Working

31 March 2016

Your first job: learning to stand on your own 2 feet

Living at home with your family might have been comfortable. But now you are going to have to manage on your own: dealing with paperwork, understanding contracts, managing your time and your money,… There are a lot of new things to cope with, but you will learn quickly!

Health insurance: time to stop relying on your parents

From the age of 25, or as soon as you start work, you are no longer covered by your parents' health insurance. This means that you will have to register with a health insurance company to have your medical costs reimbursed. It does not cost a lot, and it is important to make sure you are protected. You can often register online.

25 years old: no more family allowance

Family allowance is paid automatically until you are 18 years old. When you are between 18 and 25 it is only granted if you are still studying, in training or looking for a job. Once you are over 25, your parents are no longer eligible to receive it. There is a price to pay for independence.

Your first month's pay: do not confuse gross and net

Did your employer tell you what your gross earnings would be? That is not the amount you will get at the end of the month. First of all, your social security contributions have to be deducted. That will give you your gross taxable salary. From this you subtract withholding tax (a monthly deduction of the estimated amount of tax you owe) and the remaining amount will be paid into your bank account every month.

Tax return: less complicated than it looks

Every year it raises its ugly head, and you cannot hide from it! What is it? Your tax return, which can be completed online or on paper. You declare your total earnings for the year. Based on this information, the tax authorities work out how much taxes you owe, then check whether the amount that you already paid in withholding tax was enough, and whether you are going to get some money back or pay more. Want to pay less taxes? There are ways to reduce it, such as pension savings plans.

Only just started work and feel like a holiday?

In the private sector you are entitled to take holidays as soon as you have worked 3 full months. Thanks to the youth vacation scheme, in some cases you can take holidays and receive an allowance at the same time. In the public sector, holiday days are granted directly, as a proportion of the number of days you have worked.

Travailler

01 juin 2017

Premier job : l'autonomie, ça s'apprend

Vivre dans le cocon familial, c'était bien confortable. Mais là, vous allez devoir vous débrouiller seul : démarches administratives, contrats, gestion de votre temps et de votre budget… Tout est neuf mais on apprend vite !

Mutuelle : fini celle des parents

A partir de 25 ans ou dès que vous commencez à travailler, vous n'êtes plus couvert par l'assurance soins de santé de vos parents. Pour être remboursé de vos frais médicaux, vous devrez donc vous inscrire dans une mutualité. Le coût est modeste et la protection importante ! Souvent, cela peut se faire online.

25 ans : bye bye les allocations familiales

Les allocations familiales sont accordées d'office jusqu'à 18 ans. De 18 à 25 ans, elles ne le sont que si vous suivez encore des cours, une formation ou que vous êtes demandeur d'emploi. Au-delà de 25 ans, vos parents n’y ont plus droit. L’indépendance a son prix…

Premier salaire : ne confondez pas brut et net !

Votre employeur vous a annoncé un salaire brut ? Ce n'est pas ce que vous toucherez à la fin du mois ! Il faut d'abord déduire les cotisations de sécurité sociale. Vous obtenez alors votre "brut imposable" dont il faudra encore soustraire le précompte professionnel (une retenue mensuelle sur le montant estimé de vos impôts) pour obtenir ce qui sera versé chaque mois sur votre compte !

Déclaration d’impôts : pas si compliqué

Chaque année, elle revient… et pas question de la nier ! Elle, c’est votre déclaration d’impôts, à compléter en ligne ou dans sa version papier. Vous y indiquerez l’ensemble de vos revenus annuels. C’est sur cette base que le fisc calcule vos impôts, puis vérifie si ce que vous avez payé en précompte professionnel est suffisant… et donc si vous devez recevoir un remboursement ou payer un supplément. Envie de payer moins d'impôts ? Des solutions existent, par exemple l'épargne-pension.

Congés : déjà envie de vacances ?

Dans le privé, vous avez droit à des congés dès que vous avez travaillé 3 mois complets. Grâce aux vacances-jeunes, vous pouvez aussi sous certaines conditions prendre congé et toucher une allocation. Dans le secteur public, des jours de congé sont directement octroyés, proportionnellement à ce que vous prestez.

Et maintenant ?