Family

17 June 2016

Reassuringly insured: 3 important tips

Insurance can sometimes seem complex. According to a survey carried out by iVox, 73% of Belgians admit to being a little lost when it comes to insurance… And six out of ten Belgians don’t even know how much they are paying in total for their insurance cover. Yet, insurance is meant to make your life more secure! Home insurance (fire, theft and third-party liability insurance), car insurance and assistance insurance... Having the right cover offers you security against unforeseen events and means you don’t have to pay for any damage incurred yourself. But how should you choose what insurance policy to take out?

3 tips to remember
  • Take your time when choosing insurance policies.
  • Evaluate your policies each year.
  • Do not be afraid of increasing your premiums.
Take your time when choosing insurance policies

The risks involved in choosing an insurance policy come from wanting to get it done too quickly. Insurance premiums can vary between insurance companies even if the conditions are the same - you need to compare them. But be careful! Simply using price comparison sites is not necessarily a good idea. These sites do not always mention the quality of the service provided or show all of the options and accompanying clauses. There are plenty of cases where a lower premium means less cover. So there are good reasons to compare prices, but you should also compare the services and assistance offered should an incident occur. (How easy is it to get in contact? What is the procedure for registering an incident? Is there a smartphone app? etc.)

Take as much time as you need to compare similar insurance policies, and take out a policy that suits you. Making hasty decisions can sometimes lead to very expensive surprises. Whether you use the services of an advisor or you sign up online, make sure you carefully read the information on what is covered and ask questions.

Review your insurance policies on time

Do you renew your insurance contracts every year without stopping to think about it? Watch out! You run the risk of being insured twice over. This would be the case, for instance, if you already have hospital insurance and then your employer offers it as well. In order to prevent such situations, you should review your policies at the latest three months before their renewal date.

Raise the premiums if necessary

No-one likes increasing the amount they spend on insurance. Until the point they realise they are under-insured. Let’s imagine the current value of your property is EUR 40,000, but for years you have been covered for the sum of EUR 25,000. In the event of the total loss of this property, you would be reimbursed a maximum of EUR 25,000. If a quarter of your property were damaged, you would receive, at most, a quarter of EUR 25,000 (the amount insured), and not a quarter of EUR 40,000 (the actual value).

By contrast, you could also be over-insured. For instance, the value of your property is EUR 25,000 but you are paying an insurance premium that covers you for a property worth EUR 40,000. You are essentially throwing your money away, because you will never be reimbursed more than the actual value of the damage incurred. You should therefore calculate the value of your property extremely carefully, adding on a small margin of error.

What next?

First and foremost, check whether you have all the necessary or important insurance cover. This will allow you to see the risks you are covered for. Do you have any more questions about insurance? Make an appointment at your ING branch or call our help desk on +32 2 464 60 04.

Are you an expat? Check your insurance cover!

As an expat, you will often be covered by insurance policies that are paid for by the company employing you. But it is important to check what these policies cover. Who is covered? Just you as an employee or your whole family? Do you have to be married for your partner to be covered too? Is a dependent child who is studying abroad still covered? Speak to your employer to find out the answers to these questions.

If you keep insurance policies in your home country, check that they definitely offer international cover. When you move to a foreign country, there are many kinds of insurance that are no longer valid. Car insurance is a good example. The insurance company in your home country will very rarely agree to cover a car that is registered in the country you are moving to.

You will need to pay even closer attention to your assistance insurance. This will mention in its terms and conditions that your cover will be automatically terminated if you leave the country for more than a certain number of months, unless you have international cover. Before leaving your home country, don’t forget to cancel this type of insurance cover and to take out an international policy, or a new policy in the country you are moving to.

Aller vers la page Expats

Famille

17 juin 2016

Être bien assuré : 3 conseils précieux

Les assurances paraissent parfois complexes. Selon une étude du bureau iVox, 73 % des Belges avouent être un peu perdus dans le domaine de l’assurance… Et six Belges sur dix ignorent même totalement combien ils paient pour l’ensemble de leurs couvertures. Et pourtant, les assurances vous rendent la vie plus sûre ! Assurance pour votre habitation (incendie, vol ou assurance responsabilité civile), assurance auto, assurance assistance… Une couverture adéquate constitue une sécurité contre l’imprévu et vous évite de devoir payer vous-même les dommages encourus. Mais comment bien choisir ses assurances ?

