Working

12 August 2016

How to negotiate your first wages?

Conscientiously browse the internet for job offers and only want one thing: your first job interview. The prospect of a job is a real prospect together with your future financial independence. But what wages are you planning to negotiate? And what advantages, in particular fringe benefits, do you think you will obtain?

How much do you want to earn?

At job interviews there is nearly always one question which arises: “How much do you want to earn?” To avoid being taken unaware, prepare your answer. Interesting info: in Belgium, the net monthly wages for a first job is approximately 1,139 euros. If you have a university degree, this amount is 1,424 euros. Also bear in mind that a salary depends on the sector where you work. So enquire about the average wages for a first job in your line of business.

“When I go to a job interview, I always have an idea of an amount", says Oliver who has just graduated as a lawyer. “It is rather an indicative amount than a real objective. Nevertheless, from thinking about it and talking with people who have similar jobs, I now have an idea which enables me to make a realistic proposal.”

Gross or net? How much will you have in hand?

Make sure that you are speaking the same language as your employer. Are the wages expressed as gross wages? If they are, how much is left over once charges have been deducted? You can easily find the tools on the internet to calculate the gross net ratio of your wages. Here is an example*.

More than simply wages

In addition to the wages which reward you for the work you deliver, there are many benefits. Lindsay has a degree in Dutch literature and language and is looking for a job in the communications sector. “I am happy to earn wages and to have an electric kettle at the office. But a train season ticket and luncheon vouchers would also be welcome.”

Fringe benefits: always worthwhile!

In addition to your wages employers can grant various advantages which can be appreciable: a smartphone, plus the subscription, a company car, a fuel card, eco-vouchers, etc.

The two benefits offered the most often are hospital insurance and group insurance. Hospital insurance refunds, in whole or in part, the charges normally borne by patients after social security contributions. Group insurance, taken out by employers, allows wage-earners to build up a pension capital and to top up their state pension when they stop working.

Flexibility

Other parameters which can be important: working time flexibility. The work leisure balance has become paramount nowadays. “In addition to my work, it is important for me to have time for my art. A flexible timetable is, therefore, a supplementary benefit”, emphasizes Holly who would like to combine a half-time job with her artistic activities. If the conventional 9-5 timetable does not suit you, flexible hours or working from home can be satisfactory alternatives.

Cherry on the cake

Your job is also an opportunity to network. You can network at events such as staff parties, seminars, training courses, Family Days, etc.

Moreover you can receive attractive discounts from your employer’s trade partners.

Enquire before negotiating!

As you can see, there are plenty of possibilities to negotiate your wage package. What matters is that you are well informed before starting negotiations, which avoids missing major benefits. To help you with your enquiries, go to the wage barometer website*. There you will see how much someone in the same position as you earns, which fringe benefits you can obtain, how your wages will evolve over time, etc.

Bear in mind that fringe benefits are also beneficial for employers: they cost less in social security contributions than paying higher wages. So don’t hesitate to ask for such benefits from your employer.

Finally, bear in mind: for your first job wages are not the only thing that matters. It is also important to learn and to move forward.

What now?

Do you want to be original in your job application? Add a brief video sequence to your online CV! Create your video here, then you can add it to your LinkedIn profile, in the “Summary” section.

For your first wages, what better than an entirely free current account, to be managed online? Open your account and try to win one month’s wages! For more info, go to ing.be/youth.

* Only available in French and Dutch.

Travailler

01 juin 2017

Comment négocier votre premier salaire ?


Vous scrutez consciencieusement le web à la recherche d’ offres d’emploi et n’aspirez qu’à une chose : décrocher un entretien d’embauche. La perspective d’un emploi se précise et votre future indépendance financière se profile. Mais quel salaire comptez-vous négocier ? Et quels avantages, notamment extralégaux, pensez-vous pouvoir obtenir ?

Combien souhaitez-vous gagner ?

Lors d’un entretien d’embauche, une question revient quasiment toujours : "combien souhaitez-vous gagner ?". Afin de ne pas être pris(e) au dépourvu, préparez votre réponse.

