtenir la main de la princesse. L’argent et le prestige ne font (mal)heureusement pas tout, et c’est en étant véritablement lui-même qu’Aladdin conquerra le cœur de Jasmine. Après plusieurs gags et franches rigolades bien évidemment !

2. A la recherche du bonheur (2006)

Ce film raconte l’histoire vraie de Chris Gardner, interprété par Will Smith, père de famille sans le sou et sans emploi qui va se battre pour remonter la pente, malgré les embûches et les difficultés financières. Un premier stage non rémunéré lui ouvrira les portes du job dont il rêve. Une belle preuve d’abnégation pour obtenir l’indépendance financière.

3. Là-haut (2009)

Un autre film d’animation qui a connu un grand succès. On revoit tous, rien qu’en lisant le titre, la petite maison montant dans le ciel grâce à tous les ballons colorés qui y sont accrochés. Retour sur le début de l’intrigue. Il y a bien longtemps, le rêve de Carl et Ellie était de visiter les fameuses Chutes du Paradis ensemble. Le couple avait ainsi mis de l’argent de côté pour préparer ce voyage. Malheureusement, les aléas de la vie les ont obligés à utiliser ce bas de laine prématurément et à repousser leur rêve à plus tard. Quelle leçon en tirer ? Sûrement qu’une réserve d’argent pour faire face aux imprévus est importante.

4. Un prince à New York (1988)

Akeem (Eddie Murphy) est le prince héritier du royaume (fictif) de Zamunda, une nation africaine extrêmement riche. Mais Akeem refuse le mariage arrangé par ses parents et part trouver la femme de sa vie… à New York ! Voulant trouver une épouse qui l’aime pour ce qu’il est réellement, il se fait passer pour un homme pauvre. Débute alors pour lui une nouvelle vie où il travaille, se prend en main et devient indépendant financièrement. Parviendra-t-il à rencontrer la femme de sa vie ?  

5. Rasta Rockett (1993)

L’histoire vraie, et folle, de quatre Jamaïcains qui ont décidé de participer à l’épreuve de bobsleigh aux Jeux olympiques d’hiver de Calgary en 1988. Sans le sou, sans matériel, sans expérience, les quatre jeunes hommes se lancent dans tous types d'activités pour récolter des fonds : Sanka se met à la chanson, Yul fait des bras de fer tandis que Junior vend sa voiture. Est-ce que ce sera suffisant pour aller à Calgary et faire une belle impression ? Dans tous les cas, ils nous montreront que le manque de budget ne doit pas être un obstacle à nos rêves les plus fous !

Et après le générique de fin ?