3 conseils à retenir
  • Consacrez suffisamment de temps au choix de vos assurances.
  • Évaluez vos assurances chaque année.
  • Osez augmenter vos primes.
Prenez votre temps pour choisir vos assurances

Le risque lors du choix de vos assurances ? Vouloir aller trop vite. Les primes d’assurance peuvent varier entre compagnies d’assurance même si les conditions sont les mêmes : il faut comparer. Mais soyez attentif ! Vous baser uniquement sur les sites de comparaison de prix n’est pas forcément une bonne idée. Ces sites ne mentionnent pas toujours la qualité des services rendus et toutes les options et clauses connexes. Il y a pas mal de cas où une prime d’assurance plus basse est lié à une moins bonne couverture.
Il y a donc lieu de comparer les prix, mais aussi l’étendue des couvertures, ainsi que les services et assistance proposés en cas de sinistre (facilité de prise de contact, procédure d’encodage d’un sinistre, app pour smartphone…).

Prenez tout le temps nécessaire pour comparer des assurances comparables, et souscrire une assurance qui vous convient. Un choix trop rapide peut parfois s'accompagner de surprises très chères. Que vous fassiez appel à un conseiller ou que vous souscriviez en ligne, lisez attentivement ce qui est couvert et posez des questions.

Révisez vos assurances à temps

Vous renouvelez vos contrats d’assurance tous les ans sans vous poser de question ? Attention, vous courez le risque d’être doublement assuré. C’est par exemple le cas si vous avez déjà une assurance hospitalisation et que votre employeur vous en propose une aussi. Pour éviter cela, révisez toutes vos assurances au plus tard trois mois avant l’échéance.

Augmentez vos primes si nécessaire

Personne n’aime augmenter ses primes d’assurance. Jusqu’au jour où vous remarquez que vous êtes sous-assuré. Imaginez : la valeur de votre mobilier actuel est de 40.000 euros, mais vous êtes couvert depuis des années pour un montant de 25.000 euros. En cas de perte totale de ce mobilier, vous serez indemnisé de maximum 25.000 euros. Un quart de votre mobilier est endommagé ? Vous recevrez au maximum un quart de 25.000 euros (= votre montant assuré), et non un quart de 40.000 euros (= la valeur réelle).

À l’inverse, il peut arriver que vous soyez surassuré. La valeur de votre mobilier est de 25.000 euros, mais vous payez des primes d’assurance qui couvrent un mobilier de 40.000 euros ? C’est de l’argent jeté par la fenêtre, car vous ne récupérerez jamais plus que la valeur réelle du préjudice subi. Calculez donc la valeur de votre mobilier avec minutie en ajoutant un peu de marge.

Et maintenant ?

Avant toute chose, vérifiez si vous avez toutes les assurances nécessaires ou importantes. Cela vous permettra de voir pour quels risques vous êtes couvert. Vous avez encore des questions sur les assurances ? Prenez rendez-vous dans une agence ING ou appelez le +32 2 464 60 02.

Vous êtes expat ? Vérifiez vos assurances !

En tant qu’expat, vous recevez souvent des assurances payées par la société qui vous emploie. Mais il est important de vérifier les couvertures de ces assurances. Qui est couvert ? Uniquement vous en tant qu’employé ou toute votre famille ? Faut-il être marié pour que le partenaire soit inclus ? Un enfant à charge qui étudie à l’étranger est-il couvert ? Renseignez-vous auprès de votre employeur pour obtenir les réponses à ces questions.

Si vous gardez les assurances de votre pays d’origine, vérifiez qu’elles aient bien une couverture internationale. Quand vous déménagez dans un pays étranger, il y a beaucoup d’assurances qui ne sont plus valables. L’assurance auto en est un exemple type. La compagnie d’assurance de votre pays d’origine n’offrira qu’exceptionnellement une assurance pour une voiture enregistrée dans votre pays de destination.

Soyez encore plus attentif avec votre assurance assistance. Celle-ci mentionne dans ses conditions générales que la couverture prend fin automatiquement si vous quittez le pays pendant plus d’un certain nombre de mois, sauf si vous avez une assurance internationale. Avant de quitter votre pays, n’oubliez pas d’annuler ce type d’assurances et d’en prendre une internationale ou une autre dans le pays de votre destination.

Aller vers la page Expats