Free time

7 February 2017

Skiing holidays: make sure you are well insured!


A skiing holiday is a time for indulging your love of winter sports and then meeting up with your friends or family in the evening for a good meal. This kind of holiday is not without its risks: a skiing accident can happen quickly, therefore it is essential to protect yourself with the right insurance.

Prepare your trip

Make sure you have the right equipment for the slopes to avoid falling ill or feeling cold all day long. Consider taking skiing goggles or a mask with good UV protection to make sure you will not be dazzled by the sun reflecting off the snow.

Skiing is also a physical sport. Make sure you exercise beforehand to prepare properly. The stronger your body is, the lower the risk of an accident.

At the ski station, follow the advice of the mountain rescue teams. Find out about the weather conditions and the slopes for a good understanding of the area. Keep well hydrated and eat well to have enough energy and stamina. Warm up and stretch before each day's skiing and make sure your equipment is correctly fastened, to prevent injuries.

Properly insured, well protected

Even if you follow all these recommendations, you cannot prepare for everything. Make sure you are properly insured in case any problems arise.

You will probably have your own insurance. However, this will not provide full cover for a skiing holiday. The following extra costs are often not covered, even though they are very common in the case of a skiing accident.

  • Search and rescue costs on the slopes, off-piste and on hiking trails
  • Medical costs are not covered by social security
  • Repatriation costs
  • Costs of skiing packages and unused skiing lessons
  • The cost of any skiing equipment damaged through the accident.

Other types of insurance give you more comprehensive cover.

What insurance should I choose?
Assistance insurance

You can take out travel insurance. But first check it is not already included in your existing cover!

Temporary assistance insurance covers repatriation of an injured person and their family, holiday extension costs, supplementary travel costs in a case of force majeure, compensation for delay, loss or theft of luggage, telephone support before and after departure and even a cash advance for events which are not covered. If you go on holiday or take city breaks several times a year, it may be a better idea to take out annual assistance insurance. This will cost you from €48 per year, plus only €18 extra if you want to cover your whole family.

You should also check out the excesses and limits of your cover, as bills can add up quickly, especially if you need assistance in a skiing area or require repatriation. Evacuation from the foot of the slopes to a medical centre costs €184 on average, while evacuation from further away will cost on average €395. And prices are even higher for off-piste evacuations. Helicopter evacuations cost an average of €1,938.

Credit card-linked insurance

Trips paid for with Gold credit cards are covered by insurance. This covers cancellation and travel accident insurance.

  • Cancellation insurance means you can recover the cost of cancelling or interrupting your trip in the event of accident, illness, death or force majeure. The cost of your skiing package, equipment or unused lessons following an accident can also be reimbursed.
  • Travel accident insurance covers you when travelling on public transport, and in the event of accidents resulting in death or permanent disability.
Tip:

This insurance can also be combined with the assistance insurance referred to above.

Now make the most of it!

Now you are protected against unforeseen events and can enjoy your holidays with peace of mind!

If you would like to find out more about our insurance, please visit our website. You can also make an appointment at any of our branches or call +32 2 464 60 04.

« Article written in collaboration with TopCompare.be »

Source for evacuation and helicopter prices: https://carreneige.com/en/

Loisirs

7 Février 2017

Vacances au ski : partez bien assuré !


Les vacances au ski sont le moment de profiter de sa passion pour les sports de glisse et de se retrouver le soir entre amis ou famille autour d’un bon repas. Mais ce genre de vacances comportent également certains risques : un accident sur les pistes est vite arrivé, il est donc primordial de se protéger, notamment au travers d’une bonne assurance.

Préparez votre voyage

Equipez-vous correctement pour aller sur les pistes afin d’éviter de tomber malade ou d’avoir froid toute la journée. Pensez aussi aux lunettes ou masque de ski avec une bonne protection UV afin d’éviter d’être aveuglé par la réverbération du soleil sur la neige.