Une info intéressante :

En Belgique, le salaire mensuel net d’un employé débutant est de plus ou moins 1.139 euros. Si vous possédez un diplôme universitaire, ce montant s’élève à 1.424 euros. Sachez également que la rémunération dépend du secteur dans lequel vous comptez postuler. Renseignez-vous donc quant à la rémunération moyenne d’un employé débutant dans votre secteur d’activité.


"Lorsque je me rends à un entretien d’embauche, j’ai toujours un certain montant en tête", indique Olivier, qui vient d’obtenir son diplôme d’avocat. "Il s’agit davantage d’un montant indicatif que d’un véritable objectif. Cependant, à force d’y réfléchir et de discuter avec des gens occupant une fonction similaire, je me suis fait une idée me permettant de faire une proposition réaliste."

Brut ou net ? Combien vous reste-t-il ?

Assurez-vous d'être sur la même longueur d’onde que votre futur employeur. Le salaire qu’il vous propose est-il exprimé en salaire brut ? Si oui, combien vous restera-t-il une fois les charges déduites ? Sur internet, vous trouvez facilement des outils vous permettant de calculer le rapport brut-net de votre salaire.

Quels sont les autres avantages ?

En plus du salaire qui constitue la contrepartie de votre travail, il existe un certain nombre d’avantages. Lindsi est diplômée en 'Langue et Littérature néerlandaises' et cherche à travailler dans le secteur de la communication. "Je suis déjà contente de toucher un salaire et d’avoir une bouilloire électrique au bureau. Mais un abonnement de train et des chèques-repas seraient aussi les bienvenus."

Les avantages extralégaux : toujours bons à prendre !

Outre le salaire, votre employeur peut vous accorder différents avantages qui sont loin d’être négligeables : un smartphone et son abonnement, une voiture de société, une carte carburant, des éco-chèques, etc.

Les deux avantages les plus souvent proposés sont l’assurance hospitalisation et l’assurance-groupe.

  • L’assurance hospitalisation rembourse totalement ou en partie les frais qui sont normalement à la charge du patient après intervention de la sécurité sociale.

  • L’assurance-groupe, contractée par l’employeur, permet au salarié de constituer un capital retraite et d’arrondir sa pension légale lorsqu’il arrêtera de travailler.

Flexibilité

Autre paramètre qui a son importance : l’aménagement du temps de travail. La notion d’équilibre entre vie professionnelle et vie privée est devenue aujourd’hui essentielle. "Hormis mon travail, il est important que je puisse avoir du temps pour me produire en tant qu’artiste. Un horaire flexible est donc un atout supplémentaire", souligne Céline, qui aimerait combiner un emploi à mi-temps avec ses activités artistiques. Si la journée de travail classique (9 h – 17 h) ne vous convient pas, les horaires flottants, le télétravail ou le travail à domicile peuvent être des alternatives satisfaisantes.

Cerise sur le gâteau

Votre travail est également l’occasion de développer vos réseaux. Vous pouvez le faire lors d’événements tels que la fête du personnel, les séminaires, les formations, la Journée de la Famille, etc.

Par ailleurs, vous pourrez peut-être obtenir des réductions intéressantes auprès des partenaires commerciaux de votre employeur.

Avant de négocier, renseignez-vous !

Comme vous pouvez le constater, il y a de nombreuses possibilités pour négocier votre package salarial. Le tout est d’être bien informé(e) avant de vous lancer dans la négociation, cela vous évitera de passer à côté d’avantages importants. Pour vous aider dans votre démarche de prise d’informations, visitez le site du baromètre des salaires. Vous y découvrirez combien gagne quelqu’un qui est dans la même situation que vous, quels avantages extralégaux vous pouvez obtenir, comment votre salaire peut évoluer dans les années à venir, etc.

Sachez aussi que les avantages extralégaux sont intéressants pour l’employeur : ils lui coûtent moins cher en cotisations de sécurité sociale que le paiement d’un salaire plus élevé. N’hésitez donc pas à solliciter ces interventions patronales.

Pour finir, gardez une chose en tête : il n’y a pas que le salaire qui compte quand vous débutez votre carrière. C’est aussi très important d’apprendre et de pouvoir évoluer.

Et maintenant ?