Working

August 12 2016

Expert job application advice

You have just graduated and want just one thing: to convince your future employer that you are special. But how to go about it? Five HR experts explain what they are looking for when reading a CV or job interviewing.

Your CV: a visiting card

“To be honest, cover letters are read less and less”, admits Ayo, Senior Talent Acquisition Specialist with ING. “Your CV must be a proper visiting card. Be concise (two pages suffice) and make sure that your CV reflects the skills required for the job offered. This means that your CV and cover letter must be adapted whenever you apply for a job. Tip: for the header of your CV use a title or catch phrase with a certain number of key words. Example: ‘Recently graduated engineer looking for a job in a creative environment.’ This shows the recruiter the actual purpose of the job application straightaway.”

Know what to expect?

Saskia is a staff recruiter, in particular for Pizza Hut and Wasbar. “It often involves working nights or weekends. Yet, we frequently come across candidates who want to practise their sport three times a week and take part in competitions on Saturdays. Such people waste both their time and ours with a job application. With a view to matching our requirements with those of our candidates, we organise orientation days during which they can trial the job. In this way they can see whether the work suits them, whether they think they will get on with their future colleagues and the timetables suit their leisure time.”

Focus on your most convincing experiences

“It is a good sign if you are invited to a job interview. In any case it means that the recruiter has detected potential in you.” Ignace is an HR officer for the Erasmushogeschool Brussel. “During a job interview, it is essential to convince the recruiter that you really do have the skills you outlined in your CV. Do not go into long-winded explanations. Go to the point and focus on your most appropriate experiences. That does not necessarily mean professional experiences. Recently we recruited a ‘quality manager’ who had previously worked for a firm of lawyers. She was perfectly documented on the job and managed to convince us that she had the skills to take on the job. That is how is works.”

The first impression is often the right

In his job, Vincent, general manager at Jobpunt Vlaanderen, has seen many hundreds of job applications from all fields of life. “Bear in mind that a job interview is designed to test you. If you apply for a job as a desk clerk, it is important to be polite and friendly in all circumstances (even if customers are disagreeable and make life difficult for you). Recruiters are trained to go beyond appearances, nevertheless they are human. Does that mean you need to wear a uniform if you are applying for a fireman’s job? Not necessarily. Simply try to assess the situation appropriately and to come over as professional.”

Corporate culture as guiding principle

“One of the keys of your application is in your knowledge of the company’s culture”, explains Peter, manager with the VDAB (Flemish employment agency) in charge of helping non-Dutch speaking graduates to find a job. “Websites are brimming with useful information about the company where you are applying for a job. If, for instance, you see key words such as “the biggest” or “the best”, and the site is full of model photos of ‘real’ people, it will certainly be an ambitious company, targeted at profit and growth. Conversely, many companies are more ‘relaxed’. It is up to you to know which company meets your expectations. It is pointless to apply for a job with a company which does not meet your expectations.”

What now?

Do you want to highlight your personality in your job application? Add a short video sequence to your online CV! Create your video here, then you can add it to your LinkedIn profile, in the “Summary” section.

For your first wages, what better than an entirely free current account, to be managed online? Open your account and try to win one month’s wages! For more info, go to ing.be/youth.

Travailler

06 juin 2017

Conseils de pros pour vous aider à postuler


Vous venez de décrocher votre diplôme et n’aspirez qu’à une chose : convaincre votre futur employeur que vous êtes la perle rare. Mais comment allez-vous vous y prendre ? Cinq experts en ressources humaines vous expliquent ce qui les interpelle lorsqu’ils parcourent un CV ou font passer un entretien d’embauche.