Le ski est également un sport physique. Faites du sport en amont pour vous y préparer. Plus votre corps sera résistant aux efforts plus le risque d’accident sera faible.

Sur place, suivez les règles recommandées par les sauveteurs de haute montagne. Informez-vous sur les conditions météo ainsi que sur le plan des pistes pour mieux appréhender les lieux. Hydratez-vous et mangez bien afin d’avoir l’énergie et l’endurance nécessaires. Echauffez et étirez-vous avant chaque journée de ski et fixez correctement votre matériel pour éviter de vous blesser.

Bien assuré, bien protégé

Malgré une bonne préparation, certaines situations vous échappent. Pour faire face à d’éventuels déboires, faites en sorte d’être bien assuré.

Vous disposez sûrement d’une assurance via votre mutualité. Cependant, sachez que celle-ci ne vous protègera pas intégralement lors de votre voyage au ski. Les coûts annexes suivants ne sont souvent pas pris en charge et pourtant ils sont très communs lors d’accident au ski.

  • Frais de secours et de recherche sur piste, hors-piste et en randonnée
  • Frais de santé en complément de la sécurité sociale
  • Frais de rapatriement au domicile
  • Frais du forfait et des leçons de ski non utilisé(es)
  • Frais du matériel de ski s’il a été abîmé lors de l’accident

D’autres assurances vous offrent une couverture plus complète.

Quelle(s) assurance(s) choisir ?
Assurance assistance

Vous pouvez prendre une assurance voyage. Mais vérifiez d’abord si celle-ci n’est pas déjà incluse dans vos couvertures existantes !

Une assurance assistance temporaire prend en charge le rapatriement d’un blessé et de la famille, les frais de prolongation de séjour, les frais supplémentaires de voyage en cas de force majeure, le dédommagement en cas de retard, perte ou vol de bagages, une assistance téléphonique avant et après le départ et même une avance de liquidités pour les cas non couverts. Si vous partez plusieurs fois par an en vacances ou en citytrip, il peut être plus intéressant de contracter une assistance sur base annuelle. Elle est disponible à partir de 48 € par an pour vous, et elle ne coûte que 18 € de plus si vous voulez couvrir toute votre famille.

Contrôlez également les franchises et les plafonds de vos couvertures car les factures peuvent vite grimper, notamment en cas de secours sur les domaines skiables ou de rapatriement. Une évacuation du bas des pistes vers un cabinet médical coûte en moyenne 184 €, une évacuation en zone plus éloignée revient en moyenne à 395 €. Et les prix sont encore plus élevés pour le hors-piste. Une évacuation en hélicoptère coûte quant à elle 1938 € en moyenne.

Assurances liées aux cartes de crédit

Les voyages payés avec la carte de crédit Gold sont couverts par des assurances. Il s’agit notamment de l’assurance annulation et accident de voyage.

  • L’assurance annulation vous permet de récupérer les frais d’annulation ou d’interruption de voyage en cas d’accident, maladie, décès ou force majeure. Votre forfait pour les pistes, votre matériel ou vos leçons non utilisées suite à un accident pourraient ainsi vous être remboursés.
  • L’assurance accident de voyage vous dédommage dans le cadre de vos voyages en transports en commun, et en cas d’accident provoquant un décès ou une invalidité permanente.
Bon à savoir :

Ces assurances peuvent également être couplées à l’assurance assistance mentionnée ci-dessus.

Et maintenant, profitez !

Vous avez maintenant toutes les cartes en main pour être protégé en cas de pépin et ainsi profiter de vos vacances l’esprit tranquille !

Si vous souhaitez recevoir plus d’informations concernant nos assurances, visitez notre site. Vous pouvez également prendre rendez-vous dans une de nos agences ou appeler le +32 2 464 60 02.

« Article écrit en collaboration avec TopCompare.be »

Source prix des évacuations et hélicoptère : https://carreneige.com/fr/