Housing

22 August 2018

Water damage: what do you need to do?

Water damage can cause many problems, whether it is a leaking pipe or a flood due to heavy rain. In most cases, it can happen very quickly, without our realising the cause of the problem. What to do? Don't panic, but follow these 7 steps.

1. Identify the cause

Look for the cause of the problem and take all necessary measures to limit the damage. You are required to do this, and it will help avoid many problems later. As a tenant, don’t wait for your landlord, even if the solution will be more expensive. Afterwards, your insurance will reimburse you for almost all the costs you incur.

Is the problem at your neighbour’s? Notify the residents, landlord or building manager as soon as possible.

Tip:

A few quick solutions to the most common problems: close the water main right away, or turn off water supply to the appliance that is leaking. If your roof has been damaged, place a canvas sheet over it until it can be repaired.

2. Remember your electricity

In the case of a water leak at or near an electrical appliance, or if there are electrical wires near the leak, switch off the circuit-breaker. Get a professional to help you before switching the electricity back on.

3. Free up the area

First, remove anything that has not been affected but that could be damaged, even large objects such as pieces of furniture. Then remove any items affected, to prevent further damage.

4. Take stock of all the damage.

You can now start compiling all the information you will need to make a claim. Use this checklist so that your case can be handled as quickly as possible:

  • Draw up a list of the damages caused, whether to your valuables or to the home itself. Describe the damage as precisely as possible, and provide details such as the make and size of any damaged items. If possible, look for your sales receipts.
  • Take photos, not only of the objects but also of the walls, ceiling and floor. Don’t forget to take pictures of the source of the problem, even if it lies outside the home.
  • Indicate the date and time when the problems began. This is always important, especially in cases of flooding or heavy rain.
Tip:

You can already contact a professional who can make the necessary repairs. Ask for quotes.

5. Dry everything out as much as possible

Is everything under control and on the list? Turn on the heating or air the place out. Then you can begin to clean up. You don't need to stay in a dirty home until the expert comes by.

If the water damage is caused by freezing, don't do anything dangerous to thaw out the items in question. Don’t put them by an open fire, for example. In any case, you should save any damaged items, just in case. They could be useful later for your insurance claim.

6. Inform your landlord

Are you renting your home? First, contact your landlord before notifying your own insurer. The landlord has to check first what repairs are needed, such as those relating to the pipes or the roof.

Depending on the landlord’s decision, proceed to contact the insurer. As a tenant, you are in fact responsible, unless your lease agreement has a clause renouncing liability. In that case, the landlord will contact his or her own insurer regarding the damage caused to the property. You will be responsible in that case only for damage to other homes or to your personal effects.

7. File your insurance claim with your insurer as soon as possible.

Collect all the information regarding the points mentioned above and contact your insurer. You can contact ING at any time.

Be aware of the following points:

  • Submit everything, with as much detail as possible. Both the information on your part and those from the landlord.
  • Don’t throw away any of the damaged items. You will probably still need them for your claim file.
  • Be sure to keep all the receipts or invoices, both for repairs and any work done to limit the damage, as well as sales receipts for the damaged items.
ING Home Insurance

With ING Home Insurance you can enjoy customized protection, whether you are a tenant or an owner. You are 100% insured against theft, water damage and in extreme weather, and you enjoy an exclusive repair service 24/7. In case of damage, our advisers are ready to help day and night.

Logement

17 Août 2018

Dégât des eaux : que devez-vous faire ?

Les dégâts des eaux peuvent causer de nombreux soucis, qu'il s'agisse d'une fuite dans les conduites ou d'une inondation à la suite de fortes pluies. Dans la plupart des cas, cela arrive très vite, sans que l'on sache exactement où se situe le problème. Que faire ? Ne paniquez pas et suivez ces 7 étapes.

