Housing

31 March 2016

Renting

Do you want to rent? There is some useful information to be borne in mind, even if the steps are relatively easy. Deposits and organizing your move are just two examples.

What about the rental agreement?
  • The rental agreement must be made in 2 copies. The owner and the tenant, who must both be over 18, sign both documents. Do not forget to find out about the fixed maintenance costs, such as the boiler, and shared costs (for flats), etc.
  • Always check the term of the rental agreement. If no term is stated, the agreement will be for a period of 9 years. You will also often come across agreements of 3 years or less. Also pay attention to the termination procedures when you sign the agreement.
  • Before moving in, you will need to do an inventory. This document describes the state of the accommodation. The owner will not then be able to make you pay for damage that was done prior to your arrival.
  • Check the rent before signing. It cannot be increased without reason during the term of the rental agreement. The owner can only index it once per year.
How do I terminate a rental agreement?
  • Send the owner a letter by registered post (FR) at least 3 months before expiry of the rental agreement. The period of notice starts on the first day of the following month. For example, if you send your letter on 15 March, the period of notice starts on 1 April. However, if the owner terminates the rental agreement, he must give at least six months' notice.
  • Do you want to terminate the rental agreement before it expires? There are some rules you will need to follow. You will probably have to pay a termination penalty in proportion to the term of the rental agreement. Often, you can also come to an agreement with the owner to not pay this penalty or to pay a lower penalty by helping him to find a new tenant.
  • If the rental agreement is not terminated or if you have not left the property before expiry of the rental agreement, the rental agreement is automatically extended.
What is a rental deposit and what do I need to bear in mind?

A rental deposit is an amount of money that compensates the owner if his property is damaged. Depending on the rental agreement chosen, the deposit is 2 or 3 months' rent.

A rental deposit is an amount of money that compensates the owner if his property is damaged. Depending on the rental agreement chosen, the deposit is 2 or 3 months' rent.

Refuse to supply the rental deposit by paying the sum into the owner's account or by giving it to him in cash. In the interest of both parties, it is preferable to pay it into the bank in the form of a blocked savings account in your name. To release the funds, your signature and that of the owner are compulsory.

Maintaining the property: who pays for what?

According to the law, the owner is responsible for major maintenance work and all necessary repairs (e.g. replacing pipes, repairing the roof, etc.). As tenant, you must maintain the property and make minor repairs required as a result of normal use of the property such as maintaining the boiler, clearing the gutters, etc.

Is it necessary to take out special insurance?

Accidents happen suddenly and can be expensive. They often happen when we least expect them. Even if it is a person living under your roof that causes an accident, don't forget that you may be held responsible.

Although the owner of the property you are renting has to take out insurance, make sure that you and everybody living under your roof are covered. Also remember that when you fly the nest, you are no longer covered by your parents' insurance. You must take out insurance in your own name. Why not take advantage of your move to review your insurance needs?

Do you need more advice to ensure your move goes smoothly?

Logement

31 March 2016

Louer

Vous voulez louer ? Même si les démarches sont relativement faciles, il y a une série d’infos pratiques à tenir en compte. Il suffit de penser à la garantie locative ou à l’organisation de votre déménagement.

Quid du bail locatif ?
  • Le bail doit être fait en 2 exemplaires. Le propriétaire et le locataire, qui doivent tous deux être majeurs, signent les 2 documents. N’oubliez pas d’y renseigner les frais fixes liés l’entretien du bien tels que la chaudière, les charges pour les parties communes (en cas d’appartement)…
  • Vérifiez toujours la durée du bail locatif. Si aucune durée n’est renseignée, le bail vaut pour une période de 9 ans. Il est aussi fréquent de trouver des contrats de 3 ans ou moins. Soyez aussi attentif aux modalités de résiliation lorsque vous signez.
  • Avant d’emménager, vous serez amené à faire un état des lieux. Ce document décrit l’état du logement. Le propriétaire ne pourra ainsi pas vous faire payer des dégâts qui datent d’avant votre arrivée.
  • Vérifiez le loyer avant de signer. Il ne peut pas être augmenté sans raison pendant la durée du bail. Le propriétaire peut uniquement l'indexer 1 fois par an.
Comment résilier un bail locatif ?
  • Envoyez un courrier recommandé au propriétaire au moins 3 mois avant la fin du bail. Le délai de préavis commence à courir le premier jour du mois suivant. Si vous envoyez votre courrier le 15 mars par exemple, le préavis commence à courir le 1er avril. Si par contre c’est le propriétaire qui résilie le bail, il doit prévenir 6 mois à l’avance au minimum.
  • Vous voulez résilier le bail avant le terme ? Sachez qu’il faut respecter certaines règles particulières. Vous devrez probablement payer une indemnité de résiliation proportionnelle à la durée du bail. Bien souvent, vous pouvez aussi vous mettre d’accord avec le propriétaire pour ne payer cette indemnité ou pour payer une indemnité plus faible en l’aidant à trouver un nouveau locataire.
  • Si le bail n’est pas résilié ou si vous n’avez pas quitté la location avant la fin du bail, le bail est automatiquement prolongé.
Qu’est-ce qu’une garantie locative et quels sont les points d’attention ?

Une garantie locative est une somme d’argent qui dédommage le propriétaire si son bien est endommagé. Selon le bail choisi, elle équivaut à 2 ou 3 mois de loyer.

Refusez de fournir la garantie locative en versant la somme sur le compte du propriétaire ou en la lui donnant en liquide. Dans l’intérêt des 2 parties, il est préférable de l’établir à la banque sous forme de compte épargne bloqué à votre nom. Pour débloquer les fonds, votre signature et celle du propriétaire sont obligatoires.

Entretien du bien : qui paie quoi ?

Selon la loi, le propriétaire assume les travaux majeurs d’entretien et toutes les réparations nécessaires (par ex. remplacer les tuyaux, réparer la toiture…). En tant que locataire, vous devez entretenir le bien et faire les réparations mineures dues à l’usage normal du bien tel qu’entretenir la chaudière, nettoyer la gouttière…

Faut-il souscrire des assurances en particulier ?

Un accident est vite arrivé et peut rapidement coûter cher. Bien souvent, il se produit quand on s’y attend le moins. Même si c’est une personne vivant sous votre toit qui provoque un accident, n’oubliez pas que vous pourriez devoir en assumer les conséquences.

Une garantie locative est une somme d’argent qui dédommage le propriétaire si son bien est endommagé. Selon le bail choisi, elle équivaut à 2 ou 3 mois de loyer.

Le propriétaire du bien que vous louez est dans l’obligation de souscrire certaines assurances. De votre côté, assurez-vous que vous et les personnes vivant sous votre toit êtes bien couverts. N’oubliez pas non plus que si vous quittez le cocon familial, vous n’êtes plus couvert par les assurances de vos parents. Vous devez en souscrire en votre nom. Pourquoi ne pas profiter de votre déménagement pour faire le point sur vos assurances ?.

Besoin d’autres conseils pour préparer votre déménagement dans les meilleures conditions ?