Budgeting & Saving

31 March 2016

Leaving soon? What is your budget?

You love travelling! But maybe your bank account is not as keen. However, there are many ways to go on holiday even on a tight budget. Accommodation, tickets or meals: there are so many factors you can control to keep costs low, and to really take advantage of your trip. Follow the guide!

A well-tailored budget

The most important thing is to sort out your accounts properly before leaving. And to streamline your expenditure as you would the contents of your luggage. Tickets, housing, daily life – by preparing everything in advance, you could get so many great opportunities or deals.

Take advantage of the experience of people who have been there and done it before

In order to discover the best deals of a city or a country, the best thing to do is to listen to people who have visited it or moved there. Expat organisations, forums, blogs – benefit from the experience and advice of your predecessors.

Reach your destination without spending too much

Have you chosen your destination? Now you just need to work out how to get there.

  • By car, the car pooling is an economical option.
  • You need to take the bus, the train or the plane? Take advantage of discounts for young people, low-cost offers and early and last-minute bookings.

Follow traveller newsletters, ticket auctions and use price comparison and trading sites. You do not always have to pay the full price.

Accommodation: what would suit your budget?

When you are abroad, accommodation is key. Campsites, youth hostels, houses to rent, flat exchanges, B&Bs – with a little preparation and imagination you can find reasonably priced accommodation. Have you heard of couchsurfing and its millions of followers across 230 countries? It is practical when you are looking for a sofa to crash on just for a night or two!

Make savings so you can go further

Young people who travel spend on average 817 euros per year. A long-term stay abroad (Erasmus, worldwide trip, etc.) costs 948 euros per month. Do your plans outgrown your budget? With automatic savings, you could build up a nest to make you dream travel come true.

Gérer votre budget

31 mars 2016

Je pars bientôt : quel budget de départ ?

Vous aimez les voyages ? Votre portefeuille les apprécie peut-être un peu moins. Et pourtant, même avec un budget limité, il y a moyen de partir à l'étranger. Hébergement, billets ou encore repas : autant de facteurs à maîtriser pour faire des économies… et profiter pleinement de votre séjour. Suivez le guide !

Un budget bien ficelé pour partir du bon pied

On ne vous apprend rien : pour voyager, il faut un minimum d’argent. Le plus important, c'est donc de bien faire vos comptes avant de partir. Et d’éventuellement compresser vos dépenses comme vous compressez votre valise. Billet, logement, vie quotidienne... en s'y prenant à l'avance, ce ne sont pas les bons plans qui manquent.

Profitez de l'expérience de ceux qui vous ont précédé

Pour découvrir les secrets d'une ville ou d'un pays, le mieux est encore d'écouter ceux qui y sont passés ou s'y sont installés. Associations d'expats, forums, blogs... profitez de l'expérience et des astuces de vos prédécesseurs.

Rejoindre votre destination sans trop dépenser

Vous avez choisi votre destination ? Reste à trouver comment vous y rendre ! Le stop ou le co-voiturage offrent des alternatives économiques. Vous prenez le bus, le train ou l’avion ? Profitez des réductions "jeunes", des offres low cost, des réservations rapides et des last minute. Suivez les newsletters des voyagistes, les enchères sur les billets, utilisez les comparateurs de prix et les sites de troc. Le prix plein, ce n’est pas obligé !

Logement : quelle formule pour mon budget ?

A l'étranger, l'hébergement est le nerf de la guerre. Camping, auberge de jeunesse, maison à louer, échange d'appartements, B&B… avec un peu de préparation et d'imagination, se loger à un prix raisonnable est envisageable. Vous connaissez le couchsurfing et ses millions d'adeptes dans 230 pays ? Pratique quand on cherche un canapé à Rome !

Épargner pour voir plus loin

Les jeunes qui voyagent dépensent en moyenne 817 euros par an. Et un séjour de longue durée à l'étranger (Erasmus, voyage autour du monde...) coûte 948 euros par mois. Vous êtes loin du compte et vos envies dépassent votre budget ? Avec une épargne automatique, vous préparez votre voyage à l'avance et sans vous en rendre compte.