Free time

14 November 2017

7 useful tips to make your holiday even more enjoyable

It’s finally here: you are ready to go on your long expected and well-earned holiday. Whether you’re going skiing, make a city trip or have something a bit more adventurous planned: you’d like to enjoy from it all without too much stress. That’s why we’re listing 7 super useful tips to make your holiday super relax.

1. Scan and e-mail your personal documents in advance

scanning documents(c) FAIL Blog


And upload them to the iCloud or e-mail them to yourself. That way you can always get to your documents via your laptop, tablet of smartphone. This is especially useful when your ID, driver’s license, visa, plane ticket or credit card has been stolen. Or when you lose them by accident, of course.

2. Less turbulence? Reserve a seat near the window

turbulence(c) Comedy Central


A seat near de wings should also help you feel the turbulence a lot less. Above all, this is the strongest part of the plane. You never know.

3. Traveling outside Europe? Activate your debit card for your holiday destination

bank-card(c) Firstthings.com


The Maestro on your debit card only works within the geographical European zone, Russia and Turkey included. Are you traveling outside this geographical zone, for example towards the United States of America or the Dominican Republic? You’ll then have to activate your debit card for your travel destination in advance via Home’Bank, or your ING-office. The same possibly applies for your credit card.

4. Keep an eye on your spending whilst on holiday

expences(c) The Lonely Island


This is to avoid spending your entire travel budget halfway through your trip. And avoid coming home to an unexpected sky-high credit card bill. Checking your balance and arranging a lot of bank affairs can easily be done via your smartphone whilst on holiday, with our ING Smart Banking mobile app. Even from your beach chair or taxi.

5. Use a glass as loudspeaker for your phone

smartphone music(c) The Kim Komando Show


Put your phone in an empty glass for more bass sound and volume. Perfect for when you forgot to pack those portable speakers of when you have too little space to pack them!

6. Remember your parking spot easily, with Google Maps pin.

google maps pin (c) Jeff Westerskov


Open the app and select your location. Super simple and useful to find your bolide in an unfamiliar city after a day out.

7. Discover local gems for lunch or dinner, via FourSquare or Yelp

restaurants(c) Warner Bros. Pictures


Let’s face it: touristy restaurants aren’t always the coziest. And don’t always guarantee good food. That’s why it is best if you try restaurants that are primarily love by the locals. The smartphone apps FourSquare and Yelp are your partners in crime for this. Above all, you can easily find the passwords for the WiFi networks, via the comments section.

Beheer uw reisbudget

Nog een handige tip voor op vakantie?

Loisirs

14 Novembre 2017

7 conseils pour ne pas passer à côté de vos vacances

Ça y est, vous partez enfin en vacances ! Et que vous ayez déjà préparé vos skis, que vous fassiez un citytrip, ou que vous ayez planifié un voyage plus aventureux : vous voudrez naturellement en profiter sans trop de stress. C’est pourquoi nous vous donnons 7 conseils super pratiques qui vont vraiment faciliter votre voyage.

1. Scannez à l’avance vos documents personnels

scanning documents(c) FAIL Blog


Mettez-les de préférence sur votre iCloud, Google Drive, Dropbox, ou envoyez-les par mail sur votre propre adresse. Comme ça, vous les avez toujours à portée de main. On ne sait jamais que votre carte d’identité, permis, visa, tickets d’embarquement, ou carte de crédit soit volé(e) ! Ou que vous les perdiez par accident.

2. Moins de turbulences ? Réservez une place près de la fenêtre

turbulence(c) Comedy Central


À hauteur des ailes, vous les ressentirez moins. En plus, c’est la partie la plus solide de l’avion. On ne sait jamais.

3. Vous partez hors-Europe ? Activez votre carte bancaire pour votre destination

bank-card(c) Firstthings.com


Normalement, Maestro ne fonctionne que dans la zone géographique européenne, y compris dans des pays comme la Russie ou la Turquie. Si vous allez plus loin comme aux États-Unis ou en République Dominicaine, alors vous devrez activer votre carte pour votre destination via Home’Bank ou votre agence ING. Et c’est aussi valable pour votre carte de crédit.

4. Gardez un œil sur vos dépenses

expences(c) The Lonely Island


Comme ça, vous éviterez de dépasser votre budget avant la fin du voyage. Vous évitez aussi les mauvaises surprises à votre retour: un relevé de dépenses imprévues.Vous pouvez consulter votre solde et gérer vos comptes bancaires facilement avec notre appli ING Smart Banking. Depuis votre transat ou dans un taxi.

5. Prenez un verre pour écouter de la chouette musique sur votre smartphone

smartphone music(c) The Kim Komando Show


Placez votre smartphone dans un verre, pour plus de volume et des meilleures basses. Parfait si vous avez oublié votre enceinte portable, ou si vous n’avez pas assez de place pour l’emporter !

6. Retrouvez plus facilement votre place de parking, avec un pin Google Maps

google maps pin (c) Jeff Westerskov


Ouvrez l'app Google Maps et appuyez sur l'emplacement où vous êtes. Un pin rouge va alors mémoriser votre emplacement. Vous pourrez facilement et simplement vous repérer et retrouver votre voiture, après une journée d’excursion.

7. Découvrez les restaurants locaux, avec FourSquare ou Yelp

restaurants(c) Warner Bros. Pictures


Les restaurants touristiques ne sont pas toujours les plus confortables ni les endroits où déguster les meilleurs plats. C'est pourquoi, vous pouvez opter pour les adresses plus appréciées des locaux. Les applications smartphone gratuites FourSquare et Yelp sont vos partners in crime. Vous pouvez aussi facilement trouver les mots de passe pour les réseaux Wi-Fi, notamment à travers les commentaires.

Gérez votre budget de voyage

Une autre astuce utile pour les vacances ?