Housing

5 February 2019

Renovating your house: how to save energy and money

Are you about to renovate your house? And would you like to help the environment and your wallet at the same time? Find out how.

What is an ecological renovation?

If you're looking for a way to consume less fossil fuels, such as natural gas or oil, this is called an ecological renovation. By doing one, you can reduce your ecological footprint and gain financial benefits.

The advantages of an ecological renovation

Ecological renovations are usually more expensive than standard renovations, but in the long term, the energy savings far exceed the original investment. 

How profitable are solar panels?

You pay around 5,000 euros for the installation of 14 photovoltaic solar panels on the average family home. You save around 850 euros on your energy bills each year. In Flanders you have to deduct the prosumer fee of 350 euros per year from that. Taking into account the evolution of energy prices, in Flanders you would earn your investment back within 10 years. In Wallonia within 9 years and in Brussels itself within 6 years. Depending on the region you live in, the average return on your solar panels is 8 to 10% over a minimum of 25 years. An ecological renovation is therefore much more profitable than a savings account.


Ecological renovations make it possible to reduce a household's consumption of primary energy sources. That counts towards the energy performance certificate (EPC), a useful instrument used to determine and compare a building's energy consumption. Increased efficiency ultimately increases the value of your house.

"In the long term, the energy savings far exceed the original investment."
The different stages of an ecological renovation

Well-targeted actions improve the thermal comfort of your home and ensure you save energy. A few ways to get started and to optimise your (financial) efforts.


1. Insulation: the most important step

Before you install any new devices, it is particularly important to improve your home's thermal performance. That way, you will reduce consumption from your heating so that it won't cancel out any future savings.

This is about insulating your home efficiently to avoid heat-loss caused by air circulation or a lack of air-tightness.


  • Limit heat-loss caused by circulation: ensure there is good air-tightness in the outer shell of your home with well-insulated, thick walls, roofs and floors, but also with good window frames, in which you can place three panes of glass. Also, reduce thermal bridges (where the insulation layer is breached), particularly at contact points between the walls, floors, roofs and window frames.
  • Limit losses due to a lack of air-tightness: seal cracks and gaps properly.
2. Efficient heating

Once you have insulated your home you have various options for efficient heating: thermal solar panels, a heat pump, a wood-fired boiler or wood burner, or a wood-pellet-fuelled burner with a high efficiency rating.

3. Renewable energy

Renewable energy is the current trend: green electricity and biofuels. Be sure to look into whether installing a solar boiler, a biofuel boiler or burner, or a heat pump could benefit you.

How can you finance your ecological renovation?
Green loans from your regional government

All three regions support ecological renovations. They subsidies loans with very low interest rates for their residents. To be eligible for one of these loans, your income must be below a certain threshold and there are conditions regarding the nature of the work you want to carry out. So take a quick look at your region's website.

Support from banks

Some financial institutions also support these environmentally-friendly initiatives by offering attractive interest rates for renovation loans. Make sure the work you want to carry out fall within the ecological renovation category, as stipulated by your bank.

An example: a loan for the installation of photovoltaic solar panels

Let's return to our earlier example:

  • You pay around 5,000 euros for the installation of 14 solar panels on your roof.
  • If you chose to take out a loan with ING over a 3-year term, at a fixed interest rate of 1.95%, you would pay back 143.06 euros per month.
  • Even if you live in Flanders and you have to pay a prosumer fee, you would still save 500 euros on your energy bill. In 5 years, that's as much as 2,500 euros, which greatly exceeds the interest costs paid. With this annual saving you would therefore quickly earn your investment back.


So, thanks to the right loan, you would get a positive return. If you live in Brussels or Wallonia, your return would of course be even greater.

To sum up

An ecological renovation allows you to reduce your footprint and save at the same time. Your house will also increase in value.


Now you have everything you need to finance your ecological renovation.


Article written in association with TopCompare.be (FR).

Logement

5 février 2019

Rénover sa maison en économisant de l'énergie et de l'argent

Vous planifiez une rénovation énergétique tout en préservant l'environnement et votre portefeuille ? Découvrez les différentes options.

Qu’est-ce qu’une rénovation écologique ?

Vous cherchez à réduire votre consommation d'énergie fossile, comme le gaz naturel ou le pétrole ? Optez dans ce cas pour une rénovation écologique. Vous réduirez non seulement votre empreinte écologique, mais vous en retirerez aussi des avantages financiers.

Avantages d'une rénovation écologique

Les rénovations écologiques sont généralement plus coûteuses que les rénovations traditionnelles, mais les économies d'énergie à long terme dépassent de loin l'investissement initial.

