Building up capital

7 July 2021

Expats: what you need to know before you start investing

Dave Deruytter

Dave Deruytter

Head of Expats at ING

It’s no secret that interest rates are low! And in the current context, investments can provide a solution for achieving potentially higher returns. But how does it work for expats? Should you invest in your home country or in the country you live in? Where are you liable to pay taxes? Dave Deruytter, Head of Expats at ING, discusses the ins and outs of tax-compliant investments for expats.

“Expats rarely arrive in Belgium carrying their savings and investments in their suitcases,” says Dave. “Expats leave their savings and investments in their home country or offshore, at least at first. However, their salary is paid in Belgium. And those who can save end up, slowly but surely, with a significant amount of money in a savings or current account. Sadly, the latter yields next to no interest whatsoever.”

Things to keep in mind:

  • Make sure you know your tax status in Belgium.
  • If you are a resident of Belgium for tax purposes, your worldwide income is subject to tax here. This includes any offshore investments you may hold in your home country or in any other country.
  • If an investment proposal sounds “too good to be true”, chances are it is.
  • All banks and financial institutions are obliged to propose only investments that are in line with your investor profile and time horizon.

If you already have a bank account and some investments in your home country, why not simply invest your money there?

“In many cases, expats in Belgium are liable to pay tax here. I remember one expat in Belgium who was liable to pay tax as a Belgian resident but decided to keep all his financial investments in his home country. He was not aware that he should have declared those financial investments on his tax return in Belgium, or that he should have been paying Belgian withholding tax on some of the interest and dividends he received as well as stock exchange taxes on his financial investment transactions.

When the Belgian fiscal authorities contacted him, based on information they received from his home country via the automatic exchange of financial information (CRS for OECD countries or FATCA for the US), he had a lot of explaining to do. He also had to make changes to his portfolio and pay a number of fines.”

How did this situation occur?

Financial advisors in your home country (or offshore) work remotely. They often don’t understand the tax system for expats in Belgium or its implications. They still manage your money, but not necessarily in a way that is tax compliant.”

How can a local bank help expats who wish to invest?

“For expats who already have a relationship with a Belgian bank, the bank can inform you about how the Belgian tax system applies to your financial products and your income. Furthermore, your Belgian bank can deduct the Belgian tax on stock exchange transactions (TOB) and the Belgian withholding tax where required and transfer the amount of those taxes directly to the Belgian Tax Authorities. This relieves you of the burden of having to declare these Belgian taxes yourself, which can be quite complex,” continues Dave.

Besides tax, how can Belgian banks help expats who want to invest?

“All investments involve an element of risk. That is why local Belgian banks will always determine your investor profile first. An investment profile is a kind of financial passport, based on your financial circumstances, your knowledge and experience of investments, your investment horizon, the amount of risk you are willing to take, your tolerance for loss, how much you understand the potential for market fluctuations and so on. The bank will then be able to offer you financial products that suit your profile and your time horizon.”

Want to find out more about the most important aspects of living in Belgium?

Bâtir votre capital

Expats : ce que vous devez savoir avant d’investir

Dave Deruytter

Dave Deruytter

ead of Expats chez ING

Ce n’est pas un secret : les taux d’intérêt sont bas. Et dans le contexte actuel, investir peut être une alternative intéressante. Mais que faire si vous êtes un(e) expat ? Investir dans votre pays d’origine, ou dans votre pays de résidence ? À quelles taxes vous exposez-vous ? Dave Deruytter, Head of Expats chez ING, nous parle des possibilités d’investissement pour les expats et de leurs implications fiscales.

“Les expats arrivent rarement en Belgique avec leurs économies et investissements dans leurs valises”, explique Dave. “Ils laissent généralement leurs économies et investissements dans leur pays d’origine, ou offshore – du moins au début. Cela dit, leur salaire leur est versé en Belgique. Ceux qui savent mettre de côté se retrouvent donc tôt ou tard avec des sommes conséquentes sur un compte d’épargne ou un compte à vue. Malheureusement, ces derniers ne génèrent pour ainsi dire aucun intérêt.”

Quelques éléments à retenir :

  • Veillez à connaître votre statut fiscal en Belgique.
  • Si vous êtes résident(e) fiscal(e) belge, vos revenus internationaux sont soumis aux taxes et impôts belges. Cela inclut tout éventuel investissement offshore que vous détenez depuis votre pays d’origine ou n’importe quel autre pays.
  • Si une proposition d’investissement semble “trop belle pour être vraie”, c’est sans doute qu’elle l’est.
  • Toutes les banques et institutions financières ont l’obligation de ne proposer que des investissements en phase avec votre profil d’investissement et votre horizon temporel.

Si vous avez déjà un compte bancaire et des investissements dans votre pays d’origine, pourquoi ne pas simplement y investir votre argent ?

“Bien souvent, les expats établis en Belgique doivent y payer des impôts. Je me souviens d’un expat en Belgique qui payait des impôts en Belgique, mais a décidé de réaliser tous ses investissements financiers dans son pays d’origine. Il ne savait pas qu’il aurait dû déclarer ces investissements dans sa déclaration d’impôts belge, ni qu’il aurait dû s’acquitter d’un  précompte mobilier belge sur une partie des intérêts et dividendes qu’il a touchés, ainsi que de taxes boursières sur les transactions opérées dans le cadre de ses investissements.

Les autorités fiscales belges ont fini par le rappeler à l’ordre après avoir reçu les relevés de son pays d’origine conformément aux réglementations en matière d’échange automatique d’informations financières (CRS pour les pays membres de l’OCDE, FATCA pour les États-Unis). Il a alors dû apporter quelques changements à son portefeuille et s’acquitter de diverses amendes.”

Comment une telle situation a-t-elle pu se produire ?

Les conseillers financiers basés dans votre pays d’origine (ou offshore) travaillent à distance. Bien souvent, ils ne comprennent ni le régime fiscal applicable aux expats en Belgique, ni ses implications. Ils continuent à gérer votre argent, mais sans forcément respecter les réglementations fiscales belges.”

Comment les banques locales peuvent-elles aider les expats à investir ?

“Les expats qui sont déjà en relation avec une banque belge peuvent se tourner vers celle-ci pour obtenir des informations sur les réglementations fiscales belges applicables à leurs revenus et produits financiers. Le cas échéant, votre banque belge peut également déduire la taxe belge sur les opérations boursières et le précompte mobilier belge, et envoyer directement ces montants aux autorités fiscales belges. Cela vous évitera de devoir déclarer vous-mêmes ces taxes (ce qui n’est pas toujours facile)”, poursuit Dave.

Outre les taxes, comment les banques belges peuvent-elles aider les expats à investir ?

“Tout investissement comporte des risques. C’est pourquoi votre banque locale belge commencera toujours par définir votre profil d’investissement. Un profil d’investissement est une sorte de passeport financier basé sur votre situation financière, votre connaissance et votre expérience de l’investissement, votre horizon d’investissement - durée  d’investissement, les risques que vous êtes prêt(<e)>  à prendre, votre tolérance aux pertes, votre compréhension des fluctuations potentielles du marché, etc. La banque pourra ensuite vous proposer des produits financiers adaptés à votre profil et à votre horizon temporel.”

Envie d’en savoir plus sur les aspects importants de la vie en Belgique ?