Votre CV : une carte de visite
"Votre CV et votre lettre de motivation doivent être adaptés chaque fois que vous postulez. "

“Pour être honnête, les lettres de motivation sont de moins en moins lues", admet Ayo, Senior Talent Acquisition Specialist chez ING. "Votre CV doit être une véritable carte de visite. Soyez concis (deux pages suffisent) et veillez à ce que votre CV reflète bien les compétences requises pour le job proposé. Cela signifie que votre CV et votre lettre de motivation doivent être adaptés chaque fois que vous postulez. Un bon conseil : comme en-tête de votre CV, utilisez une un titre ou une accroche comprenant un certain nombre de mots-clés. Exemple : 'Ingénieur fraîchement diplômé cherche un emploi dans un environnement créatif'. Ainsi, le recruteur perçoit d’emblée le but même de la sollicitation.”

Sachez à quoi vous attendre

Saskia est chargée de recruter du personnel, notamment pour Pizza Hut et Wasbar. “Il s’agit souvent de travailler la nuit ou le week-end. Or, nous rencontrons fréquemment des candidats qui souhaitent pratiquer leur sport trois fois par semaine et participer à des compétitions le samedi. Ceux-là perdent leur temps et le nôtre en postulant. Afin de nous assurer que cela peut matcher entre les candidats et nous, nous organisons des journées d’orientation pendant lesquelles ils mettent la main à la pâte. Ce qui leur permet de savoir si le travail leur convient, s’ils pensent pouvoir s’entendre avec leurs futurs collègues et si les horaires sont compatibles avec leur emploi du temps et leurs loisirs.”

Concentrez-vous sur vos expériences les plus probantes

“Lorsque vous êtes convoqué(e) pour un entretien d’embauche, c’est plutôt bon signe. Cela signifie en tout cas que le recruteur a décelé chez vous un certain potentiel”. Ignace est responsable des ressources humaines à la Erasmushogeschool Brussel. “Au cours de l’entretien d’embauche, il est essentiel de convaincre le recruteur que vous possédez bien les compétences que vous mettez en avant dans votre CV. Ne vous embarquez pas dans des explications compliquées. Allez à l’essentiel et concentrez-vous sur vos expériences les plus probantes. Il ne doit pas forcément s’agir d’expériences professionnelles. Nous avons engagé récemment une 'responsable qualité' qui avait précédemment travaillé dans un cabinet d’avocats. Elle s’était parfaitement documentée sur la fonction et a su nous convaincre de sa capacité à l’assumer. C’est ainsi que cela fonctionne.”

La première impression est souvent la bonne

Dans l’exercice de ses fonctions, Vincent, directeur général chez Jobpunt Vlaanderen, a vu défiler des centaines de postulants de tous horizons. “Sachez qu’un entretien d’embauche est destiné à vous tester. Si vous postulez pour un emploi de préposé(e) au guichet, il est important de faire preuve de courtoisie et d’amabilité en toutes circonstances (même si les clients sont désagréables et vous donnent du fil à retordre). Les recruteurs sont formés pour passer outre les apparences, mais ils n’en restent pas moins des êtres humains. Cela veut-il dire que vous devez revêtir un costume lorsque vous postulez comme pompier ? Pas forcément. Essayez simplement de bien évaluer la situation et de faire preuve de professionnalisme.”

La culture d’entreprise comme fil conducteur
"À vous de savoir quelle entreprise correspond à vos aspirations."

“Une des clés de votre candidature se trouve dans la connaissance de la culture d’entreprise”, explique Peter, chargé par le VDAB (agence flamande pour l’emploi) d’aider des personnes diplômées non néerlandophones à trouver un emploi. “Le site internet regorge d’informations utiles à propos de l’entreprise dans laquelle vous postulez. Si vous rencontrez par exemple des mots-clés tels que 'le plus grand' ou 'la meilleure', et que le site fourmille de photos de mannequins plutôt que de 'vrais' gens, il s’agit assurément d’une entreprise ambitieuse, basée sur le profit et la croissance. À l’inverse, il existe des sociétés beaucoup plus "décontractées". À vous de savoir quelle entreprise correspond à vos aspirations. Il est inutile de postuler dans une entreprise qui ne convient pas à vos attentes.”

Et maintenant ?