1. Identifiez la cause

Recherchez la cause du problème et prenez toutes les mesures nécessaires pour limiter les dégâts. Vous y êtes obligé et cela vous évitera de nombreux soucis. En tant que locataire, n'attendez donc pas votre propriétaire, même si cela coûte plus cher. Par la suite, votre assurance remboursera quasiment toujours les frais engagés.

Le problème se situe chez les voisins ? Prévenez dès que possible les habitants, le propriétaire ou le syndic de l'immeuble.

Astuce:

Quelques solutions rapides aux problèmes les plus courants : fermez totalement l'arrivée d'eau ou la conduite qui alimente l'appareil qui fuit. Si votre toit est endommagé, faites poser une bâche sur celui-ci jusqu'à ce qu'il puisse être réparé.

2. Pensez à l'électricité

En cas de fuite dans ou à proximité d'un appareil électrique, ou s'il y a des conduites électriques tout près de la fuite, éteignez le disjoncteur. Et faites-vous aider par un professionnel avant de rallumer l'électricité.

3. Dégagez la zone

Enlevez en premier lieu les choses qui n'ont pas été touchées mais qui pourraient être abîmées, mêmes les objets plus importants comme des meubles. Retirez ensuite les affaires endommagées pour éviter plus de dégâts.

4. Constatez tous les dégâts

Vous pouvez maintenant réunir toutes les informations nécessaires. Suivez cette check-list afin que votre dossier soit traité au plus vite :

  • Établissez une liste avec tous les dégâts causés, que ce soit aux objets de valeur ou à l'habitation. Décrivez aussi précisément que possible les dégâts et donnez des détails comme la marque et la taille des éléments endommagés. Si possible, cherchez également les factures d'achat.
  • Prenez les photos nécessaires. Pas uniquement des objets mais aussi des murs, du plafond et du sol. N'oubliez pas de photographier l'origine du problème, même s’il est situé en dehors de l'habitation.
  • Indiquez la date et l'heure du début des problèmes. C'est toujours important, surtout en cas d'inondation ou de fortes pluies.
Astuce:

Contactez déjà un professionnel qui peut effectuer les réparations nécessaires. Demandez des offres.

5. Faites tout sécher de manière appropriée

Tout est sous contrôle et listé ? Allumez le chauffage ou aérez. Ensuite, vous pouvez commencer à nettoyer. Vous ne devez donc pas rester dans un logement sale jusqu'à ce que l'expert passe.

6. Prévenez votre propriétaire

Vous louez votre logement ? Contactez tout d'abord votre propriétaire avant de prévenir votre propre assureur. Le propriétaire doit d'abord voir quelles réparations sont nécessaires, comme celles liées aux conduites ou au toit.

En fonction de sa décision, contactez ensuite l'assureur. En tant que locataire, vous êtes en effet responsable, sauf si votre contrat de bail comporte une clause d'abandon de recours. Dans ce cas, le propriétaire s'adresse à son propre assureur pour les dégâts occasionnés à l'habitation. Vous ne serez alors responsable que des dégâts sur les autres habitations ou sur vos effets personnels.

7. Introduisez dès que possible la déclaration auprès de votre assureur

Rassemblez toutes les informations des points ci-dessus et contactez votre assureur. Vous pouvez contacter ING à tout moment.

Faites attention aux points suivants :

  • Transmettez tout, de manière aussi détaillée que possible. Tant les informations de votre part que celles provenant de votre propriétaire.
  • Ne jetez pas les affaires endommagées. Vous en aurez probablement encore besoin pour votre dossier de sinistre.
  • Conservez bien toutes les factures. Tant des travaux de réparation que des travaux visant à limiter les dégâts ainsi que les factures d'achat des biens endommagés.
Votre assurance habiation sur mesure

L’ING Home Insurance vous propose une couverture sur mesure, que vous soyez locataire ou propriétaire. Vous êtes assuré à 100% contre le vol, les dégâts des eaux et en cas d’intempérie, et vous profitez d’un service de réparation 7 jours sur 7 et 24 heures sur 24 !


L’ING Home Insurance est l’assurance qui vous convient.