Building up capital

27 September 2019

Sustainable investments: good for the planet and good for your money

Do you want your savings to bear interest while contributing to a better world? In that case, socially responsible investments are perfect for you.

An investment needs to be considered long term. And it is precisely in the long term that socially responsible businesses distinguish themselves, obtaining better results that “traditional” companies. Why?

What is the potential return from socially responsible investment?

“A sustainable business is less profitable”, “a socially responsible investment (SRI) is a marketing ploy” and so on.

Clichés die hard. Yet numerous comparison studies conducted on this subject have revealed that socially responsible investments offer a return on investment not only similar to “traditional” investments but also superior to that of a savings account.

Indeed, a company that pays its employees fair compensation, limits its energy footprint as much as possible or does not evade taxes, will certainly be better equipped for the future than those who do not take these concerns into account.

A socially responsible investment (SRI) therefore offers a return that is not only stable but also entails less risk in the long term. The risk-return ratio is therefore far more attractive than with a traditional investment.

As proof, according to data compiled by MSCI (provider of top-level indices and stock market information), a basket of global shares fulfilling environmental and social criteria (ESG) performed in a broadly similar way over five years, compared to traditional shares.

Created in 2014, the MSCI World ESG Universal is a global index that replicates the performance of a basket of around 1,600 shares from companies presenting a solid ESG profile, with presence on 23 markets.

Return of the MSCI World ESG Universal global index in USD since 2014

Return of the MSCI World ESG Universal global index in USD since 2014

What is the impact of socially responsible investment on the planet?

Socially responsible investments not only promise return, they also have an impact at a societal and environmental level.

As an investor, by excluding companies that do not take environmental and societal criteria into account, you encourage other companies to act sustainably. In addition, you are ensuring that your money helps go towards purposes that respect man and the environment.

The more popular the concept of sustainable investment becomes, the more companies find themselves forced to apply sustainability criteria. If they don’t comply, they will be left on the sidelines.

The ESG fund managers defend these values during general meetings of companies in which the fund invests. As a shareholder, you are therefore in continuous dialogue with the company concerned. 

Interested in sustainable investments?

Find out more on our page devoted to sustainable investments or make an appointment at an ING branch. Your ING contact person will explore with you solutions that are appropriate to your circumstances, needs and personal goals.

Bâtir votre capital

27 septembre 2019

Les investissements durables: bons pour la planète et votre argent

Vous souhaitez faire fructifier votre épargne tout en contribuant à un monde meilleur ? Dans ce cas, les investissements socialement responsables sont faits pour vous.

Un investissement doit se penser sur le long terme. Or, c’est justement à long terme que les entreprises socialement responsables se distinguent et obtiennent de meilleurs résultats que les entreprises « traditionnelles ». Analyse...


Investissement socialement responsable, quel est le rendement potentiel ?

« Une entreprise durable est moins rentable », « un investissement socialement responsable (ISR) est un argument marketing »…

Les clichés ont la vie dure. Pourtant, il ressort des nombreuses études de comparaison réalisées à ce sujet que les placements socialement responsables offrent un retour sur investissement non seulement similaire aux placements « traditionnels » mais aussi supérieur à celui du compte d’épargne.

En effet, une entreprise qui rétribue à leur juste valeur ses salariés, limite au maximum son empreinte énergétique ou ne pratique pas d’évasion fiscale, sera assurément mieux armée pour le futur que celles qui n’intègrent pas ces préoccupations.

Un investissement socialement responsable (ISR) offre par conséquent un rendement non seulement stable mais qui comporte également moins de risques à long terme. La relation entre le rendement et le risque est dès lors beaucoup plus intéressante qu'avec un placement traditionnel.

Pour preuve, selon les données compilées par le MSCI (fournisseur de premier plan d'indices et de données boursières), un panier d’actions mondiales respectant les critères environnementaux et sociétaux (ESG) a performé de manière pratiquement similaire sur cinq ans, par rapport aux actions traditionnelles.

Créé en 2014, le MSCI World ESG Universal est un indice global qui réplique la performance d’un panier d’environ 1.600 actions d’entreprises présentant un profil ESG solide, présent sur 23 marchés.


Investissement socialement responsable, quel impact sur la planète ?

Investissements durables : explication en vidéo.

Les investissements socialement responsables ne présentent pas uniquement des perspectives de rendement, mais ont également un impact au niveau sociétal et environnemental.

En tant qu'investisseur, en écartant les entreprises qui ne prendraient pas en compte les critères environnementaux et sociétaux, vous encouragez les autres entreprises à agir de manière durable. De plus, vous faites en sorte que votre argent contribue à des fins respectueuses de l’environnement et de l’être humain.

Plus le concept d’investissement durable devient populaire, plus les entreprises se verront contraintes d'appliquer des critères de durabilité. Faute de s’y conformer, elles finiront sur la touche.

Les gestionnaires de fonds ESG défendent ces valeurs lors des assemblées générales des entreprises dans lesquelles le fonds investit. En tant qu'actionnaire, vous entretenez donc un dialogue permanent avec l’entreprise concernée. 

Intéressé(e) par les investissements durables ?