Family

31 March 2016

What happens to the family home in the case of divorce or separation?

Whether you are currently renting a property or paying off a mortgage on your home, you need to make important decisions about this too.

You are a tenant
You are married, legally cohabiting or have a non-formalized cohabitation arrangement:

Contact your landlord to:

  • have the rental agreement changed to the name of the person who is staying. The owner must of course agree to this.
  • Cancel the rental agreement if you are both leaving.

Note: as long as the end of the cohabitation or the divorce remains unrecorded in the registers of the registry office, you will both remain liable for the rent and the charges.

You are the owner

As there are many factors involved in the purchase of real estate, it is not possible to list every situation here. We will therefore limit ourselves to a few generalities. We advise you to contact your notary or lawyer to discuss your specific situation.

Did you have a non-formalized cohabitation arrangement?

Non-formalized cohabitation holds no specific status in terms of property rights. However, perhaps you established some aspects within a cohabitation contract, or there is a tontine clause included in the purchase deed of the property. Ask for advice from your notary, lawyer or bank. They are best placed to assist you in this situation.

Were you married or legally cohabiting?

Usually, neither of you can sell the family home without the permission of the other. However, this is not a general rule, so seek advice from your notary or lawyer so that you are not confronted with any unwelcome surprises.

The mortgage

If you took out a mortgage together to purchase the property, usually the basic principle applies that you both remain jointly and severally liable for it. If you or your ex does not pay, you can both face problems.

Seek advice and obtain as much information as possible so that you can make the best decisions.

Note: before the bank can adjust your mortgage, your divorce must be definitive. This also applies if you legally cohabit and then separate. It must therefore be recorded in the registers of your municipality's registry office.

Outstanding balance insurance

The possibilities and consequences for outstanding balance insurance are very diverse. We advise you to discuss these with the bank or insurer with whom you took out the outstanding balance insurance policy.

Premiums

Did you receive premiums or other benefits when purchasing your property? Ask your notary or lawyer about the possible consequences if you sell.

Home and family insurance

Are you leaving the family home, is your ex moving out, or are you both leaving? Ensure that you remain well-protected and check your home and family insurance (third-party liability). If you require new insurance, you can run an online simulation to calculate the premium.

Get in touch with your bank as soon as possible. Think beforehand about what you want to do and, if necessary, use our banking checklist in case of divorce or separation. Make an appointment so that one of our employees can help you discreetly and efficiently.

Famille

31 mars 2016

En cas de divorce ou de séparation, que faire avec le logement commun ?

Vous étiez locataires ou propriétaires d'une habitation. Quelle que soit votre situation, vous devez également prendre d'importantes décisions concernant ce logement.

Vous êtes locataire
Que vous soyez cohabitants de fait ou cohabitants légaux ou mariés :

Contactez le propriétaire afin de :

  • mettre le bail au nom de la personne qui reste. Le propriétaire doit néanmoins y consentir
  • résilier le contrat de bail si vous quittez tous les 2 les lieux.

Attention: tant que la fin de la cohabitation ou le divorce n’a pas été transcrit dans les registres de l'État civil, vous restez tous les 2 responsables du loyer et des frais.

Vous êtes propriétaire

Étant donné le nombre de facteurs intervenant dans l'achat d'un bien immobilier, nous nous limiterons dès lors à quelques généralités. N’hésitez pas à contacter votre notaire ou votre avocat pour examiner votre situation personnelle.

Vous étiez cohabitants de fait ?

La cohabitation de fait ne donne lieu à aucun statut spécifique au niveau du droit patrimonial. Mais peut-être avez-vous établi une clause particulière dans un contrat de vie commune ou l'acte d'achat de l'habitation comprend-il une clause de tontine ? Renseignez-vous auprès de votre notaire, de votre avocat ou de votre banque. Ils sont les mieux placés pour vous accompagner dans ces démarches.

Vous étiez mariés ou cohabitants légaux ?

En règle générale, il est impossible à l’un des conjoint de vendre l’habitation familiale sans l’accord de l’autre conjoint. Il ne s'agit toutefois pas d'une règle absolue. Renseignez-vous auprès de votre notaire ou de votre avocat pour vous éviter toute mauvaise surprise.

Le crédit hypothécaire

Si vous avez contracté ensemble un emprunt pour l'achat de l'habitation, le principe de base veut généralement que vous restiez tous les deux solidairement responsables de ce prêt. Si vous ou votre ex-conjoint ne le rembourse(z) pas, vous risquez tous les 2 de vous retrouver dans une situation embarrassante.

Demandez conseil et informez-vous au maximum afin de prendre les bonnes décisions.

Attention : avant que la banque ne puisse modifier votre crédit hypothécaire, il faut que votre divorce soit définitif. Cette règle s'applique également aux cohabitants légaux qui se séparent. Il est impératif que votre séparation soit transcrite dans les registres de l'État civil de votre commune.

L'assurance solde restant dû

En cas de séparation, les conséquences sur l'assurance solde restant dû – ainsi que les solutions à envisager – sont diverses et multiples. Nous vous conseillons dès lors d'en discuter avec la banque ou la compagnie d'assurances auprès de laquelle vous avez souscrit l'assurance solde restant dû.

Les primes

Vous avez bénéficié de primes ou d'autres avantages pour l'achat de votre habitation ? Demandez à votre notaire ou à votre avocat quelles seraient les implications d’une vente.

Assurance incendie et assurance familiale

Vous quittez l'habitation familiale, votre ex-conjoint déménage ou vous partez tous les deux ? Assurez-vous de bénéficier d'une bonne couverture et faites vérifier la police de votre assurance incendie et de votre assurance familiale (responsabilité civile). Si vous avez besoin d'une nouvelle assurance, vous pouvez calculer en ligne votre prime.

Contactez votre banque dès que possible. Réfléchissez à ce que vous voulez et aidez-vous éventuellement de notre check-list d’inventaire de biens. Prenez rendez-vous avec l'un de nos collaborateurs afin qu'il vous assiste efficacement et en toute discrétion.