L'exemple des panneaux solaires

L'installation de 14 panneaux solaires photovoltaïques sur une habitation unifamiliale moyenne coûte environ 5 000 euros. Chaque année, elle vous permettra d’économiser près de 850 euros sur votre facture énergétique. En Flandre, vous devez en déduire le « prosumententarief », qui représente environ 350 euros par an. Compte tenu de l'évolution des prix de l'énergie, cet investissement sera amorti en 10 ans en Flandre. Il suffira de 9 ans en Wallonie et même de 6 ans à Bruxelles. Selon la Région dans laquelle vous habitez, le rendement moyen de vos panneaux solaires se situera entre 8 et 10 %, et ce pendant au moins 25 ans. Une rénovation écologique est donc beaucoup plus rentable qu'un livret d'épargne.


Les rénovations écologiques permettent de réduire la consommation de sources d'énergie primaire dans une habitation. Elles entrent en ligne de compte pour le certificat de performance énergétique (CPE), un outil pratique visant à déterminer et comparer la consommation théorique des bâtiments. À terme, une meilleure efficacité énergétique augmentera la valeur de votre habitation.

"Les économies d'énergie à long terme dépassent de loin l'investissement initial."

Les étapes d'une rénovation écologique

Des actions spécifiques améliorent le confort thermique de votre maison et vous permettent d'économiser de l'énergie. Voici quelques pistes pour vous lancer et optimiser vos efforts (financiers).

1. Isolation : l'étape la plus importante

Avant de prévoir de nouvelles installations, il est fondamental d'améliorer la performance thermique de votre habitation. De cette façon, vous réduirez votre consommation de chauffage et vous ne compromettrez pas vos économies futures.

Il s'agit donc d'isoler votre maison efficacement afin d'éviter toute perte de chaleur due à la diffusion de l'air ou à un manque d'étanchéité à l'air.


  • Limitez les pertes causées par transmission : garantissez une bonne étanchéité à l'air de l’enveloppe de votre maison avec des murs, une toiture et des planchers bien isolés et épais, mais aussi avec de bons châssis sur lesquels vous pouvez fixer du triple vitrage Réduisez également les ponts thermiques (les endroits où la couche d'isolation est rompue), en particulier aux points de contact entre les murs, les planchers, les toits et les châssis.
  • Limitez les pertes dues à un manque d'étanchéité à l’air : comblez les fissures de manière optimale.
2. Chauffage performant

Après avoir isolé votre maison, vous disposerez de plusieurs options pour obtenir un chauffage efficace : des panneaux solaires thermiques, une pompe à chaleur, une chaudière ou un poêle à bois, ou encore un poêle à pellets à haut rendement.

3. Energies renouvelables

Les énergies renouvelables suivent la tendance actuelle, celle de l'électricité verte et des biocarburants. Vérifiez s'il peut être intéressant pour vous d'installer un chauffe-eau solaire, une chaudière ou un poêle à biocarburant, ou une pompe à chaleur.

Comment financer votre rénovation écologique ?

Prêt vert des régions

Les trois Régions soutiennent les rénovations écologiques. Elles subventionnent des prêts aux taux d'intérêt très bas pour leurs résidents. Pour y avoir droit, vous devez gagner un revenu inférieur à un certain seuil et les travaux que vous voulez effectuer doivent répondre à plusieurs conditions. N'hésitez donc pas à consulter le site Internet de votre Région :

Soutien de la banque

Certaines institutions financières soutiennent également ces initiatives respectueuses de l'environnement en proposant des taux d'intérêt attrayants pour les prêts à la rénovation. Veillez toutefois à ce que les travaux que vous souhaitez réaliser entrent dans la catégorie des rénovations écologiques, telle que définie par votre banque.

Un exemple: prêt pour l'installation de panneaux solaires photovoltaïques

Reprenons notre calcul initial :

  • pour l'installation de 14 panneaux solaires sur votre toit, vous paierez environ 5 000 euros.
  • Pour ce faire, vous pouvez contracter un prêt de 3 ans auprès d' ING à un taux fixe de 1,95 %. Vous rembourserez alors 143,06 euros par mois.
  • Même si vous habitez en Flandre et devez payer le « prosumententarief », vous économiserez 500 euros par an sur votre facture énergétique. Sur 5 ans, cela représente près de 2 500 euros, un montant qui dépasse de loin les intérêts payés. Grâce à cette économie annuelle, votre investissement sera rapidement amorti.

En bénéficiant d’un prêt adéquat, vous obtiendrez donc un rendement positif. Si vous vivez à Bruxelles ou en Wallonie, votre rendement sera encore plus élevé.

En bref

Une rénovation écologique vous permet de réduire votre empreinte écologique tout en économisant de l'argent. Votre maison prendra également de la valeur.


Vous avez maintenant toutes les cartes en main pour financer une rénovation écologique.


Article écrit en collaboration avec TopCompare.be.